TV3D SDK 6.5

4d4e40f3 618b 4e27 a917 ed8b4df2d6db

Website:
http://www.truevision3d.com/

Developer:
Truevision3D, LLC

Launched:
Not specified

Status:
Inactive

Supported Platforms:
Windows

Languages Written In:
C/C++, C#, Visual Basic 6, VB.NET, Delphi

Languages Supported:
C/C++, C#, Visual Basic 6, VB.NET, Delphi

Graphics APIs:
DirectX

Rating:
  (71 reviews)

Editor:
None (be one!)

Note: This resource is marked as inactive because it is no longer maintained by the owners.

The TV3D SDK is a complete programming suite that accelerates the development of 3D games and applications. If you need to quickly prototype an idea, or need to quickly bring a product to market, then the TV3D SDK will save you time and money. With our 3D engine you have the power of an expensive 3D SDK, at a price that will not break your budget.

Supported Features

General

  • Object-Oriented Design
  • Full unicode support
  • Global stream system for data loading from file, file part, memory stream, or package
  • Included math library with all standard functions for vectors, matrices, and quaternions
  • Internal profiler with on screen output to help determine bottlenecks in your rendering
  • Unified angle system for all internal functions allowing you to use degrees or radians
  • Fixed-function
  • Fonts
  • GUI
  • Windowed or fullscreen support, with the ability to switch between modes during rendering
  • 32bits standard rendering pipeline for main buffer rendering
  • 64bits and 128bits floating point rendering pipeline available
  • Multiple viewport mode available in windowed mode
  • Multiple adapter support, with full enumeration of devices and supported rendering modes
  • Antialiasing and Anisotropic filtering up to 16x supported
  • Switch between point, line, and solid rendering modes
  • Environment Mapping
  • Billboarding
  • Particle System
  • Depth of Field
  • Motion Blur
  • Sky
  • Water
  • Fog
  • Billboard-based Particle System
  • Atmospheric effects like fog, cloud, sky (box and sphere), stars
  • Gamma control, and full screen fading and flash effects
  • Glow and Bloom with full emissive map support
  • Per object velocity-based motion blur (PS 2.0+)
  • Depth of Field (PS 2.0+)

Lighting

  • Per-vertex
  • Per-pixel
  • Lightmapping
  • Point, Directional, and Spot lights supported
  • Managed lighting system to automatically select the best active lights for the object
  • Standard per-vertex lighting with transform and lighting support
  • Per-pixel lighting with bumpmapping support
  • Cubemap filter for point light and bumpmapping
  • Per-Pixel and per-vertex precomputed radiance transfer (PRT) for meshes
  • Lightmap support for meshes and terrain

Shadows

  • Shadow Volume Optimized dynamic stencil shadows

Texturing

  • Basic
  • Multi-texturing
  • Bumpmapping
  • Script system to setup texture effects
  • Offset/Parallax tangent bumpmapping support
  • Material system with ambient, diffuse, emissive, specular, and power support

Shaders

  • Pixel
  • High Level
  • Full DirectX 9.0c effect file support for shaders, in HLSL or Assembly
  • Support for Shader Model 1.0 to Shader Model 3.0
  • Extensive support of predefined semantics for access to internal parameters
  • Shaders supported on most TV3D objects, including Mesh, Actor, Landscape, and Minimesh

Meshes

  • Mesh Loading
  • Skinning
  • Exporters for Maya, 3DS Max, and Milkshape3D
  • Included conversion utility for Halflife 1 MDL files

Scene Management

  • BSP
  • Occlusion Culling
  • PVS
  • Fast view frustum culling (sphere and box)
  • BSP Rendering Engine with PVS/Lightmapping

Animation

  • Keyframe Animation
  • Skeletal Animation
  • Morphing
  • Animation Blending
  • High performance skeletal or morph target animations
  • Supports 3 skinning modes, including CPU, Blended, and Shader-Based
  • Animation transition support from one animation to another
  • Full attachment system for actor bones
  • Bone manipulation via internal calls for custom animation systems

Terrain

  • Rendering
  • CLOD
  • Splatting
  • Highly optimized chunk based terrain rendering
  • Chunked LOD with geomorphing for progressive LOD
  • Realtime deformable terrain with single or array based point updates
  • Detailed texturing using texture splatting with up to 16 simultaneous layers
  • 8bit or 24bit heightmap support for terrain generation
  • Custom terrain data format for fast terrain loading and parsing
  • Fast altitude queries and collision detection
  • Automated fast culling using internal quadtree
  • Complex integrated water system for realistic looking water

