Jump to content


My devmaster.net email address is now in the hands of spammers.


16 replies to this topic

#1 edam

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 18 December 2012 - 03:59 PM

Here are the facts:
  • I use unique email addresses for each site/company.
  • The email address I use with devmaster.net has *ONLY* been used to register with these forums.
  • The email address I use with devmaster.net is sufficiently random to not be guessable.
  • I signed up with devmaster.net 30th May 2012 to post this post. (This has been my only interaction with the site, until now.)
  • Today I received spam (alledgedly from fremanfighter@dune.com) to the email address.
  • The email I received was entirely unrelated to devmaster.net.
I notice that I am not the first person to report this.

So, it seems reasonable to concluding the following.

Either:

a/ devmaster.net has had a serious security breach, or

b/ devmaster.net user email addresses are being given (sold) to unrelated third parties (spammers), in violation of the site's privacy agreement.

Either way, I seriously doubt that I am the only person who would like to hear what the site maintainers have to say about this.

#2 fireside

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1616 posts

Posted 18 December 2012 - 07:13 PM

This sounds like someone used the private message system to spam you. I seriously doubt that it could be they sold your email address and you only got one piece of spam in that amount of time. It's not the same as giving out your address if they used the PM system. The PM system only notifies you of the message, it doesn't give out your address.

I'm not a site maintainer or anything, just your conclusions don't sound totally logical.
Currently using Blender and Unity.

#3 edam

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 19 December 2012 - 11:05 AM

View Postfireside, on 18 December 2012 - 07:13 PM, said:

This sounds like someone used the private message system to spam you.

I think this is extremely unlikely. I find it very difficuly to believe that a notification email from devmaster.net that someone had PM'ed me would be totally unidentifyable as having come from devmaster.net.

Back in 2009, when this was previously reported, the site admins acknowledged that the devmaster database had been compromised. So I can't help but wonder if this is the case again.

It would be nice to hear from the site admins.

#4 Dia

    DevMaster Staff

  • Administrators
  • 1121 posts

Posted 20 December 2012 - 06:56 AM

First of all, I can assure you that DevMaster.net never sells, licenses, or shares your information with third-parties. We take security of the site very seriously, so we'll look into this to determine if there was any compromise.

Please forward me the email that you got to "dia at devmaster.net" and we'll investigate it.

#5 edam

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 20 December 2012 - 11:56 AM

View PostDia, on 20 December 2012 - 06:56 AM, said:

First of all, I can assure you that DevMaster.net never sells, licenses, or shares your information with third-parties. We take security of the site very seriously, so we'll look into this to determine if there was any compromise. Please forward me the email that you got to "dia at devmaster.net" and we'll investigate it.

Hi Dia, thanks for the reply.

I have forwarded you the email. I would be very interested to hear what you learn fro your investigations.

#6 Kippesoep

    New Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 22 posts

Posted 23 December 2012 - 09:27 PM

I have had the same thing. I also use a unique address and also received a message from the same address edam listed. A message with a passionate plea about how there should be more guns in the US (oh, yes, please do, and just kill the other gunslingers, but keep it out of my frigging country). Not only do I disagree with that nutcase, but the fact that he is spamming it to e-mail addresses from members here is rather worrying.

Update 2012-12-27: Another one, from the same sender.

#7 edam

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 04 January 2013 - 02:54 PM

View PostKippesoep, on 23 December 2012 - 09:27 PM, said:

A message with a passionate plea about how there should be more guns in the US

Mine too.

Here's an excerpt:

Quote

The primary-school shooting in Newtown, Connecticut, approximately 45 miles from the Colt Arms Factory, is just another one in the long line of government psyops designed to persuade the public to allow the government to take away their guns, and their means to defend themselves against the government and the banksters that the politicians really serve.

The small children murders are designed to create hysterical emotions in women to get them to demand that guns are banned. If that doesn’t work they will continue with their evil agenda with worse and worse atrocities on younger children, until they get their way and disarm the people, so that they cannot fight back against government tyranny.

