TV3D SDK 6.5

4d4e40f3-618b-4e27-a917-ed8b4df2d6db

Website:
http://www.truevision3d.com/

Developer:
Truevision3D, LLC

Launched:
Not specified

Status:
Inactive

Supported Platforms:
Windows

Languages Written In:
C/C++, C#, Visual Basic 6, VB.NET, Delphi

Languages Supported:
C/C++, C#, Visual Basic 6, VB.NET, Delphi

Graphics APIs:
DirectX

Rating:
  (71 reviews)

Editor:
None (be one!)

Note: This resource is marked as inactive because it is no longer maintained by the owners.

The TV3D SDK is a complete programming suite that accelerates the development of 3D games and applications. If you need to quickly prototype an idea, or need to quickly bring a product to market, then the TV3D SDK will save you time and money. With our 3D engine you have the power of an expensive 3D SDK, at a price that will not break your budget.

Supported Features

General

  • Object-Oriented Design
  • Full unicode support
  • Global stream system for data loading from file, file part, memory stream, or package
  • Included math library with all standard functions for vectors, matrices, and quaternions
  • Internal profiler with on screen output to help determine bottlenecks in your rendering
  • Unified angle system for all internal functions allowing you to use degrees or radians
  • Fixed-function
  • Fonts
  • GUI
  • Windowed or fullscreen support, with the ability to switch between modes during rendering
  • 32bits standard rendering pipeline for main buffer rendering
  • 64bits and 128bits floating point rendering pipeline available
  • Multiple viewport mode available in windowed mode
  • Multiple adapter support, with full enumeration of devices and supported rendering modes
  • Antialiasing and Anisotropic filtering up to 16x supported
  • Switch between point, line, and solid rendering modes
  • Environment Mapping
  • Billboarding
  • Particle System
  • Depth of Field
  • Motion Blur
  • Sky
  • Water
  • Fog
  • Billboard-based Particle System
  • Atmospheric effects like fog, cloud, sky (box and sphere), stars
  • Gamma control, and full screen fading and flash effects
  • Glow and Bloom with full emissive map support
  • Per object velocity-based motion blur (PS 2.0+)
  • Depth of Field (PS 2.0+)

Lighting

  • Per-vertex
  • Per-pixel
  • Lightmapping
  • Point, Directional, and Spot lights supported
  • Managed lighting system to automatically select the best active lights for the object
  • Standard per-vertex lighting with transform and lighting support
  • Per-pixel lighting with bumpmapping support
  • Cubemap filter for point light and bumpmapping
  • Per-Pixel and per-vertex precomputed radiance transfer (PRT) for meshes
  • Lightmap support for meshes and terrain

Shadows

  • Shadow Volume Optimized dynamic stencil shadows

Texturing

  • Basic
  • Multi-texturing
  • Bumpmapping
  • Script system to setup texture effects
  • Offset/Parallax tangent bumpmapping support
  • Material system with ambient, diffuse, emissive, specular, and power support

Shaders

  • Pixel
  • High Level
  • Full DirectX 9.0c effect file support for shaders, in HLSL or Assembly
  • Support for Shader Model 1.0 to Shader Model 3.0
  • Extensive support of predefined semantics for access to internal parameters
  • Shaders supported on most TV3D objects, including Mesh, Actor, Landscape, and Minimesh

Meshes

  • Mesh Loading
  • Skinning
  • Exporters for Maya, 3DS Max, and Milkshape3D
  • Included conversion utility for Halflife 1 MDL files

Scene Management

  • BSP
  • Occlusion Culling
  • PVS
  • Fast view frustum culling (sphere and box)
  • BSP Rendering Engine with PVS/Lightmapping

Animation

  • Keyframe Animation
  • Skeletal Animation
  • Morphing
  • Animation Blending
  • High performance skeletal or morph target animations
  • Supports 3 skinning modes, including CPU, Blended, and Shader-Based
  • Animation transition support from one animation to another
  • Full attachment system for actor bones
  • Bone manipulation via internal calls for custom animation systems

