Unity

6d369d29 fe1b 4138 9e1a 04204943fc67

Website:
http://unity3d.com

Developer:
Unity Technologies ApS

Launched:
Not specified

Status:
Active

Supported Platforms:
Windows, Linux, Mac OS X, Xbox360, PS3, Nintendo Wii, iOS, Browser-based, Google Android, Wii U

Languages Written In:
C/C++

Languages Supported:
C#, JavaScript

Graphics APIs:
OpenGL, DirectX

Rating:
  (68 reviews)

Editor:
None (be one!)

Unity is a multiplatform game development tool, designed from the start to ease creation.

Supported Features

General

  • Object-Oriented Design
  • Plug-in Architecture
  • Save/Load System
  • Professional FPS controller ready to drop in (and tune)
  • Streamed loading for the Unity Web Player
  • Unity asset server / asset source code version control
  • Cross-platform web player content, the Unity Web Player is available for both Mac OS X and Windows users and works with all browsers
  • Standalone executables for both Mac OS X and Windows
  • Mac OS X Dashboard Widgets
  • iPhone Publishing is available as add-on product
  • Streaming Asset Bundles: the ability to stream in any asset (terrain, mesh, etc) into the game.
  • Asset Processing Pipeline: in larger projects, customizing the art pipeline to avoid repetitive steps becomes crucial. You can now complement Unity’s famous asset importing pipeline with any additions you need to make it truly flow.
  • Deferred Shading
  • Render-to-Texture
  • Fonts
  • Extensible full-screen graphics effects (blur, motion blur, sepia, grayscale, more…)
  • TrueType typography
  • DirectX 9 and OpenGL rendering support
  • Rendering with Shader Replacement: render the scene, replacing shaders of all objects. This makes it simple to make incredible eye-candy like depth-of-field, soft particles, thermal goggles, and more.
  • Immediate Mode Rendering: a single function call can render any mesh anywhere, with full per-pixel lighting and custom shader support.
  • Lens Flares
  • Particle System
  • Motion Blur
  • Sky
  • Water
  • Mirror
  • Color correcting filter, grayscale, sepia, and twirl
  • Skinnable in-game GUIs

Lighting

  • Per-vertex
  • Per-pixel
  • Lightmapping Beast-Lightmapping

Shadows

  • Projected planar
  • Blob shadows
  • Realtime Dynamic Soft Shadows
  • Shadows are dynamic, optimized, and allow self-shadowing (only available in Unity Pro)

Texturing

  • Basic
  • Bumpmapping
  • Procedural

Shaders

  • Vertex
  • Pixel
  • High Level
  • Unity comes with an extensive library of 40 shaders including Vertex Lit, Diffuse, Glossy, Bumped, Bumped Specular, Reflective, Self-illuminating, a Toon (Cell) shader, and 9 different particle shaders.
  • Everything falls back gracefully on low-end GFX cards.
  • Parallax shaders
  • GLSL support (in addition to Cg)

Meshes

  • Mesh Loading
  • Skinning Native importing from Cinema 4D, Maya, Cheetah3D, Blender. Also support for Collada, FBX, 3DS, OBJ formats

Scene Management

  • Occlusion Culling Umbra occlusion culling

Animation

  • Keyframe Animation
  • Skinned character animation
  • Procedural Characters and Animation: the ability to stitch multiple body parts into one character, and reassign bones to different characters. The entire skinned animation system is now scriptable.