@Dia: Any word on how this happened? This would seem to be a serious security breach.

#8 darkyy

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 06 January 2013 - 10:06 AM

I have personally not gotten this mail nor any mail from the account sending it, but I do find alot of references to that email, completely unrelated to devmaster.net, and if somehow there has just been a coincidence that the mail has been guessed, could be one reason.

Another interesting notice people saying they have an unique mail to certain websites where they say they've started getting spam. 80% off these I found used vBulletin or IPB could be an exploit. Could be coincidence of course, but when it comes to forum software I rarely trust them THAT much. ; )

#9 edam

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 18 January 2013 - 03:14 PM

@Dia: any word on what happened? It's been a month now.

@darkyy: it is extremely unlikely that this email was guessed. My guess would also be a vulnerability in the site somewhere. It'd be nice to have some feedback about it.

#10 Dia

    DevMaster Staff

  • Administrators
  • 1121 posts

Posted 21 January 2013 - 09:51 AM

Yes, it looks like DevMaster has been recently compromised by a security vulnerability of the forum software. We've been trying to investigate if other systems were compromised. So far, it looks like only the forums database was affected, from which the emails were obtained. The forums software has already been patched with the latest security updates.

Unfortunately, due to the popularity of the forum software we're using, such security vulnerabilities are inevitable. However, this really speaks to the importance of ensuring we regularly stay up-to-date with the software. We're going to take measures to ensure such updates are applied immediately after they're announced.

We're deeply sorry for this. In the coming months, we'll be overhauling the forum software with a custom one that better integrates with the rest of the site, which will hopefully dramatically reduce the probability of this happening again.

#11 Stainless

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 610 posts
  • LocationSouthampton

Posted 21 January 2013 - 10:01 AM

I don't understand spammers.

I mean , have any of you EVER followed a link in a spam mail?

Just what makes it so useful?

It's like these companies that use automated phone callers, has anyone ever done anything other than yell down the phone at them.

#12 edam

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 24 January 2013 - 07:52 PM

@Dia: Thanks for the update. And thanks for being so honest about what's happened.

@Stainless: No, but you have to remember that they'll send billions of emails and it only takes one in a thousand for it to be worth it for them. Also, it acts as a non-idiot filter, so only those who are most gullible (and therefore most susceptible to whatever scam they're peddling) will reply/click.

#13 rouncer

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2758 posts

Posted 25 January 2013 - 07:43 AM

Have a look at reedbetas post on 2d vectors (Move in Any 2D direction. (Server)), something strange is going on.
you used to be able to fit a game on a disk, then you used to be able to fit a game on a cd, then you used to be able to fit a game on a dvd, now you can barely fit one on your harddrive.

#14 Reedbeta

    DevMaster Staff

  • Administrators
  • 5340 posts
  • LocationSanta Clara, CA

Posted 25 January 2013 - 07:58 AM

Hmm...something strange is indeed going on! I'm sure I put a link to xkcd's "lucky 10,000" comic in there, but now the paragraph is gone...did someone edit it? (And rouncer, why did you post in this thread?)
reedbeta.com - developer blog, OpenGL demos, and other projects

#15 Dia

    DevMaster Staff

  • Administrators
  • 1121 posts

Posted 25 January 2013 - 08:39 AM

@rouncer, what was wrong with Reedbeta's post exactly?

#16 rouncer

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2758 posts

Posted 25 January 2013 - 10:10 AM

oh, woops sorry - i thought someone was tampering with the posts, no sorry - i thought that web comic was spam thats all, no sorry its ok. :)
you used to be able to fit a game on a disk, then you used to be able to fit a game on a cd, then you used to be able to fit a game on a dvd, now you can barely fit one on your harddrive.

#17 Reedbeta

    DevMaster Staff

  • Administrators
  • 5340 posts
  • LocationSanta Clara, CA

Posted 25 January 2013 - 03:51 PM

Haha, okay, I can see how what I posted might've looked like spam. :)
reedbeta.com - developer blog, OpenGL demos, and other projects





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users