Rebels Racing 3D Preview 1

17ba6d8b7ba3b6d82970a7bbba71a6de
0
vrnunes 102 Jan 25, 2009 at 15:00

09-01-24.jpg

Description
The first preview of my upcoming independent game called Rebels Racing 3D, for Win32, programmed in C# for the XNA platform. I chose it because of the possibility of publishing the game to the XBOX 360 (hope to do that until the end of this year).

It is a fast paced ships racing game over terrains. So you must make three laps before the opponents, but to gain speed you must fly at low altitudes. That is not easy, though. If you collide with terrain or enemies, your energy is decreased until you explode (and it happens fast).

Better if you have an XBOX 360 controller, very smooth to play with. But the game auto-detects the XBOX 360 controller, a generic Win32 controller or, if none found, the keyboard for input.

This game will feature three playing modes: single-player against AI, single-player against your ghost, and multiplayer.

The downloadable preview has the first mode and a single track for you to get a taste:

http://www.imersiva.com/get.php?f=rebels

Both engine and game are programmed by me. The terrain was generated procedurally by my custom editor. There are outdoors within, and the game downloads their images from my site when you start the game (so those who are interested, don’t wait, buy an outdoor right now, while it is still cheap!!!).

When finished, there will be a multiplayer server with some interesting features.

Enjoy!!!

10 Replies

Please log in or register to post a reply.

17ba6d8b7ba3b6d82970a7bbba71a6de
0
vrnunes 102 Jan 25, 2009 at 18:50

By the way, I adjusted the simulation speed down a bit, so things are easier to follow now. If you downloaded and it was too fast, please download again. :-)

46407cc1bdfbd2db4f6e8876d74f990a
0
Kenneth_Gorking 101 Jan 25, 2009 at 19:06

The link seems to be broken

17ba6d8b7ba3b6d82970a7bbba71a6de
0
vrnunes 102 Jan 25, 2009 at 19:45

Sorry for that, after adjusting the speed, the second upload was corrupted. I fixed that now.

Anyway I’m expecting for some feedback. Thanks.

Fd80f81596aa1cf809ceb1c2077e190b
0
rouncer 103 Jan 26, 2009 at 14:06

I downloaded it, the musics great! :)
the graphics and everything seem good, but unfortunately i couldnt see the terrain because its not working with my ati card.
Is it dx10 or dx9? (or the opengl equivalent…)
The terrain appeared translucent to not being able to see it at all.

17ba6d8b7ba3b6d82970a7bbba71a6de
0
vrnunes 102 Jan 26, 2009 at 14:30

Hmm there is really a problem with ati cards, at this moment I don’t know what it can be, I own a single machine with nvidia 8400gs (a cheap model) only. I will see if I can save some money to buy an ati as well.

If anyone from ati read this and decides to send me a cheap dx9 ps3 model, oh that would be very nice of. :-)

It is dx9, shader model 3. The terrain shader got lenghty and reached instructions limit, so I was forced to use ps3.

Thanks for reporting!

17ba6d8b7ba3b6d82970a7bbba71a6de
0
vrnunes 102 Jan 27, 2009 at 13:02

OK, a new installer is available.

Problem was that the first one required .NET 3.5 (sigh!), when the game requires really .NET 2.0 (it must download and install automatically when not available in the user’s machine).

The other change is that now the game will load alternative pixel-shader 2.0 compatible shaders when pixel-shader 3.0 is not available.

Hope this helps this game to run on most machines.

17ba6d8b7ba3b6d82970a7bbba71a6de
0
vrnunes 102 Jan 27, 2009 at 23:05

FYI: One more update, fixing a non power of two texture.

There are remaining issues with ATI cards, I don’t know when I’ll fix those, as I don’t own any ATI cards at this moment.

Thank you for your comments!

17ba6d8b7ba3b6d82970a7bbba71a6de
0
vrnunes 102 Feb 13, 2009 at 16:20

Yet another update, trying to fix ATI compatibility problems.

I would be glad if someone with an ATI try the new installer, and give me a feedback, thanks!

7daed93f96b8b5160b47af2f68a4bc86
0
zebeste 101 Feb 14, 2009 at 01:12

Works for me:
ATI Radeon HD 4870 with 9.1 drivers on Windows XP x64

17ba6d8b7ba3b6d82970a7bbba71a6de
0
vrnunes 102 Feb 14, 2009 at 01:46

@zebeste

Works for me:
ATI Radeon HD 4870 with 9.1 drivers on Windows XP x64

Very, very thank you for reporting!