Jump to content


Is GameDev racist?


11 replies to this topic

#1 Butters

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 04 January 2005 - 09:22 AM

Anyone who is familiar with GDNet should check out this link:

www.gamedev.r8.org

Make sure to follow the hyperlink on the site. You will not believe your eyes!

#2 baldurk

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1057 posts

Posted 04 January 2005 - 10:16 AM

I seriously hope you're joking.

If you look at the source for that "informative" page, you'll see the link is such:

<a href=http://www.gamedev. net/community/forums/errpermission.asp?re=%20%20%20%20%20%20
(a few %20s removed here)
%20%20We%20at%20GDNet%20do%20not%20allow%20niggers%20to%20post%20on%20our%20forums.%20%20%20
(Again a few %20s removed)%20%20 target=_blank>

the file errpermission.asp file displays whatever message is passed in the GET parameters. For example:

See the truth on Gamedev's own page!

The page simply obfuscated the URL (note, %20 appears simply as a space). In addition, put in javascript to prevent anyone with javascript enabled from seeing where the link goes in their statusbar.


If that's a joke, it's not a funny one. It's called slander.
baldurk
He who knows not and knows that he knows not is ignorant. Teach him.
He who knows not and knows not that he knows not is a fool. Shun him.

#3 Butters

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 04 January 2005 - 10:36 AM

I don't really follow what you're talking about, but if it is a joke, then I think it's hillarious!

#4 Chris

    New Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts

Posted 04 January 2005 - 12:05 PM

It's a fake to dishonour gamedev.net

He created a page that copys gamedevs login error page but modified it in a way so that one can provide the "error cause" text via the URL.

In his case, he wrote the racist error message in the URL himself.
Look at the URL, the message is encoded there.

You can change the URL in any way you like, look at what I did:
Fake error message !

#5 Bljashinsky

    New Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 28 posts

Posted 04 January 2005 - 01:14 PM

It's obviously a fake, and it's not funny at all. I'm sure it's illegal to do that and the forum shouldn't such acts to be broadcasted through it. Since I'm new here I'm not sure what the punishment is, but does the forum punish this type of behavior?
Check out my site:
<span style='font-size:10pt;line-height:100%'><a href='http://www.newworldvideogames.com' target='_blank'>New World Video Games</a></span>

#6 anubis

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2225 posts

Posted 04 January 2005 - 01:25 PM

it's being discussed at the moment
If Prolog is the answer, what is the question ?

#7 Chris

    New Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts

Posted 04 January 2005 - 01:44 PM

I think Butters simply fell for it. It'll teach him to look thoroughly at such things next time.

I'm not sure what "hillarious joke" means (I'm not english, you see) but I find such fakes disgusting. If anyone should take action, it's the folks at gamedev.

This thread should be closed along with a clear statement that the linked page is a fake.

#8 Butters

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 04 January 2005 - 01:45 PM

Hey don't look at me it's not my site, I just posted the link

#9 Chris

    New Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts

Posted 04 January 2005 - 02:04 PM

But your intention isn't clear to me. Did you find it funny, a good joke ? Did you believe it ? Oh, asking that when everything has been cleared doesn't yield any value.

#10 Butters

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 04 January 2005 - 02:09 PM

I believed it at first, because I simply wasn't paying attention to the address bar when I clicked the link.

#11 Trident

    New Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 25 posts

Posted 04 January 2005 - 03:45 PM

They just patched it. No more "you cannot view this page because Baldurk is a God"...

#12 baldurk

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1057 posts

Posted 04 January 2005 - 03:50 PM

I notice now that the website linked in the OP, http://gamedev.r8.org, is no longer active. r8.org is a dynamic DNS service which means that it will redirect to an IP. Luckily, I noted down that IP while the site was still up. It also happens to match Butters IP.

Butters, you are a liar. You said the site is not yours, however it is hosted on your IP. That cannot be a coincidence. Given that the site just went down, I took the liberty of saving a mirror and putting it here.

I contacted Dave Astle on Gamedev.net, and he has fixed this page which can potentially be abused.

Thread closed.
baldurk
He who knows not and knows that he knows not is ignorant. Teach him.
He who knows not and knows not that he knows not is a fool. Shun him.





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users