Terrain

  • Rendering
  • CLOD
  • Splatting
  • Highly optimized chunk based terrain rendering
  • Chunked LOD with geomorphing for progressive LOD
  • Realtime deformable terrain with single or array based point updates
  • Detailed texturing using texture splatting with up to 16 simultaneous layers
  • 8bit or 24bit heightmap support for terrain generation
  • Custom terrain data format for fast terrain loading and parsing
  • Fast altitude queries and collision detection
  • Automated fast culling using internal quadtree
  • Complex integrated water system for realistic looking water

Physics

  • Collision Detection
  • Rigid Body
  • Vehicle Physics
  • Based upon the Newton Game Dynamics physics engine
  • Direct integration for engine objects, including meshes, actors, terrain
  • Accurate collision detection and friction solver with configurable accuracy
  • Rigid body colliders support include box, sphere, cylinder, cone, and convex hull
  • Static body colliders support includes mesh and terrain
  • Combine multiple colliders into one rigid body
  • Full joint support with limits including ball, hinge, universal, up, and sliders
  • Motorized joints supported
  • Fully configurable vehicle system
  • Buoyancy for bodies based upon a water plane
  • Configurable auto freezing of bodies when they are idle
  • Ragdolls supported by direct actor bone manipulation

Sound

  • 2D Sound
  • 3D Sound
  • Streaming Sound
  • DirectSound, DirectMusic, DirectShow support
  • Allows to make unique sound atmosphere for your games
  • Hardware/Software Sound mixing
  • Unlimited simultaneous sounds
  • MP3, WAV, MOD, SM3, IT, MID, RMI, SGT support
  • 3D Sound support that can be linked easily to a 3d world
  • Effects (reverb, echo, etc.) to give more depth to your sounds
  • Movie playing (all formats) for cut-scenes

Licensing

License Name Price in $US Source Code Included?
Proprietary Free No
Watermark displayed at all times during rendering; commercial distribution disallowed
Proprietary $150.00 No
Allows distribution of a single software product
Proprietary $500.00 No
Allows distribution of an unlimited number of software products

Write a Review

Showing 51-71 of 71

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

Best Engine for .Net Developers!

  by 3d7a96289dc1844cb9659540bfaf9093 Crashlander Mar 17, 2005 at 22:45

I've been using TV3D for many years now. I started using it with VB6 and was around when it began supporting Managed .Net languages (C# and VB.Net)

As a consultant for a local company, we used TV3D 6.2 to develop a commercial Truck Driving Simulator in C#.

http://www.jjkeller.com/informationcenters/safesim/home.htm

We had near zero issues with TV3D over the year+ we spent developing SafeSim. And the support was always an instant message away! (Thanks Sylv.)

Now, myself and some freinds are using the TV3D 6.5 Beta along with the C# 2.0 beta to build our next app, a game that we are currently calling Krash.

TV3D is great! If you are a .Net developer, then TV3D is the ONLY choice!!

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

The Best Engine!

  by 7d3ef71687961a03ce379ff66ae95e11 potato Mar 05, 2005 at 18:53

TV3D is simply the best engine I've ever come across - and I've used many! I'll break it down in each of my rating categories, note that I speak about the 6.5 version, which is in beta, though almost all my statements still apply for the currently publicly available version!

Having shopped for many engines in my experience, TV3D's support is unparalleled. The VB6, VB.NET, C#, C++, and Delphi support has not been seen in other engines! Never have we seen an engine that can be coded in SO many languages, and have such excellent support from the engine's developers, who are always on IRC and ready to help out. The devs of TV are some of the nicest folk you'll meet, and will be lifesavers in your project!

The next biggest draw, for me, is the total ease of use. Where some engines (*coughOGRE*) are so entirely obsessed with inheritability and open-source expandability they drop all pretense of ease-of-use, TV doesn't suffer from this. Initializing the engine is as simple as calling the Init3DFullscreen or Init3DWindowed methods! There's a tremendous engine in the background that doesn't demand your attention constantly, allowing you to write the software YOU want, instead of spending all your time tending to the engine.