Physics

  • Collision Detection
  • Rigid Body
  • Vehicle Physics
  • Based upon the Newton Game Dynamics physics engine
  • Direct integration for engine objects, including meshes, actors, terrain
  • Accurate collision detection and friction solver with configurable accuracy
  • Rigid body colliders support include box, sphere, cylinder, cone, and convex hull
  • Static body colliders support includes mesh and terrain
  • Combine multiple colliders into one rigid body
  • Full joint support with limits including ball, hinge, universal, up, and sliders
  • Motorized joints supported
  • Fully configurable vehicle system
  • Buoyancy for bodies based upon a water plane
  • Configurable auto freezing of bodies when they are idle
  • Ragdolls supported by direct actor bone manipulation

Sound

  • 2D Sound
  • 3D Sound
  • Streaming Sound
  • DirectSound, DirectMusic, DirectShow support
  • Allows to make unique sound atmosphere for your games
  • Hardware/Software Sound mixing
  • Unlimited simultaneous sounds
  • MP3, WAV, MOD, SM3, IT, MID, RMI, SGT support
  • 3D Sound support that can be linked easily to a 3d world
  • Effects (reverb, echo, etc.) to give more depth to your sounds
  • Movie playing (all formats) for cut-scenes

Licensing

License Name Price in $US Source Code Included?
Proprietary Free No
Watermark displayed at all times during rendering; commercial distribution disallowed
Proprietary $150.00 No
Allows distribution of a single software product
Proprietary $500.00 No
Allows distribution of an unlimited number of software products

Write a Review

Showing 26-50 of 71

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

Poor documentation

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 JustAnotherUser Aug 05, 2005 at 00:38

The software looks good, but the documentation consists largly of just a list of API objects/methods/events, and there are a few sample projects. It sorely needs a "How to" book written for it.

The support was responsive, but I cannot say the same for the user community. When I joined a discussion on their website about the need for more documentation, I was insulted again and again, then the thread was deleted.

Personally, I prefer software with better docs. However, if you are already proficient with 3D programming, this may be the API for you. :)

If you can decifer this, then you will be fine because this is what you get for documentation: http://www.truevision3d.com/tvdna/

Update 4-21:
------------
Buyer Beware: This product requires previous 3D programming experience. It's not "easy" or "simple" as they advertise. And there is no how-to book for beginners.

The company said their users didn't need more basic documentation. I said: "If you had better docs, then you would have more customers, experienced and beginners," but that was met with blank stares. :|

Update 4-22
------------
My point is, you will not find many bad words spoken about the software. :)

When I said positive things, I was praised, but when I asked where the documentation was, I was attacked.

Update 8-4
------------
I have been watching their website, and several other people have asked the same question on their forum: "Where are the docs?" and been told the same answer: "Just learn it".

Still no docs to speak of for new users.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

Very Good

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 jimi Jul 17, 2005 at 18:41

Our team uses TV3D SDK 6 almost a year and i find it a very good 3d engine. The collision detection is very good, nice animations and graphs. The rendering takes much time. Shadows are good.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

Great!

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 Voltare Jun 09, 2005 at 07:05

This is a good engine for hobbyists, like me, if you want to get your " feet wet" with coding.The features are good, it comes with loads of documentation, including at least 2 different sites with information for users,and, my own little test for each engine, trying to open it with dev-c++, not many non-ansi coding probs.....support is good as well.....

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

Cool Engine

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 Lunz88 May 26, 2005 at 13:39

I really like TrueVision because the new Version ( 6.5 ) who is still in Beta will be packed full state of the Art Features. The Engine supports a lot of Languages, that's also a very good thing about it. What I also liked was that the Engine is freely available for everyone. You can test it out as long as you want and if you like the Engine, you buy it and publish your Game. The only thing is that I miss a Level Editor. I tried before the A6 Engine ( which is also very good ) and I liked the Level Editor, but not the Scripting Language. TrueVision supports Visual Basic and thats better than 3D Gamestudio. Also the Performance is faster. If TV had a Level Editor, I would have rated it at the Feature List 5/5 , but now only 4/5

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

Not sure why all the rave reviews

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 Ciperl May 24, 2005 at 03:29

Testing out this engine got me wondering how in the world this engine got such rave reviews. And today I just found out that currently there is no networking in the engine, that it is in a closed alpha test right now. For someone looking to make a game that would have a bit of multiplayer, TV3D is not going to cut it. I have begun to wonder if people reviewing this engine on this site are beta testers and are actually reviewing unreleased versions of this engine. Because what I downloaded is nothing like what people are describing in the glowing reviews. Plus, I tried looking around for any finished and shipped games with this engine and could not find any, yet still it receives glowing reviews... I'm confused.