Terrain

  • Rendering Terrain engine with full editor tools, dense foliage, lightmapping and more

Physics

  • Basic Physics
  • Collision Detection
  • Rigid Body
  • Vehicle Physics
  • Powered by the PhysX Engine, which also supports particle physics
  • Cloth simulation

Networking

  • Client-Server
  • Build on Raknet
  • Supports .NET library and asynchronous WWW API
  • Multiplayer Networking (advanced NAT punch-through, delta compression, easy to set up)

Artificial Intelligence

  • Scripted

Sound

  • 2D Sound
  • 3D Sound
  • Streaming Sound Streaming video and audio Based on FMOD, includes sound effects (Reverb Zones, Various Filters: Low Pass Filter, High Pass Filter, Echo Filter, Distortion Filter, Reverb Filter, Chorus)

Tools & Editors

  • Editor provides zero-cost asset pipeline: save a file and it updates automatically
  • Editor Extensibility: Create completely custom editor windows, and entirely new tools and workflows.
  • Asset Server that provides version control capabilities for Unity projects
  • Optimized for use with large projects New Server view integrated into the Unity user interface
  • Updates, commits, and graphical version comparisons are all performed inside the Unity editor. Open Source Asset Server
  • The enterprise-level database PostgreSQL powers the Unity Asset Server Asset Server offers multi-platform support
  • Install the server on either Mac OS X or Linux
  • Procedural tree creator
  • Beast Lightmapping

Scripting

  • Uses the Mono and supports JavaScript, C# and Boo, interoperable (to a certain extent) and JIT’ted to native code
  • Complete scripting documentation
  • Source-level debugging

Licensing

License Name Price in $US Source Code Included?
Proprietary Free No
Indie version
Proprietary $1,499.00 No
Pro version

Tools

Books

Companies


Write a Review

Showing 26-50 of 68

0 of 3 people found the following review helpful

It's great!

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 Cowabanga May 06, 2010 at 19:16

Ok, I'll take my previous words back. This engine is the best. Features, Ease of use, Stability, and even Support. (Well, the forums are a little... you know, like every forum.)
Everything's all good.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Very good engine if you using it correctly

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 skyfire Apr 06, 2010 at 13:11

We using Unity for more than an year now. Engine is really nice, feature rich and flexible enough. But do not expect absolute flexibility from it, it was not designed for this. If you want to have full control on what is going on in game/engine code, then you should search for more suitable engine.

Strongest side of Unity is ease of use. Prototyping is very quick and comfortable, I can't compare it to anything else. Asset pipeline is prefect, scripting is very easy to use and understand. You will be suprized (especially after open source engines) how easily things can be done even without any single line of code.

It's weak side is drawn from it's strong side, you always should pay for ease of use. Unity doing things in general way. So if you need something special it'll be hard or impossible to achieve it, so before you invest just try free version and see if it is what you need.

Anyway it is VERY good game engine. One the best on market. Highly recommend to try it before you'll make a decision to buy anything else.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Best Engine!

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 petey1g Mar 19, 2010 at 04:58

Unity 2.6 as it is, is far better then any engine out there!
With Unity 3.0 comeing out, nothing will even come close to it!
Support 10/5
Stability & Performance 5/5
Ease of Use 10/5
Features 5/5
Simply put this is by far the best choice for anyone starting to develop games or has already been developing for a long time.
Blows everything else out of the water!

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Never seen a engine like that

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 api984 Jan 06, 2010 at 22:53

Excellent engine.
Very stable.
Graphics rocks.

I can import models from Cinema 4D which is important to me and I can make colliders and animations and so on.

Astonishing.

Uh man. I love this Engine.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful

It is really the best you'll find for an indie engine.

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 Grunster54 Jan 03, 2010 at 21:42

There really isnt anything glaringly bad I can say about this engine. Its fast, its simple, its extendable, the documention and tutorials are great, and so is the community and support.

Having used many different engines I can confidentally say its truly a top-notch product, and its a pleasure to work with. You can use it on Windows, or on a Mac, and it can deploy standalones to both (also deploy to a web-broswer). All with one click of a button.

The indie version became completely free for use (for both commercial and non-commercial use) as of version 2.6. So this opened the doors to many developers, which is great. The Pro version still costs $1500, but its well worth its price if you absolutely need features like dynamic shadows, or using external .dlls (but in all honesty many dont need it, since its such a good engine and a lot can be done with the indie version). The licensing agreement is the best there is, it doesnt restrict you in any way, shape, or form (unlike other engines out there).