The 6.5 beta version also offers a HUGE boost in performance. On my VERY modest (1.4GHz, video card slower than Radeon 8500) machine, I've routinely made my fully-running game operate at over 300fps. Your mileage may vary, but TV is certainly one of the fastest engines out there!

This goes straight into features. TV supports everything from PRT (realtime radiosity) to normal mapping. Everything the top "AAA" engines can do graphically (Source, UE3, Doom 3, CryEngine, etc) TV can also do. The limit is you, not the engine! With VS3 and PS3 support, everything you can code is supported!

Lastly, the pricing of this engine is absolutely superb. At $150 for a commercial license, this is a steal. A fully-featured engine, blazing fast, and utterly simple to use, where you can publish, charge as much money as you want, and still pay only a flat fee of $150? No royalty fees, no percentage of revenue, no extra hidden costs. $150 will get you the engine, regardless of whether you end up making $1000 or $1,000,000 from your game! Try that with the big top engines out there, that demand a hefty six-digit licensing fee, AND THEN also part of your profits!

The only thing that TV is perhaps missing - and that's a VERY big perhaps - is that it's a generic 3D engine. For me, and most other developers, this is a strength, not a weakness. The "top" engines like UE3 and Doom 3 come with a LOT of existing game code, so perhaps if your goal is to build a derivative traditional FPS game, that would be easier (but C++ only, and 6-digit price tag?). The likes of Torque offer you existing game source code that you can pilfer to your heart's delight. TV prefers to give you the raw power of its 3D engine, and leave the exact details about what you want up to you. For me this is a plus, but if you're inexperienced and want to prototype quickly, and have little programming experience, TV is not for you!

That said, TV requires that you are a fairly proficient programmer in your language of choice. If you can't tell the difference between a function and a class, or have only taken rudimentary introductory courses, don't try to make anything big with TV! TV's user-friendliness allows you to create small apps very easily, but a full-fledged game is still a lot of work!

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

A wonderfull engine

  by 5b520650352e11f706b45e4566a6f685 Meluka Feb 22, 2005 at 03:51

This is the easiest engine I ever scean.I love game progamming but I don't no how to do it. When I Serching about game engines I saw lots of engines. but lots of engines are for sale but I don,t have lots of money. Whine I found this engine I download it for free. I also thanks to the programmers of this engine.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

Good Engine

  by D68ddf5c5edfc8ac810804663cbbafdc Alvaron Feb 06, 2005 at 16:50

Very good engine!!

Programming a 3D game in Visual Basic is very fast and good. Everything explains itsself if you have been reading the tutorials.

If you are searching for an Engine for your game/app. then take this one!! The best I've seen yet!!

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

Excellent engine

  by Eedbc7df21572f74831ce967e615ad0e Josip Dec 11, 2004 at 07:59

This is one excellent 3d engine which in first place is good because of it's managed code support (C# and VB.Net I love you). 6.2 is not so powerful engine from today's point of view, but 6.5 I can't wait to come out, couse it will be so good.
Don't know what to say... TV3D is simply the best.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

Oh my... Really Grate !!!

  by 38a632afcfa0023f071b9320a1db22df Dilshan Nov 04, 2004 at 04:13

One of the best engine I have ever seen !!, Support wide range of programming languages. More powerful than 3DSTATE (my first 3D Engine) have wide features. In next release (6.5) they introduce wide range of functions and features. Really good for beginners. Download it now !!!
In my Delphi Systems (V5,6,7) it works perfectly than any other engine. FPS in VB & Delphi are grate. (Try demos in TV3D !!!)

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

Simply the best.

  by A51ffe4004bea794e5e9df9cb67c7a34 mastercoder Nov 03, 2004 at 04:02

TV3D is easily the best engine out for Indie Developers, It´s easier than torque, and full of features. What torque lacks of (Torque is good, but there´s some annoying issues with it), TV3D have for sale(or for free).

Also, I´m mainly a VB coder, I loved it!

