How did spammers get my DevMaster.net e-mail address?
#1
Posted 12 February 2009 - 11:48 AM
About 10 minutes ago I received spam to that e-mail address. The only thing this e-mail address has ever been used for is to sign up this this site (and was created specifically for that purpose).
Can anyone from this site explain how the spammer got my e-mail address?
The spam had a from line of : Annerose Weiß and a reply address of kingvljoensnyders@gmail.com
Has any other site member had the same spam?
#2
Posted 12 February 2009 - 12:21 PM
#3
Posted 12 February 2009 - 12:55 PM
mjjw said:
Unless your e-mail address consists of completely random characters, it's not that hard to find for a spambot that uses some succesful patterns... :sad:
#4
Posted 12 February 2009 - 05:09 PM
EDIT: I'm following up with Dia to see if there might have been some intrusion.
#5
Posted 12 February 2009 - 05:17 PM
#6
Posted 12 February 2009 - 06:52 PM
Grumpy
#7
Posted 12 February 2009 - 07:43 PM
(='.'=) This is Bunny. Copy and paste bunny into
(")_(") your signature to help him gain world domination.
bunny also wants to fight spam: Click Here Bots!
#8
Posted 12 February 2009 - 08:05 PM
#9
Posted 12 February 2009 - 09:31 PM
In any case, we'll investigate and analyze the log files to find out if anything suspicious is going on. Thanks for bringing this to our attention.
#11
Posted 12 February 2009 - 11:06 PM
Reedbeta said:
EDIT: I'm following up with Dia to see if there might have been some intrusion.
Thankyou! Please keep me posted.
#12
Posted 14 February 2009 - 01:26 PM
#13
Posted 16 February 2009 - 12:17 AM
One of the hotmail addresses I had never used, for some reason I checked it and was warned that if I didn't use it, hotmail would delete it, so I sent a decoy email from my personal aol address.
After that, the hotmail account started receiving steady spam. Enough to keep it open and "in-use."
How, I don't know.
#14
Posted 16 February 2009 - 10:29 AM
monjardin said:
Maybe it is all a coincidence, but there really appears to be a relation with devmaster.
#15
Posted 16 February 2009 - 10:31 AM
My stuff: torus.untergrund.net <-- some diy electronic stuff and more.
#16
Posted 28 February 2009 - 11:23 PM
Nick said:
Unless your e-mail address consists of completely random characters, it's not that hard to find for a spambot that uses some succesful patterns... :sad:
huh no they can't guess that easily. If an address is only used in one place (say devmaster forum) and not of common aliases (webmaster@, info@, sales@ etc) I don't see how they could guess that one. Else how come they don't guess other aliases that are used on other websites.
I think the devmaster site has been compromised. It's not uncommon with those packaged forums (phpbb, vbulletin etc).
I've got one too from "Sport2plus".
#17
Posted 03 March 2009 - 10:02 AM
Security is taken very seriously; we have had many measures on the server to prevent things like SQL injections and so on. But unfortunately, it looks like a loophole was found. It has been patched now.
In the next month or so, we'll update the forums software to ensure we have the latest security features (as well as the latest cool forum features).
Our sincere apologies to everyone for this mishap. Rest assured however that the only sensitive information we have in the database are the emails. The passwords are stored in encrypted form, so they are perfectly safe.
Hopefully, this will not happen again.
#18
Posted 04 March 2009 - 02:51 PM
#19
Posted 04 March 2009 - 03:42 PM
Unfortunately, I registered to devmaster before I started to apply this policy :/
-
Currently working on: the 3D engine for Tomb Raider.
1 user(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users