In today's day and age when multiplayer is almost a must-have for any game, I will have to wait until TV3D actually has a solid networking aspect to their engine, because currently this is an incomplete package. Currently the documentation really sucks, though I'm told that this will be fixed with a future version. Plus, I find it funny that one of the developers tossed off the fact that TV3D renders slowly and has no networking and simply gave his engine 5 stars across the board.

And my final gripe is that it only supports Windows. As an independent developer, cross platform support is vital for me to reach the widest audience possible.

Ahh well, I guess I'll wait till 6.5 is released. I just wished many more of these "glowing" reviews would actually talk about the current version and not a future version that is not released. This current version is lacking but I know that the developers will fix things over time, but right now, the engine is not ready.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

simply amazing.

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 Anti_Gremlin May 22, 2005 at 05:46

Having used this engine for a number of years now, TV3D has only gotten better and better. With 6.5 soon to go open beta, the functionality that is given to you is bar none the best I have seen in awhile.

The community is absolutely great, not only are they very helpful when it comes to questions, but they provide lot's insight through the WIKI.

One of the other things I love most about this product is that the dev team actually get involved with the community, I personally talk to the dev's nearly every day. and we bounce back ideas, and they even add in features that you think will be useful for others. Now I don't know of many other products that offer that kind of service!

And the best thing it has to offer is the support for multiple languages. Be it VB,VB.NET, C#, C++, Delphi, Java. All with the same functions so you can port code over from one to the other with little to no hassle.

Overall I have to easily give it 5/5.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

The best out there

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 TheTroll May 22, 2005 at 05:14

I was a newbie when it came to 3d programming. I didn't have a clue even what a mesh was. The Truevision3D engine not only speeds up development time but it helps you learn what you are doing. The tutorials walk you through the basics and help you get started on your way to learning how to become a 3d programmer. This engine is not a game engine. This engine is a 3d engine, you need to do the game programming yourself. In my case that is a good thing because I am working on a 3d molecular modeling program and a 3d game. This engine lets me do both.

The communtiy is amazing and answer all of my dumb questions. You can get help on both the forums and in IRC chat. In both places people are friendly and helpful. I have many times chatted with the developers in getting help with a problem. Where else can you chat dirrectly with the development team.

I would suggest this engine to anyone that really wants to make progress on thier project.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

Excellent

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 Darkfire May 18, 2005 at 20:48

Quite simply, this is a powerful, fast, and easy to use engine. Whether you're a hobbyist or a professional, this is THE engine.

Features - Just you wait until 6.5 is publicly released with awesome features like pixel shaders, Newton physics, landscape multitexturing...

Ease of Use - Very easy to use with your choice of language (c++, c#, delphi, VB6, VB.net). Engine use is very straightforward and intuitive.

Stability & Performance - Extremely stable AND fast.

Support - The community absolutely HAS to be the most supportive one out there. Tutorials and Samples also come for all supported languages and are quite thorough. However I give TV3D -1 on support because of the lacking documentation.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

very easy AND fast O_O

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 Dragoon May 18, 2005 at 08:04

well, i came to TV3D with just some beginning vb .net under my belt. i learned the whole 3d thing with tv3d, just by looking at the docs.

after i had some 3d experience, i started trying out other engines, but i haven't come across any engine that's this easy to use, supports .NET AND is this fast

i don't have a license, so i use the (some say it's slow 0_0) free 6.2 SDK, wich is fast already.

the 6.5 will simply 0wn every low-cost 3d engine i know

also i like it that i can choose whatever language i like (wich would be vb .net)

summary:
very easy and fast

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

Possibly the Best?