Features: There is a lot of features, and they constantly improve the existing features and add new ones all the time (they actually listen to their customers wishes and needs!)

Ease of Use: It is really easy to use, and very simple to learn (even for complete beginners). Its just straight forward. You'll pick it up in no time!

Stability: Its very stable, it definitely beats the competition in this area by far! And if you do stumble across a bug, support is there to help (as is the community) and bugs are patched in next update. The Unity team definitely shows high dedication to keeping their product great. I'd also like to add that many of the upgrades are free, so they dont take advantage of making their users pay for each and every upgrade (like some of their competitors).

Performance: Its just great. You can easily optimize your app from the get-go, and have it run with great performance while having great visuals (even on older/outdated machines). Something which cannot be said for some other engines out there.

This engine has many many published and completed games on multiple platforms, both from small time developers to major studios. So it has an excellent track record of being able to complete the job, efficiently and effectively.

If you're looking for an engine that simply just works the way you hope and wish for, look no further than Unity. But hey, dont take my word for it, go download it, its free to use, learn it, and I guarantee you'll fall in love with it.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Best Engine In World!!

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 AliyerEdon Dec 24, 2009 at 08:02

its best engine. ever than Unreal Engine3!!
its very very easy and nice looking. i am find this engine best for create any genre of games with lowest bug .
if you are an small team and happy to create greate gamesT choice unity an made it.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Consider to switch

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 hwlim Dec 09, 2009 at 11:29

To be objective I'd like to explain the grading. Base on after tried the free version.

Features: 5/5
I am not talking about 3D features, feature wise Unity is a all-round engine for indie. Multi-platform, web publishing has higher priority to me, no other indie engine match Unity, to me it is the most important feature.

Ease of Use: 5/5
The Javascript syntax is very straight forward to me, documentation is fanastic! And no other engine match the asset import.

Stability & Performance: 5/5
Didn't found any problem yet, the web player is running really fast on Firefox.

Support: 5/5
As I am not using the paid version, however the community is really helpful, check their forum.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful

After lots of 3D or game engine shopping, I'm settled.

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 ChrisAR Nov 06, 2009 at 05:33

I have tried several engines out there (Unreal Engine, Ogre, C4, Irrlicht, etc.) After Unreal Engine, Unity is by far the best.

-Excellent game asset pipeline. Nothing comes close.
-.NET/Mono scripting integration and ease is great.
-No access to engine source code, but this is completely unnecessary (even when implementing very low level stuff). Plugin system works great.
-Very good performance, especially in RTT operations and dynamic shadow computation.
-Ease of deployment is great. Number of target platforms is awesome.
-Outstanding support. I asked for a feature in the wishlist, and a few months later it was implemented.
-Great community. I loved OGRE's community, but Unity is better IMO (more activity, more willingness to deal with newbies).

Now 2.6 is free for Indie development!! You can't go wrong here.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Indie is now free

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 fireburst Nov 05, 2009 at 10:35

This is a very nice and well documented game development environment/engine to work with. Now that its free for the indie version I think that it has raised the bar for the competition .

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Free

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 ninja Nov 04, 2009 at 03:05

The reason I gave the score that I did is this they just released the indie version for free as of 2.6. I think they have really good documentation. A lot Better then some of the other engines. Also They have a great community that is very helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful

excellent

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 dominikee Oct 10, 2009 at 13:16

THE BEST ENGINE
THE BEST ENGINE
THE BEST ENGINE
THE BEST ENGINE
THE BEST ENGINE
THE BEST ENGINE
THE BEST ENGINE
THE BEST ENGINE
THE BEST ENGINE
THE BEST ENGINE
THE BEST ENGINE
THE BEST ENGINETHE BEST ENGINETHE BEST ENGINE
THE BEST ENGINETHE BEST ENGINEVTHE BEST ENGINEVVTHE BEST ENGINETHE BEST ENGINE

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Good Price - Fast development

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 herurubin Oct 09, 2009 at 20:04

Even for really experienced developers - Unity is rapid development at it's best.

