Torque Game Engine

Engine default

Website:
http://www.garagegames.co...

Developer:
GarageGames

Launched:
Not specified

Status:
Active

Supported Platforms:
Windows, Linux, Mac OS X

Languages Written In:
C/C++

Languages Supported:
C/C++

Graphics APIs:
OpenGL, DirectX

Rating:
  (98 reviews)

Editor:
None (be one!)

The Torque Game Engine (TGE) is a fully featured AAA game engine with award winning multi-player network code, seamless indoor/outdoor rendering engines, state of the art skeletal animation, drag and drop GUI creation, a built in world editor, and a C-like scripting language. Unlike most commercial game engines, as part of the low cost license, you receive all C++ source code to the engine, so you can make any additions you need for your game.

Supported Features

General

  • Object-Oriented Design
  • Save/Load System
  • Other
  • Multi-Platform and a journaling and Integrated hierarchical profiler
  • Efficient memory manager with extensive debugging features; Resource Manager and a File/Stream IO
  • Unicode international strings support
  • Fixed-function
  • Render-to-Texture
  • Fonts
  • GUI
  • True spherical distance fogging (for terrain, buildings)
  • Spherical distance clipping (for terrain, buildings)

Lighting

  • Per-vertex
  • Lightmapping
  • Animated lightmaps
  • Control lighting via World Editor
  • Vertex and multi-pass lighting

Shadows

  • Projected planar
  • Shadow Volume Projected object shadows (clipped against the environment)

Texturing

  • Basic
  • Multi-texturing
  • Mipmapping Multi-pass texturing with detail and decal support

Meshes

  • Mesh Loading
  • Skinning
  • Progressive
  • Tessellation
  • Continuous level of detail based on a progressive mesh algorithm
  • Damage and collision detail level
  • Supports Milkshape, 3DStudio Max, and Blender plug-ins, including an exporter and helper objects

Scene Management

  • Portals
  • Occlusion Culling
  • LOD
  • Portal based interiors with seamless integration with the terrain engine. Buildings can be instanced, placed, manipulated and scaled with the world editor
  • Spatial Database
  • Quark and WorldCraft converter and lighting
  • Support for Cartography Shop and almost all .map-compatible brush editors

Animation

  • Inverse Kinematics
  • Skeletal Animation
  • Animation Blending
  • Supports, bone, mesh, texture bitmap, texture coor. and visibilty animation
  • Mesh vertex deformation and multi-bone mesh skeletal animation
  • Simple interface to multi-sequence animation manager

Terrain

  • Rendering
  • CLOD
  • Continuous, seemless, LOD mesh generation and Aggregated tile mip-mapping
  • Dynamically generated blend tiles and Altitude based fog banks
  • Seamless integration with the interior engine

Physics

  • Basic Physics
  • Collision Detection
  • Rigid Body
  • Vehicle Physics Built-in physics engine

Networking

  • Client-Server
  • Award winning client/server architecture, which uses UDP and TCP
  • Bit level stream, message, and string packing
  • Uses the optimal Notified Delivery Protocol
  • Packet stream and Object ghost manager with partial object updates

Artificial Intelligence

  • Finite State Machines
  • Scripted Highly customizable through TorqueScript

Sound

  • 2D Sound
  • 3D Sound
  • Streaming Sound
  • SFX/Music driver using OpenAL
  • 3D sound support; panning, volume, doppler, cones
  • Multi-channel prioritized SFX manager
  • Built-in Theora video codec playback

Tools & Editors

  • World Editor allows you to manage terrain generation and object placement as well as Construct, place, size, scale and rotate objects visually
  • Terrain Editor, Terrain Generator, and GUI Editor.

Scripting

  • C++ like syntax
  • Local and Remote Debugging
  • Bytecode-compiled

Special Effects

  • Environment Mapping
  • Lens Flares
  • Billboarding
  • Particle System
  • Sky
  • Water
  • Decals
  • Fog
  • Integrated particle system with scripting engine.
  • Supports texture and scale animation as well as particle generators which can emit multiple particle types at once
  • Layered volumetric fog
  • A water engine that supports dynamic waves and multi-pass wave crest and shoreline textures

Licensing

License Name Price in $US Source Code Included?
MIT Free Yes
https://github.com/GarageGames/Torque3D

Write a Review

Showing 51-75 of 98

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Mac meh

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 aarku Sep 08, 2006 at 21:06

This product is heavily advertised to Mac developers, they hand out shiny booklets at conferences with demo cds, and low and behold a lot of Mac developers buy it. But hardly anyone actually uses it on Mac OS X. I certainly don't know of anyone but I'm positive they do exist. The price point is set low enough so a segment of people will buy it on impulse, where if they got to see what Torque really has to offer for Mac I think it'd be different. Save your $100 and look around for a better product.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Torque Game Engine - using it for making terrains

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 leeds4kiddos Aug 09, 2006 at 12:31

I have used Torque Game Engine to make terrains for use in another TGE-built game (following guidelines and not mentioning it). Now whilst I have not used some of the terrain editing features, the ones that I have used have been really good, and easy to use. It has yet to crash on me. I have given the suppot 3 as I have NEVER asked for support, because for what I'm doing, I don't need support.

The terrains that I make are used in the game I have mentioned to create new levels, as most people are used to the old levels.