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 dolomite May 17, 2005 at 16:55

- The fact that this is one of the few 3D engines out there that supports .NET and C# already makes towards the top of my list. The fact that it's actually STABLE puts at the very top.
- Not only is it stable, but it's quite fast and fully featured up to date (this is based on 6.5 specs).
- Although not quite for beginners but it is very easy to use if you're an intermediate to experience programmer. You can actually figure this out as compared to the Torque engine. But don't try this engine if you're still a beginner to programming and 3D concepts.
- Must keep in mind that this is 3D graphics engine, not a full game development tool. Your are not limited to what type of app your're bulding, but you are not handed many special tools to help build your game. This allows for more flexibily but takes more development time as compared to those rapid development game engine(Blitz3d, 3DGS, DB..etc..). Don't expect for someone to hold your hand and teach you how to develop a game - if you're going this route.
- Documentation is nothing more than a reference help file - with little example code, most are in VB. Could use some more work in that department.
- Has a lot of detailed tutorials - in the form of commented projects - which doesn't really give you much of a choice but forces you to experiment and learn from. This is actually more effective in the helping the learning curve.
- Deployment on other machines is not quite addressed clearly.
- Pricing is very good for an engine of this quality.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

Interested in this engine? READ THIS!

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 Venn_Syii May 03, 2005 at 21:58

For those of you looking for a complete engine this is the one!!! Here are it's benefits... read 'em!

1: SUPPORT

THE SUPPORT FOR THIS ENGINE IS UNPARALLELED ANYWHERE!!! PLAIN AND SIMPLE!!! This is hands down one of the best features of the engine! Those of you that have used an engine know how confusing it can be. The developement team is available via IRC, email, and forum! If you have a question about the egnine you can talk to the developers directly via IRC! No waiting for forum answers or email answers! If you can't get on to IRC ( due to work or no free time ) the forums are EXTREMELY active and post's are answered by other members as well as the developers in a timely fashion. Most of the questions you need answers to are answered in previous posts. If you don't think support is a feature of an engine you should think again! This engine needs the rating of 6 - "Absolutely astounding" in the support catagory!

2a: COST

Look at all the other engines in this list/database. Find the one that even comes close to this engine and you're looking at a 6 digit license fee minimum! Then tack on support fees and who knows what you could end up paying. TrueVision 3d is $150 USD total said and done for a single product license. Very affordable... don't want to produce a product, but want to create a game that you and your friends can play? It's FREE then!

2b: CAPABILITIES

When you have the engine that compares to this one from 2a, I bet it still lacks features of this engine!
Imbedded shader support that automatically switches depending on the graphics card in use.
The landscape engine uses a LOD algorithm that's absolutely astounding! VERY FAST AND SIMPLE TO USE!
There are really too many capabilities of this engine to list here... stop by the website to see some of it's effects in use!

Take it from someone who has used the other engines, those with the 6 digit license fee... TrueVision 3D is one the best engines on the market today!

Laters,
Venn

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

Mazter Duh Rayon

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 RayonMazter Apr 24, 2005 at 23:30

Big summary isn't required. Basic programming skills are all that are needed to use this engine. And basic skills in what language? you choose, it supports all the most used languages (including .net's).

If there is an engine out there that has more features, more 'ease of use', 'stability' and 'support', then by all means share it so i can give this engine a thumb down :-D

There should also be a rating for price, ...as its FREE and allows you to use it for personal use until you decide to go commercial.

last of all, these are comments coming from a 6.2 user, let alone the 6.5 version is supposed to drop your jaw to China (if you live in north america).

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

Excellent engine !!

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 Copland Apr 22, 2005 at 20:11

Programming a 3D game is very simple and fast,it's the best engine i have used at this time.

==Features==
Shaders support,texture splatting for really good terrain and many other functions...

==Ease of use==
Very simple and support of the managed code C#,VB.Net.

==Stability==
I currently have a project of more than 4000 lines of code and that functions perfectly.

==Support==
The support is really fast, because there is the possibility of connecting to a chatroom with several users of tv3d.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

Very good

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 davidkclark Apr 22, 2005 at 16:27

This is a well written 'easy to use' engine.

There is unfortunately a tremendous lack of documentation - even for a seasoned developer. And there is next to none available for the 3d graphics newbie. The engine itself though is very well organised and it is not too hard (with the forums and other user provided documentation) for an experienced programmer to work out what can and can't be done and how to do it.