Unity allows you to focus on the things that make your game great rather than on technical minutia

whAt really sets this engine apart is the Mono framework
this allows for an incredible amount of freedom in your technical architecture as well as amazing stuff.

If you are not familiar with the mono framework, it's basically A cross platform ,open source, . Net framework.

This opens up a lot of amazing capabilities , for example: we needed an XML parser, went to MSDN and pasted in an example code... And it just worked... Amazing!

Also Mono allows u to use C# which is a reAlly excellent scripting lN

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Great little engine for the small guy

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 BS_er Jun 07, 2009 at 13:16

If you are a hardcore C++ programmer, or a small/indie dev team with strong programmers, this may not be the best choice. You may want more control over the inner workings, and you may be better off with an engine that is provided fully as source code or software librares, and has more specialized scene management options.

What you really get is an editor/game compiler all in one, that churns your scripts, textures, models etc. into a game for the PC, Mac or browser with the press of a button.

The editor is well designed overall, but has its drawbacks and limitations. If you rely on a nice programming IDE with intellisense, browsing, breakpoints etc., you may feel inconvenienced by this editor's simpler script editor. The mechanisms for placing objects and sculpting terrain are adequate, but has its nuisances.

The editor is designed to nearly do it all, and it comes close, even if it has to skimp in some areas. There are some aspects of it that are impressive. It just has so much to it, while maintaining a fairly clean layout.

Being a programmer, I would personally prefer it if this engine was built around a programming API instead of an editor API, but I had to choose this engine because of 1) Mac and Windows support, and 2) Sandboxed In-browser support for Mac and Windows via a web player. The constraints I am under leave me no other choice, but it looks to be a choice that can work out well.

Unity doesn't seem to have more optimized scene management options such as portal culling. You can have indoor/oudoor gameplay, but it may make your graphics card work that much harder.

I suspect that as I get accustomed to it, I will appreciate this engine more.

Still, it is very well designed, and bug-free. It allows you to get rolling quickly, while allowing a great deal of flexibility through scripting.

I'd say the core Unity engine itself is merely OK, but the ease that it allows you to create a Mac/Windows/Browser game (or iPhone, for extra $$), combined with a versatile editor, and decent support, really make Unity stand out.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful

A dream coming true

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 jashan Apr 24, 2009 at 17:03

I've been using Unity for about 1 1/2 years now and can only say it is an incredibly joyous ride. Back when I got it, Unity 2.0 had just come out - and since I was a Windows user, I first had to get a Mac. With 2.5 that need has been removed (Unity is now available on Windows, too) but I don't regret getting a Mac for it at all. If I was using that Mac for Unity alone, it would still totally be worth it.

So what is so great about Unity?

First of all, the community: IRC channel, forums, Wiki, developer conferences - and what you meet are friendly, like-minded people many of which can and will help you get started. Given that game development is a complex task even with Unity, that's something really important that should not be under-estimated. And the devs are an active part of that community, so it's not seldom that you get a question answered by one of the guys who developed the engine - first hand, so to say. And not only are the Unity devs certified geniuses - they also have cool humor, so going through the forums is a lot of fun, too. It's them who created this community, and that alone speaks for itself.

The documentation is really helpful - but I have to say I don't like that the examples and tutorials are mostly in JavaScript; C# would simply give you more of the information you need when you're learning the API.

Unity has almost everything I need and provides it with an extremely intuitive and easy to use interface. Don't get this wrong: Unity won't write a game for you - you or your team will still have to do a lot of development and art asset creation work (creating a 3D game simply is quite an endeavour ... which, of course, depends on the complexity of your game ideas). But as far as I can tell: It makes this process as easy and fun as it gets without limiting your freedom of expression. Unity is designed to allow you to implement pretty much anything you can think of in a rather efficient way.