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

Version 6.5 is an excellent 3D engine!

  by E246017528a56b407a286a1ba94a07db Sean_Doherty Nov 02, 2004 at 22:51

Support Rating :

Basically, if it were possible I would rate the support a 6 out of 5. Sylvain Dupont and Arli Mujkic, of Truevision, have been extremely helpful in in fixing bugs, adding new features, and explaining some of the interesting features of the engine. These guys are available via IRC pretty much 18 hours a day!

Ease of Use:

The engine itself it fairly easy to use and it supports many languages such as VB6, Delphi, .Net, and C++. Since the 6.5 engine is still in beta there are some missing documents and samples. However, the real-time support more than makes up for this short coming. Normally, I would rate the support a 4 out of 5 because of the missing documentation during the beta. However, the header files are easy to understand, they offer real-time help via IRC, and the the engine even allows you to code directly in DirectX 9 through and an easy to use interface.

Stability and Performance:

Well, since the rendering engine is much faster than my custom code and more flexible than any of the other engines that I have tried, I an forced to rate the performance a 5 out of 5. Once again you even have the ability to code directly in DirectX 9 if you think you can do something faster.

As for Stability, the product is still in beta so it is hard to give perfect marks here. However, I have found that bugs are fixed extremely fast once discovered. For example, there has been at least four releases to fix small bugs in the past week.

Features:

As a 3D rendering engine the product has wonderful quality. However, at this point only the 3D engine (with physics), mesh viewer, and converters have been released. During the coming months, Truevision will release their Network and Media engine. Once the product is out of beta I have no doubt that it will exceed the functionality and flexibility of all the engines on the list. Well at least the ones that average Indie Coder can actually afford.

Please note that my review is based on my experience with Torque, BlitzBasic, Dark Basic, ORGE, Irrlicht.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

TV3D 6.2

  by A673f68550193b1124587cd0ac8f72c8 Sashelas Oct 01, 2004 at 18:18

I am currently playing with TV3D 6.2, Torque, Darkbasic Pro and Blitz3D. I have done a few sample programs with each and am currently favoring TV3D.

TV3D shows the most promise and allows use of any language. I typically use VB.NET and C# for other types of programs so it rocks in that aspect. I am eager to see what is in 6.5 which is in beta. TV3D is the best price/performance option if you are looking for something close to DXSDK but with a great starter set of classes.

Blitz3D is quite a bit easier with less flexibility (one non industry standard language) but has blazing fast 3D. I have seen more highly rated games out on download.com that were created with Blitz3d than almost any other engine mostly due to its ease of use.

DBPro is fun for making pong like games :)

Torque is good for large landscapes.

-- edit --

TV3D 6.5 beta is incredible. I'm astounded. It does vs_3_0 & ps_3_0 now!! I don't think any other engines have that capability.

It is blazing fast as well. 1600x1200 scenes with reflection and refraction run nicely on a AMD 2200 with an early ps_2_0 video card hehe.

Playing with this engine is more fun than gaming.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

Bar-None, top of the line.

  by Ea40cffb54bb310f3750369139916c6e Javin Aug 23, 2004 at 19:08

Now, at the risk of sounding like a "fanboy," I'm typically fairly critical with my reviews. However, I firmly believe that TV3D deserves the 5 stars in each category. And I'll explain:

Features: With TV 5.8 (possibly earlier), TV moved on to using DirectX 8.1. At 6.2, it supports every feature of 8.1 that I have yet to need, as well as internally providing even more features. (Sound engines, Networking Engines, Particle Engines, Pathfinding, Terrain, Collision, (even physics, soon)you name it.) Having used a few other 3D Engines, I can say that its featureset is unparalleled. With 6.5 (currently in Beta) this will more than triple. Not only will it support all the "toys" of DirectX 9.0c (currently) but it will also give VB6 programmers access to these features. VB6'ers won't have native access to DirectX 9, except with Wrappers/Libraries/Engines such as this.