Indeed I have just successfully run a project with an intern who had _no_ previous 3d graphics experience but a little programming (c++) experience. In 14 weeks he put together a great prototype using this engine. Dynamically loaded terrain and objects, shadows, multiple light sources, textures, bumpmapping. All in c# and even unoptimised by another coder he is getting 80FPS at 1024x768 with what amounts to several million triangles in the scene.

I have seen an dabbled with the 6.5 beta and it looks very promising, lots of interesting stuff there. As someone else has mentioned - you can always fall back to directX if you want to do something that the engine does not support.

Features: Has just about everything we wanted from an engine. New shading method, physics and other new features coming in 6.5 will probably make this a 5.

Ease of use: -1 for bad documentation otherwise 5plus.

Stab & Perf: I was surprised by the performance. Stability is (so far for us) unquestioned.

Support: makes up for a lack of docs. Company seems very willing to support a community based support effort.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

TV3D is the best step to professionality

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 Sir_Lantis Apr 21, 2005 at 14:12

This engine supports so many features, that you cant count them. You get nearly 20 tutorials for each major programming language (NET too!!) (vb, vb.net, delphi, c++, c#) all well documented (it even tells you how a game works indeed (set of images etc). Its features will grow when 6.5 comes out (beta is available for customers already who bought a license for 150$)

You should be advanced in your programming language, then there wont be something in the path to your next great game. In the documentation you will find all commands and sometimes a sample of code.

It runs fine on my machine... didnt expect 700fps of my one, and it never crashed (even if there are some commands where you find an advice not to use them too often to ensure stability)

The community helps where it can (but doesnt write the game for you ;) ) and a Wiki has been put onto web for further information. Two IRC channels are always living with an amount of people online (who not only code, but invite others to their UT servers)

Take a look and try around with it and you will see its value. 150$ are only a few bucks for such a powerful engine. And upgrading to multiple for another 350$ is possible too.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

Beware: this is t3h future!

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 Newborn Apr 21, 2005 at 11:59

Intro
=====
I'm a long term user of Truevision3D, I am what we call a "veteran". I also played around with other engines during the past couple of years as I thought I could find better engines elsewhere. I tried MANY engines, from the easy ones to the big engines like LithTech, and you'll find in this post what I have to say about Truevision3D.

Support
=======
What strikes me the most is the Truevision3D team support. If you have a serious problem, you just post on the forums and you get an answer within couple of hours, or, if you can't wait, you can hop onto the chat where people meet and exchange information with other users.

Features / Easy of use
======================
I'm a registered user of the current engine and I'm also a beta tester of the next release of Truevision3D version 6.5. the next version, boy oh boy, this is going t3h engine on the scene! Shaders, A* path, physics, multi-textured landscapes, you name it. It is already VERY powerful as we speak. Newbies should be aware of this: if you don't know how to swim, don't jump in the running water of the river or you'll drown. That is: learn how to code before attempting to make your first project with this engine. Truevision3D supports many coding languages, so chose a language to learn and know it well.

Documentation
=============
As we speak, compared to other engines, Truevision3D lacks documentation. As we speak, compared to other engines, Truevision3D has way more tutorials than needed. The difference between the two is simple: documentation takes a user by the hand and tells him what to put where. Tutorials (working samples with code source) forces the user to learn how the engine works. Its harder to learn with tutorials, but in the long run, trust me, you'll be happy that you learned the hard way.

Performance
===========
Stability has never been an issue with Truevision3D, even if we go back 5 years ago. The main developer of the engine is always taking care of testing the new features included in the engine before releasing an update. As for the performance, its darn fast. The landscape is one of the most impressive object of the engine and more is to come with the next generation of the engine (version 6.5).

Conclusion
==========
If you're a hobbyist and want to initiate yourself with the 3D world, I would say that you will do good without buying a license, as long as you can handle the watermark. If you're a serious developer and want to complete a project within prescribed delays, I would say that this is the engine that will help you out making your dream come true as the internal structure of the engine makes your 3 lines of code worth 150 (try coding a car with physics with any other engine and you'll understand what I mean). If you're a project manager and looking for an engine for the next release of your multimillion product, then I would say that you HAVE to try the next generation of this engine (you're granted access to the Beta testing when you buy a license). This is engine is powerful. This engine is going to be even more powerful with the next version but will you able to handle such power? Get in your swimsuit, I think its time for you to jump in and see for yourself.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

Superb

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 Slider Apr 20, 2005 at 20:08

One of the best engines in its category.
It's Easy to use, it's fast, it's flexible(supporting several languages) and best of all, it uses the newest technology currently around.

