Rebels Racing 3D Preview #2

17ba6d8b7ba3b6d82970a7bbba71a6de
0
vrnunes 102 Jun 07, 2009 at 14:00

09-06-06.jpg

Description
This is the second preview of the indie game that I’m currently developing in my spare time. Actually I’m making little progress because time is not being enough for me, but I still hope to finish this little thing someday.

I am working alone, programming both the 3D engine and the game itself using C# and XNA. The terrain is procedurally generated, so there are no pre-built levels on this game.

There is support for the XBOX 360 controller (smooth to play), generic Win32 controllers (I hope =) and in last case keyboard/mouse (hard to play).

3D Engine and Game Programming by Vander Nunes - http://www.imersiva.com
Some of the terrain textures were freely downloaded from http://www.oneodddude.net
The aircraft models were freely downloaded from http://www.archive3d.net and http://www.psionic3d.co.uk
The base guitar samples were freely downloaded from http://www.playinmusic.com, then I mixed those with some drums.

I would like to hear some criticisms (good or bad) and suggestions about this little indie project. Thank you.

Download: http://imersiva.com/get.php?f=rebels (\~20mb)

6 Replies

Please log in or register to post a reply.

Fd80f81596aa1cf809ceb1c2077e190b
0
rouncer 104 Jun 09, 2009 at 12:16

Worked well on my nvidia card.
Good game, could use some more features tho - but maybe you only intend so much for this project.

6aa952514ff4e5439df1e9e6d337b864
0
roel 101 Jun 09, 2009 at 12:48

The first time I run it it crashed, so I switched dx from retail to debug and launched dbmon in order to provide you some information. But after that it didn’t crash anymore (?!). On my not so modern PC (ati9600, athlon 3200) it isn’t playable though.

edit: ok, after switching the resolution + rendering profile to lowest, it is. Mouse controls suck. Btw, what a funny coincidence, I made for a game almost exactly the same style menu: same font, same layout, etc.

17ba6d8b7ba3b6d82970a7bbba71a6de
0
vrnunes 102 Jun 10, 2009 at 01:42

Hey guys thanks for your comments!

Glad to see it is rendering correctly under both ATI and nVidia cards. =)

@rouncer: yes, although just racing is a bit simplistic it was the final intention.

Fd80f81596aa1cf809ceb1c2077e190b
0
rouncer 104 Jun 10, 2009 at 06:24

Gratz, cool to have you here.

46407cc1bdfbd2db4f6e8876d74f990a
0
Kenneth_Gorking 101 Jun 10, 2009 at 13:40

It doesn’t work on my computer. When I run the exe, there is just a black screen, and some error message hidden behind it.

It might be because I’m running it on Windows 7, but not sure.

17ba6d8b7ba3b6d82970a7bbba71a6de
0
vrnunes 102 Oct 12, 2009 at 13:52

Well, this is an old post, but the preview #3 is available.

The preview #2 I think has killed the gameplay with the “infinite random terrains” idea, because there was no real challenge then.

Preview #3 has the original hand-made single-track, that is far more competitive…

http://imersiva.com/get.php?f=rebels