Jump to content


Warning: New Scam


6 replies to this topic

#1 _Pix_

    New Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts

Posted 09 January 2008 - 12:33 PM

I wanted to stress a new type of scam over the Internet. A self-proclamed Chinese registrar company, called AsiaDNR, is making a massive emailing with the goal to make you believe you are a victim of a Chinese company trying to register your own domain name using various Asian extensions.

I received this e-mail:

Quote


Dear CEO,

We are the domain name registration organization in Asia, which mainly deal with international company's in Asia. We have something important need to confirm with your company.

On the Jan 7, 2008, we received an application formally. One company named "Viva International Holdings Ltd" wanted to register following
Domain names:
vworldpowered.biz
vworldpowered.cn
vworldpowered.com.cn
vworldpowered.net.cn
vworldpowered.org.cn
vworldpowered.com.hk
vworldpowered.hk
vworldpowered.tw
vworldpowered.com.tw
vworldpowered.mobi
vworldpowered.asia

Internet brand keyword:
vworldpowered

through our body.

After our initial examination, we found that the keywords and domain names applied for registration are as same as your company's name and trademark. These days we are dealing with it. If you do not know this company, we doubt that they have other aims to buy these domain names. Now we have not finished the registration of Viva company yet, in order to deal with this issue better, Please contact us by telephone or email as soon as possible.

Best Regards,
Hebe Chen
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Asia Domain Name Registration Limited
Tel:+00852 3059 3057
Fax:+00852 3059 3080
Email:Hebe.Chen@domaininasia.net
Web:http://www.asiadnr.org /http://www.domaininasia.net


After some research on Google, I've noticed that they sent the same type of e-mail, using different company names, to many other companies, with the goal to make people buy extensions through their services. The IP address of this company gives a Indian location, not a Chinese one.

This is another example of bad business practises over the Internet. Nice try guys, same player (don't) shoot again.

#2 NightRage

    New Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts

Posted 09 January 2008 - 02:05 PM

Whenever I get those Emails, I reply and Tell those guys To F**k *ff!!!!

with a big giant middle finger picture I have on a Zip disc.

Thanks for the Heads up by the way. For a While I was getting one from Nigeria with somebodys sad story about something...whatever.

#3 timothyinspa

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 78 posts

Posted 10 January 2008 - 05:09 AM

hmmm...i am wondering...are they really from china?

#4 Nick

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1225 posts

Posted 10 January 2008 - 06:31 AM

timothyinspa said:

hmmm...i am wondering...are they really from china?

_Pix_ said:

The IP address of this company gives a Indian location, not a Chinese one.
Why? Would a Chinese company never do such thing?

#5 Gaiiden

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 37 posts

Posted 10 January 2008 - 08:48 PM

Speaking of domain scams, here's another more serious one to watch out for.
Drew Sikora
President, Programmer - Blade Edge Software
Executive Producer, Newsletter Editor - GameDev.net
Community Relations, Live Events Mngr - Game Institute

#6 seo4china

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 13 January 2008 - 06:05 AM

We covered this in our blog as well. You can check:
http://blog.sinohost...in-names-fraud/

timothyinspa said:

hmmm...i am wondering...are they really from china?

Good question. Through reverse IP we were able to find out that one of those firms (or scammers if you prefer) pretending to be Chinese was actually operating out of Mumbai, India

#7 _Pix_

    New Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts

Posted 13 January 2008 - 10:04 AM

Another blog covering the subject, with other reports.

So, it appears they are acting from different "companies" (BTW, not sure there is one which is not a fake one). Let's list a few url that they are using, among many others I think (I do not recommend to click on the links below without using a good trojan shield)

http://www.cnnet.hk
http://www.netinchina.org.cn
http://www.mp-china.org.cn
http://www.chinasps.net.cn
http://www.shanghainet.org.cn
http://www.domaininasia.net
http://www.asiadnr.org

Each time, they give different phone and fax numbers. So, it's a well organized business.

@seo4china: I guess there must be an organisation such as a Fraud Repression Office in China. I think this kind of bad business practises may interest your government, especially if a Chinese company (or Indian?) sends massive e-mailing explaining that Chinese companies are trying to buy domain names of others companies...





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users