Ease of Use: I don't know that this can be said much more simply. Instead of the 60 some-odd lines of code necessary to create a simple box with DirectX, TV3D takes maybe 6 to get the same effect. (And this includes initializing the engine, creating the objects, displaying them, and then cleaning up.) So long as you have SOME knowledge of your language of choice, the intuitive design of TV makes it incredibly easy to use. For instance, if you've drawn a Box object and called it objBox, and you want to move it straight forward in the direction it's facing, your line of code would be:
objBox.MoveRelative 1, 0, 0
Creating a light for a scene? Light.CreateDirectionalLight (flags)
My point being, it's VERY straightforward. Now, if you don't know how to program in ANY language, then why are you trying to do 3D in the first place? (Motor obviously has little to no experience with programming in general, and really should not be permitted to review in the first place.)

Stability & Performance: Again, none can compete. Having done some benchmarks myself, I've found that 6.2, running in Visual Basic 6.0, can run at upwards of 80% of the speed of a similar app written in C++ with native DirectX. Yes, it's slower, but we're talking VB6 here. THAT is amazing. With 6.5, the speed is increased even more. Anyone that claims TV is slow has simply never used it. Blitz3D, DarkBasic, etc. can't hold a candle to its speed. As for stability, 6.2 is incredibly stable. If you're crashing, there's a 99.99% chance that the glitch is in your own code. (Much to my chagrin, often times. ;)

Support: This is where TV shines more than any other engine I've used. A perfect example is how I was attempting to do something fairly complex with shaders over the weekend, and simply couldn't figure it out. Logging into the TV official chat room, where there is almost ALWAYS someone from the Development Team available, I spoke to the lead programmer of TV who quickly gave me my answer.

Now let's compare this to the two most recent engines I've tried.

Blitz3D: Tried this one for a very short time. The render speed couldn't come close to competing with TV (When TV is used in VB6) so I quickly dropped it.

DarkBasic Pro: I found this to be VERY unstable, and at the time I used it, the limitations were horrific. Things such as simple binary file access didn't exist (yes, I realize they've since added that.) But when basic features weren't there, that's a bad thing. Plus it was slow. When I asked questions on the forums, I never did get an answer, and after waiting for half a year for an update, I finally dropped it and looked for other options, which is when I found TV. Not to mention the slow speed, as it was an interpreted scripting language.

So my votes are not based on my being a TV "fanboy." They're based on my current experience. And I'm always looking at other engines/libraries to see what the latest and greatest is. I've tried Rev3D (not as intutive/stable/feature filled) and GLScene (not as intuitive/fast/feature filled). This isn't to take anything away from the other products, just simply to say that by comparison, I'll stick with TV.

Then there's the pricing schedule. Considering that most games today cost about $50 each, for a "clean" license (no watermark/splash screen required) at $150 per app, it's far more affordable than most. I personally went with the $500 unlimited licensing, and have used it for everything from user applications, to gaming.

All said and done, I've yet to find anything that can compete with TV's Speed, Features, Stability, or Support. If you're a VB6 programmer trying to do 3D, this is an engine you can't afford NOT to have in your library. Again, the DirectX 9 capabilities are a major plus.

-Javin

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

Greatest Engine Ever!!!!

  by 811a791c0435a29de8faa36094fc5695 java Aug 20, 2004 at 05:21

For one thing, I got awesome frame rates on a First Person Shooter I was working on, even more then when I coded it directly in OpenGL! Also, this was the ONLY engine that was actually easy enough to use and had the proper documentation to let me actually write a program from scratch that did anything! I find the support awesome, if the answer I am looking for doesn't come up in a search through the extensive forums, then I know I can go ask a knowledgable user in the chat room. Overall, the best thing to happen to computer graphics since the Z-axis ;)

-java

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

Superb Engine

  by 435f12a0e1a41e4241a0b394772c3924 excaliber Aug 20, 2004 at 00:02

Quite frankly, the best engine I've worked with. Extremely powerful and fast, and yet provides a great wrapper to all major languages (C/C++, .Net languages, VB, Delphi, etc). Very advanced effects can be done simply and easily. The pricing scheme is amazingly cheap, absurdly cheap even.