That's something that really needs to be understood with Unity: It's a child born on the Mac, so it doesn't come with 10.000 features you don't need that are cluttered all over the place and that'll just confuse you. Instead, it does exactly what you need in most cases - and in the remaining cases, it allows you to implement whatever you need yourself (this includes extending the editor with your own features).

I was tempted to give it a "5 - Excellent - unparalleled quality" and I guess it would be fair enough, since I don't know any other engines that have the same quality that Unity has. But here and there I do miss something. However, during those 1 1/2 years I've been working with Unity (from 2.0 to 2.5 - and keep in mind: all minor upgrades are free), Unity has matured amazingly. Every minor upgrade felt like a major upgrade. So I think it won't take long until Unity is *the* "Features 5 Engine" by any objective means.

The areas that I think are currently lacking are networking and sound: Unity's built-in networking in my opinion is a bit too much designed towards simplicity and small-scale multiplayer games (I'd say up to 50 players). Of course, that doesn't mean an MMO cannot be created with Unity (check out FusionFall for an example) but it's not really supported from the networking point of view - for something like that, you'll have to create your own networking layer. I'm mentioning this because this is one of the few areas where what Unity provides nudges towards a certain kind of game (at least, if you want to create multiplayer games). That said: Don't underestimate the complexity of multiplayer game development even with the somewhat simplistic approach Unity is currently following. It's still not trivial at all!

Sound is probably fine for most people - but if you want to do stuff like custom loop points, in-game audio-effects and the like, you'll have to wait a little more, I guess. While most areas in Unity are just pure joy to work with, working with sound feels just "pretty nice".

Oh, one more thing: They offer the indie version "almost for free" - so there are a few limitations you should be happy with if you don't want to pay for the Pro version. I've never considered getting the indie version even though I'd consider myself an indie-developer. Personally, I wouldn't even call it "Indie" but something like "low-budget" instead. The reason is because the game engine is the core of my development process - and I don't think it's wise to try to save on the most important tool in the pipeline. I see it this way: The time I've spent developing my first game so far is worth at least 60 times as much as the pro license, and if I hadn't had Unity, I'm quite sure that I'd be nowhere near where I am with my game right now.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Good but Punishing

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 SNicholls Apr 24, 2009 at 08:45

Title is somewhat misleading, this is a great game dev system. It has the speed, the features, and "decent" docs. The problem I have is that if you buy the Indie version you are basically punished with Unity logos all over the place.

Some other features that I would like to see in Indie such as the ability to render to texture is locked out.

I give features a 3 because Indie really lacks alot of features that come as "basic" parts of other game dev systems / engines and as I own Indie this is what I am reviewing.

It would be amazing if they would remove the branding atleast from Indie, there is no need. We are paying customers... ok we dont have enought to pay for the pro version but still we pay and I feel very uneasy about being punished for that.

The support is brilliant and they have helped a great deal with some activation problems.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Best game engine I've ever used.

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 Quietus Feb 07, 2009 at 10:37

I've owned a number of commercial game engines reviewed on this site, including Torque and TGEA. None of them can compare to the sheer joy experienced using Unity.

A lot of other engines promise the world, but you find they're chock full of bugs and unfilled promises. Torque especially falls into this category. Not Unity, for everything works as advertised right out of the box. I'm 100% satisfied with the money I spent.

After purchasing it and kicking the tires for a few months, here's my assesment...

The documentation is excellent in terms of quality and quantity.

The support you get from the community is unrivaled.

The art pipeline is perfect. Literally drag your art into the scene from your 3d modeler and it just works. No struggle with half working exporters.

A lot of power at your disposal. Shaders, Physics, Networking and whatever else you might need is incredibly easy to access.

The company is not aloof, they actually engage the community and participate on the forums.

With their scene based paradigm to game development, one is able to build a prototype at a very rapid pace. If you actually want to make games and not struggle with the technology this is the engine for you.