An absolutely recommended engine.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

My Review

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 Locke_Cole Apr 20, 2005 at 20:02

Flexible, easy to use, developers are a bunch of nice people. It has all the features, and is powerful.
The best 3d engine i ever used.
The 6.5 version is awesome and brings the level of this engine to a whole new height. It can actually compete with the big boys like Doom3 and HL2 now. And all that with support for languages such as VB6 and Delphi, amazing!

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

I am freaking impressed!

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 Jack_Morgan Apr 20, 2005 at 19:59

I stumbled across this engine when I was looking for another which my friend suggested. I said, "what the heck!" and started to try it out. I was amazed by how intuitive this engine was. I am by no means a smart man, but being able to use this engine immediately made me feel like I was. Kudos to all of you for this wonderful engine!

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

Even an artist can use this engine.

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 foamy Apr 20, 2005 at 18:46

Well where to start...

I've wanted to make a 3d game for quite some time now however the stumbling block has always been the 3d engine. I am an artist first and coding is WAY down on the list. After buying Torque, trying Ogre and drinking heavily I almost gave until the day I was trying to google info on an Ogre bug and came across Truevision's forums. Instantly interested; downloaded the SDK and started playing with it. In minutes the samples were working. Decided to buy a license and get into the beta program. TV3D 6.5 is a godsend for RAD development of 3d games. The engine is clean, easy to use and is ridiculously fast.

While the documentation is in need of a revamp (which it’s getting right now) the real documentation is the "search" button in the forums and constant IRC based online community. The developers are prompt and professionally with all issues/requests. They have made my dream of making a 3d game possible with a very small team.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

TrueVision3D is very good

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 Xoat Apr 20, 2005 at 09:42

I think truevision really deserves these mark's:
The New 6.5 Engine, has so many features, Every kind of mapping you would want to use, easy to use meshs, terrain, every is there.

Ease of use: YOU CAN USE IT WITH VB!!

Stability & Preformance: Great.

Support: Great support, good tutorials(if you know how to program!), only the community likes to flame ppl

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

Excellent engine

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 almaris Apr 19, 2005 at 15:16

Unparalelled support, excellent documentation. Great community. Definately worth the buck fifty in my book. I would recommend this engine to anyone looking to do 3d development without all the hassle and with all the features you could want.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

Great Tool

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 Shawn_G Apr 19, 2005 at 02:46

The Developers are great, they help out all the time.

and the tool is simple and easy to use.

The tool supports texture splatting..

and IT IS GREAT.. Makes terrain look real.

not to many afordable tools can do that!

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

TrueVision, you betcha!

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 aeon Apr 19, 2005 at 02:45

This is THE best indie game engine out there. The SDK is full of tutorials and samples to get you up and running in no time. The Forums are chalked full of people, like myself, who can help the new developer handle the low learning curve of the TV3D API.

Plus, the new version boasts to compete with the industry standards complete with pixel/vertex shaders, GPU shaders made in Cg or ATI's RenderMonkey.

If you are looking for the most powerfull engine for the least amount of cost. THIS IS THE ENGINE FOR YOU!

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

Power and Flexibility

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 darqSHADOW Mar 31, 2005 at 06:28

(quoted)
I tried it for some time but quickly walked away. Its hard for beginners because no scripting interface is provided. You have to program everything in a language like Delphi or VC++. Also, theres no network (even simple engines like Blitz and DB have network) and it renders very slow. Another turn down is the overpriced license model.
(end quote)

TV3D is not meant for newbie programmers. You must be able to program in any of the multiple languages available for you. (VB, VB.Net, Delphi, C#, C++, etc) This not only grants you greater power and flexibility, but also is much faster.

The license model is very flexible and cheap, with licenses starting at $150 for a commercial product.

Our documentation issues are being addressed with the 6.5 version coming shortly. We not only will have a complete API reference, but also hundreds of pages of information to get a user started using the SDK. There also will be multiple tutorials in every language we support, including a generic framework to get you started quickly.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

Suggest Edits

Last edited Dec 28, 2011 at 13:17

Are your the owner of this engine? Let us know to be able to update it, and reply to reviews, and other benefits.