As mentioned earlier, this is an *engine*, and as such provides an interface to DX. It does not create games for you, you use it with a programming language of your choice to create stunning graphics easily.

The community is incredible, both on IRC and the forums. The users of TV are dedicated and faithful to TV. Many have been working with it for years, using it from games to utilities. The developers are incredibly friendly and helpful, and post frequent updates. They actively get comments from the community on what to improve.

Once again, a professional quality engine available to those who have tight budgets. Highly recommended to anyone.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

Awesome engine

  by 8a405b76edca9f9bfdce745c8d3926f9 bytesmasher Aug 20, 2004 at 00:01

Top notch engine. Easy to use. Allows me to focus on coding. Next version (now in beta) will have unreal-3 style effects... pixel shader 3, etc... top notch support... the community is great... and on top of it all, it runs FAST in VB!!!!

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

AWESOME engine

  by Cf7e3195baa8ab974361667f30fab375 Rynus_Rein Aug 14, 2004 at 16:36

This engine is the best i ever used (and the first one =]).
But it's incredible cheap for commecrial projects (for non-commercial projetcs it's free).
It has many features, and the support is really great. If you're a newb to programming, you better learn programming first, but after some practicing you'll see that this engine is pretty easy to use.

Excellent Engine.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

Beta TV3D SDK 6.5.

  by Cd4bc7bb454b9625d5f2d446f712303b Arli Aug 14, 2004 at 16:22

The current TV3D SDK 6 is very complete but 6.5 will be a major upgrade!

The new version of the TV3D SDK has undergone heavy internal rewrite. We are working very hard to bring you the best and most wanted from the graphics industry into the well known easy-to-use TV3D interface!

With new features such as:

* Offset, Tangent-Space, and Object-Space Bumpmapping supported.
* TVPhysics: RigidBodies, RagDolls, Automated Collisions and Optimized for fast preformance.
* Custom formats, TVM (Mesh), TVA (Actor), TVO (Indoor Octree Map), TVS (Complete Scene)
* Exporter plugins for gameSpace, Maya and 3ds max.
* Tools to compile convert and edit all custom formats.
* Shaders support, HLSL FX files etc.
* Morphing capabilities.
* .NET support trough .NET assembly dll.
* ATL/COM dll for use in Visual Basic, Delphi etc.
* Direct Library support for C++ users.

And more! Visit our homepage for the complete list!

And not only do we bring alot of new features on the 3D Engine front we also bring you, in this new SDK, a very complete Media and Network engine! Your pre-6.5 projects will convert into 6.5 in no time! We keep the same and easy-to-use TV3D Interface.

All customers get immidiate access to the beta. Normal users can apply for beta access, we add new users to the program weekly!

I hope that you will be one of our new users!

Best of Wishes,

Arli Mujkic
Senior Developer
Truevision3D, LLC.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

Fantastic engine

  by 11c95eb58f31bb3fcbbe133a69528545 KillerJim Aug 10, 2004 at 07:28

I`ve used this engine for more than 2 years now in various projects and now in a commerical game. I`m also lucky enough to be on the 6.5 beta team so I know what excellent new features are coming up..

Incredibly stable engine which is forgiving on the new user, along with a very active community (which includes real-time support in the chat rooms)

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

Do not pass this one up

  by 2f5a9ec29e39c342b22ed88c117d398c Device Aug 10, 2004 at 06:46

This is an absolutly amazing engine. Regarding the TrueVision3D SDK it is easy to use, flexible, packed with features, powerful, works with all COM languages, and very very fast. To sum it up if you pass up this engine you have missed out.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

I love this engine.

  by 28915ab90914decf698caef6d250a750 GoodVillain Aug 10, 2004 at 06:17

Sure you could use a more wide known engine like Unreal, Torque, Blitz, Dark Basic, ect. But youll always be happy with your finished product in TrueVision 3d. Being a 3D engine working for a bunch of languages it is highly flexable and no limits. Its simple to code in and you can pick it up in no time after going through the examples. I have never had troubles with the engine stability. Its power always amazes me.