The only downside I would give the engine, is that it doesn't interface with free version control systems due to the binary metadata. I'm sure however that will be addressed in the future.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful

You have to try it

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 CharlesHinshaw Sep 24, 2008 at 14:03

It is difficult to write a review for Unity -- everything that I write comes across sounding like sales material. The reality, however, is that my experience has been overwhelmingly positive.

I think that the best advice that I can give is to download the trial. There is really no way to understand how great this program is without using it.

Two things to point out. Since this page was last updated, Unity has become authorized middleware for Wii (it is real, no longer "in development") and iPhone publishing versions have an official launch date less than a month away.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful

All Game Engines Are Not Created Equal

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 Swine Sep 24, 2008 at 13:40

30 word minimum! Ah crap! Ok, here goes...

Unity Technologies has brought forth upon this world, a game engine, conceived in power, and dedicated to the proposition that anyone should be able to create games. Now we are engaged in the great endeavor of using Unity to its fullest potential. The world will little note, nor long remember what we write here, but it can never forget what Unity has made possible. It is for us the game developers, to be dedicated to the game engine which Unity Technologies has thus far so nobly advanced. It is also for us to be dedicated to the great task remaining before us. That from this honored game engine we take increased devotion to that cause for which Unity Technologies gave the full measure of devotion. That we highly resolve that Unity shall not have been created in vain, and that Unity shall be used to create games that kick ass!

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Best engine ever

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 hankenb Sep 24, 2008 at 01:54

I own about 15 engines, and Unity is by far the best. The art pipeline is amazing. You can publish builds for mac, pc, web, and soon iphone and wii with the click of a button. Scripting is also easy with this engine. Perfect product. I was a PC user who bought a mac just for Unity, and I definitely made the right choice.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Excellent Engine!

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 galent Feb 21, 2008 at 21:36

I've been reviewing the Unity engine (both indie and Pro) for 2 months. I've been using their 3d demo tutorial as a foundation then creating custom scripts, adding custom graphics, etc... I've built Mac (PPC, Universal, and Intel) and Windows executables then tested across a wide cross-selection of machines. Here's my results:

The engine is stable and fast across a good range of equipment. The minimum requirements listed on the Unity web site are accurate! I'm sure there are ways with careful planning to make a game that could go below those minimum requirements, but I wouldn't count on much below. Of course, my position on this is, the basic game specs covers at least the past 6-7 yrs of machines, that addresses the vast majority of PC owners in North America who are interested in purchasing new games. I can't speak to the web plugin based development, my guess based on what I've seen others doing is that plugin based can support even older equipment.

The IDE is very easy to use and very stable! I encountered one bug, which did crash the app but Unity has released a new update (2.2) that looks like it corrects the problem. Once you figure out the Unity IDE / Script relationships, development is highly intuitive. I do think some programming background will make the experience easier, scripting is required and a structured approach makes anything you create very reusable. That said the tutorials and documentation are excellent! There were some things I was looking for that I haven't yet found, like which Javascript version/standard is being implemented, but... that's just me. For background, I've been programming (various languages and platforms) in one form or another (personal, professional, business, game, web, etc...) since 1979/1980, full time professional since 1997 (it took me a while to decide what I wanted to be when I grew up... I'm still working on it ;-) ). I'm basing ease of use on new (less than 2 yrs experience) programmers. Anyone can pick it up in my opinion, but instruction/professional experience will make it very easy verse other IDE/programming environments I've seen.

Hardware compatibility
- the built in optimizing short cuts, that adjust game elements based on the system running it, works as advertised!!! I was stunned! I'm not sure how strict the intended relationship between the initial "choose your resolution and graphics quality" screen is with the built in adjusters, but what i've seen is the engine does tune itself despite what the user chooses. Now, it won't let you choose a resolution your display doesn't support, but i've seen other aspects of the game auto-tune based on hardware.
- Windows - Initial tests produced some ... interesting results. Two test systems, some of our newest, saw the game crash/quit unexpectedly after some time of game play, using any level of graphics detail. In each case the fix was different, one updated the DirectX drivers the other needed the latest drivers for the video card. Ironically, a laptop system with only integrated graphics and several older systems (circa 2001) encountered no issues at all. Once the patches were applied everything returned to normal, and all supported resolutions and graphics qualities worked fine.
- Mac - if the system specs fit the Unity supported specs, it just works!

The Unity team has been very responsive, and again the resources they have made available (documentation, tutorials, etc...) are first class.

What is it not? I'll find out, is my short answer. The longer answer is, if your the kind of development team that throws out the unreal tournament 3 engine because it's too slow and not flexible enough, I'm willing to bet this tool isn't for you. Otherwise, this is a great tool!

Bottom line: I'm buying it! Pro version asap!

Just my two cents, I hope this helps others,

Thanks!

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful

The Best!

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 W84Me Nov 22, 2007 at 04:22

Features: Fantastic!
Ease of Use: The easiest ever!
Stability: Rock solid!
Support: The best!

This engine is by far the best Indie engine, nothing else even comes close. Ignore the 2 negative reviews above, they were obviously posted by competitors.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Excellent design and workflow

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 karmamule Sep 08, 2007 at 15:33

Unity is an outstanding product. The layout of its main UI is excellent, and allows you to have a very efficient workflow in terms of scripting and immediately testing your results. Their scene editor is enjoyable to use too, and has well thought out controls and capabilities.

As you drop assets in your project directory they instantly show up in the UI available for use. They provide solid guidance on using several different graphics packages for your art assets, and directly support more than just typical 3DS or Maya files. (Such as Cheetah3D and Cinema 4D)

Unity also makes it easy to clearly track your assets, in-game objects, and has a component-based architecture for adding physics and other behaviors to your game objects. It's easy to be productive in Unity because the UI 'gets out of your way', and tends to function as you'd expect, so you can concentrate on your game itself, rather than on how to convince the UI to do what you want.

They get 4 instead of 5 stars because of no code completion in the script editor. (Scripts are written in javascript). They do make it easy to declare global variables in your scripts and have them available in the UI for easy manipulation later on, which is a great feature, so my true rating is 4.5 stars in ease of use. :-)

Unity also has excellent documentation, many tutorials easily available, and a very active, devoted, and extremely helpful user community. OTEE (the makers of Unity) are very responsive, and quick to help out.

The one drawback (and it's a big one for many devs) is that Unity only runs on OS X for now. (There is a PC version rumored to be in the works, but is probably a long ways off.) Your end product can run on Windows, OS X, or via web player, but you need a Mac to do your development. Unity is also more expensive than many indie tools out there, but you get what you pay for.

Ultimately, the biggest compliment I can give Unity is that it was a significant consideration in justifying my Mac purchase, and I have no regrets. I've seen several other people on the forums saying that they too got a Mac primarily to run Unity.

If the price and/or platform is a stopper for you, then I'd recommend checking out DX Studio on the PC for what is IMHO the closest Unity experience there at the moment.

Overall, Unity is the best indie development tool I've run across, and keeps the development process fun and enjoyable.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Unity indie licence: a pleasure to drive and exremely effective

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 Proto Sep 05, 2007 at 21:39

I've found Unity (Indie licence) to be extremely effective in making fast, visually impressive demos with detailed models and effects. I have increased my productivity fourfold using Unity and have now started porting my work from another similarly priced engine. I attribute my rapid acceleration to Unity's time saving art pipeline and ease of use.

So far, Unity has had a solid and easily implemented solution to most concepts I've thrown at it - right from within the GUI and without having to crack open the bonnet and tinker with the engine source. I've managed to prototype ideas myself quickly and without the need to buy additional content packs or trawl through forums searching for technical experts. The documentation is complete and in one easy to find place (not scattered through multiple web sites and forum threads). Where what I envisaged couldn't be done out of the box, I found the support community (IRC chat, website, docs) to be very helpful.

Compared to another well known indy engine I've been struggling with (against) for six months I don't feel that I have to fight Unity to get something different from the standard FPS (although an FPS game is included as one of the project examples).