The engine has fantastic documentation and lots of samples and examples included in the SDK. The 6.5 version will have more. Heres a post from a SDK staff member.

#1 - 6.5 will have full documentation, including multiple chapters in a manual to get users started in each language. The art pipeline will be fully documented, and some of the more advanced features touched upon. All of the tools will have descriptions, and how-to manuals.

#2 - 6.5 will come complete with a full set of tutorials, for every standard language we support. (C++, C#, VB.Net, VB, Delphi)

#3 - 6.5 will come complete with a generic framework for each language, so you can quickly get up and running, without having to figure out which objects do what. (Even though that is fully explained in the API reference.)

#4 - The wiki will provide more advanced tutorials for 6.5, including how to achieve some of the more complex effects. It will be an ever growing resource, and when you figure something new and cool out, it helps to explain there how you did it, so others can learn as well.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

TV3D in commercial use

  by 69ae9dd05d8266fa5e9bd78fcbaad7ae JohnnyC Aug 10, 2004 at 05:51

We use the engine in VB6 for medical 3D visualization.

We had tried Blitz & Torque and others - TV3D was head and shoulders above the others for its outstanding Landscape Object and Licencing Terms.

We chose it because its essentially a fast C++ based rendering engine that rund from VB6, .net & Delphi.

We needed to call it from VB6 because it had to be written as an integral part of an existing database application.

Beginners may find the wealth of options a bit daunting and so I would say it is not very suitable for novice programmers, but it is well worth sticking with.

To summerize:

We find it fast, well supported, stable, very flexible, reasonably priced and suitable for intermediate / advanced programmers.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

Great engine

  by 8857ddd882c26c46ef378b638383962a houde Aug 08, 2004 at 19:41

This engine is for people with low-budget who want to learn how to make some 3D games/app easily. Once you have learn the basics of 3D programming and you know well your language, you can almost do wathever you want.
In 6.5 which is coming soon, more incredible features will appear and the engine will reach a new level.
I'm new to 3D programming, I never tried any other 3dengine because this one is doing everything I need to, very fast and it supports alot of languages (C/C++, Delphi, VB.NET, VB6).

I recommend it for everyone. It's free if you don't want to do something commercial and if you make a game and you want to sell it, you can just buy a license and it's not that much expensive.

The TV3D community is also very nice, everybody are helping each other. I think there's a lack of documentation, but if you take the time to search on the TV3D Forum or on google, you usually always find what you need.

Good luck to TV3D team for upcoming versions.

TFHTL Project with TV3D: http://tfhtl.thebobs.org/web/

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

The best solution for VB/VB.Net

  by A49325bf8e1fb7dc972c49f7cd60a094 Zaknafein Aug 08, 2004 at 19:34

I've been using the free version of this engine for 2 years now and trying out other engines as I worked with it, but never have I found the ease of use and usability of TV3D in another engine.

The landscape, particles and mesh systems are fast and the whole structure of the engine is intuitive enough to make your first mini-game within weeks.

Compared to the first 3D engine I've used (DarkBASIC), TV3D gives alot more liberty to the programmer (and even access to DX objects) so you don't really have limitations if you're creative enough.

The newest features like shadow projection and the upcoming 6.5 version supporting multiple texture stages and shaders make this engine a very good renderer too.

The community is also huge, friendly and responsive, and the TV3D staff actually respond to the users' (even non-paying) questions and comments; you wouldn't see that in every commercial engine. TV3D users also give out code snippets and samples regularly, not to mention the TV3DFilez website that contains loads of useful and free information, made by users.

So if you're looking for an unexpensive, well-made and practical engine to make your game running, wether you have no 3D programming experience or if you do, take a look it's worth it!

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

Suggest Edits

Last edited Dec 28, 2011 at 13:17

Are your the owner of this engine? Let us know to be able to update it, and reply to reviews, and other benefits.