Unity's developers seem to have taken great care to accommodate the user when building this application. It's like they actually listened to users trying to make a game when they built the thing (well defined user requirements? Hoorah!) Live texture updates from your source files make getting the look and feel of your game blissfully easy across GUI, environment design and characters. You can use your 3D app of choice to create content in a familiar environment (as long as it supports the FBX format) which eliminates the need to learn another app. The GUI is blissfully responsive, updates to project files and new files are added to the project automatically, so no repetitive file import dialogues nor do you have to restart the engine to see your changes.

But none of this really matters unless your work is accessible. Your work can be seen on Mac and Windows. Unity uses OpenGL and has a DirectX version soon to be released. Unlike some other cross-platform engines on the market even the advanced Unity features are available to both platforms. Web export means that your work can be seen worldwide via the Unity browser plugin. The web compression is very effective. I was surprised to find out that my richly detailed 3D walkthrough with over 30 models and large landscape made with Unity was actually smaller than the 3 Mb title animation I had prepared in Flash.

The engine features alone are enough to deliver a wide variety of creative ideas. Add to this the fact that the application is actually fun to use and the many time saving design features and you have an extremely attractive and effective creative tool.

I'm extremely pleased with my purchase:
- Easy and fast learning curve;
- Rapid progress from design concept to demos;
- Excellent texture pipeline with timesaving Photoshop compatibility and instantaneous "live" resource updates;
- Familiar and well documented script interface (Javascript);
- Good range of features offered for the indie licence;

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Have a game in your head? Finally get it out, without surgery!

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 Jessy Sep 02, 2007 at 05:12

I think the features have been pretty well covered elsewhere in these reviews, so I will just recount my own Unity-related story.

I am an aspiring video game composer and sound designer. My birth date (late 1982) dictates that I have basically grown up along with video games, and I have played my fair share and continue to do so. I have always been interested in making games, but had no idea where to start, as even the computer science professors at a university I attended had no good advice for me.

I decided to focus on music in school, and ended up pursuing a technical route, even though I basically hated using computers prior to this (my college introduced me to Mac OS X. It was an eye-opener). As such, I don't have an extensive background in the areas that a traditional developer might.

I was introduced to Unity through someone else who had purchased a license for it. There was a game development contest going on, and I was mainly interested in doing the sound, but everyone in our small team all ended up doing lots of game creation multi-tasking. The audio I created took all of a few seconds to be implemented flawlessly, and it ended up being surprisingly easy to get some of my newbie Blender artwork featured in the game, even though it was my first real 3D project.

This got me interested in potentially getting into the full Unity experience myself, but I held off on this for awhile, as I didn't really know anything about programming (of the typing variety), causing Unity to appear daunting to me. Eventually, I got fed up with not finding any cool new projects, and decided to give it a try, based on my previous experience with, and the glowing reviews for, Unity. This was one of the best moves I have ever made.

Due to some awesome tutorials on the Unity website, I was making simple games in a few days. It is incredibly easy to see your ideas come to life, as it happens in real-time in Unity. Although it is necessary to learn some code in order to get those ideas out of your head, the documentation and community are both so helpful that it's usually a quick, and even fun, process, to get them happening in-game. Now, after just a couple months working with the application, I already feel confident enough to have registered for the latest Unity game creation contest.

There are few things in my life that have given me as much joy as Unity has. Unity is a ray of hope, and a true inspiration. Whatever fantastic thing you want to create, with Unity and a reasonable amount of time, you can give it life.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful

Unity is the one

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 Freid May 22, 2007 at 13:46

It just works ! After trying several 3d game engine, i finally picked this one. You need a mac, but it's so easy and powerful, its REALLY fast to develop something.

I love the fact that it works pretty well with blender.
It's young but quite pro and reliable.

see you, gotta finish my game.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

Suggest Edits

Last edited Dec 05, 2013 at 23:49

Are your the owner of this engine? Let us know to be able to update it, and reply to reviews, and other benefits.