Whilst I have not asked for support, the menbers of the other game (which I will not name) are very eager to make this game more modern, so to speak

It has most of the features I need (though it would be good to have 2+ levels of terrain, very good for the Theme Park mods I like building)

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Torque very good engine , except the documentation

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 philippe_c Jul 03, 2006 at 20:42

I used in the past a lot of language/tools/engine in order to create a simple game.

My last test was with cristal space : may be a good engine , but no network support.
I can take like that all the engines one by one and found issues with all of them.

The main issue with TORQUE is the documentation : it is really a pity.
I know the answer : buy the book "3d game programming" .I got it ( illegal way) it is a pdf with 800 pages : same issues , a pity ... very very generalist, no enough detail on api.

If you are patient and try to understand the demo , you can use TORQUE in efficient way . On TDN ( wiki for torque owner) you can find sometime usefull documentation. But i repeat it is a pity : very poor documentation provided by garagegames.com.

Anyway Torque is very complete engine with all the functionnalities that i try to develop with other languages during 2 years.
Really the best choice today : you can use this tool NATIVELY to play to the same game with several players by network... It is the only one on the market at this period of time to provide this feature without specific development !

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful

TGE: For $100, you really can't get better...

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 TBushby May 08, 2006 at 17:13

Torque Game Engine
------------------------------------

The Torque Game Engine is by far the best ever games engine I have come across with a price tag of $100. That small amount gives you aload of features, with an easy to use, stable game engine that has very good support.

- Features
TGE has alot of features. That said, it isn't a premade "MMO" builder that many think these sorts of game engines are. What it is, is a stable game engine for someone with knowledge of programming in a common language like C++ (or PHP, I moved on from there) to create good, solid games.
If the feature you want isn't supported in the engine, assuming you have the required knowledge; you can add it in yourself, because you get the full C++ engine source!

- Ease of use
While TGE might seem daunting to the average user at first glance, on further inspection it isn't. TGE has all the features, as said above, to create many styles of games.
You don't even have to know C++ to create a game with it. TGE features it's own scripting language; TorqueScript, which is really easy to pickup if you are a good programmer or scripter.

- Stability and Performance
TGE is a very stable game engine, with several new stable builds. The newest is TGE 1.4, which, while having alot of minor bugs (you can find easy fixes in the forums and resources), is a fully featured new release.

- Support
There are a wealth of resources, tutorials and the new TDN (Torque Developer Network) to help the aspiring game developer out. The GarageGames' forums are an easy way to get an answer to your question(s) if you post in a sensible and understanding manner.

While some people say "oh that was a waste of money" it probably means that either, they thought TGE was something that it is not, because they did not do enough research, or because they did not fully spend the time to understand and learn TGE.
I've been working with TGE since around late 2004, and T2D (a 2d games engine by GarageGames featuring the same scripting language) since late 2005. These have been my best games related and games development related purchases ever!

The art pipeline may not be the best, but there are alot of official and non-official versions of exporters for many common graphics programs, such as Max, Blender or even MilkShape.

If your not satisfied with the graphic quality of TGE, or you want something more, I recommend you have a look at TSE - Torque Shader Engine. A visually improved version of Torque, with a redone graphics layer.

If you're thinking about buying a game engine, and have programming experience, then TGE will probably be the game engine for you.
If you don't have much programming experience, or non at all, find a book or tutorials on a language such as C++ or PHP, and learn how to use it. You can apply the style of programming to TorqueScript and the engine source code. :)

Thanks for reading,
Tom.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful

terrain

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 roughboy Apr 11, 2006 at 06:07

here's a post on the official forums regarding the subject of terrain size (TSE supports unlimited terrains):

http://www.garagegames.com/mg/forums/result.thread.php?qt=28950

as far as the GUI goes it's a bit non-standard in some ways because it's custom, but it's also identical on my Mac and PC, which is wonderful. get used to it and you won't mind so much. you'll be too busy making a game.

and yes, the forums are superb.

a further note on the pc-mac thing: not only do the "missions" i've created with torque run identically and immediately on both my iBook and my Dell, but all the tools for development are identical on both. if you're a cross-platform type of person, you'll love it for that.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Good professional engine...

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 Zipo Oct 22, 2005 at 11:06

Two years ago I purchased this engine with idea of making a small fps game in short period of time....oh man I was wrong. This engine is scary when you look at first but after a while I familiarized with the engine and I have to admit this is one of the best engines I worked with.

Community is exactly that a Community (the best I have had chance to work with).

It's true that you don't get all the features "out of the box" but that's a good thing, and it's realy easy to implement new features (with some knowledge and help from the community) which are free by the way.

The bigest problem for newbies is that TGE is maybe too professional. Forget about clicking the game together, that's just not possible with any of the engines listed here (for commercial game anyway)

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful

a Good 3D game engine...

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 broken_sword Sep 29, 2005 at 07:13

4 Stars for feature and Perfomance
--------------------------------------
It has lots and lots of decent features for it's price.

2 stars for Ease of Use and Support
------------------------------------
The official documentations of TGE is online, need to log into internet to access them all. Tutorials are scattered all over forums. Most people are too lazy to give explanation of simple or basic things, most people in forum assumes that whoever logged into forum has at least 15 years experience of programming and at least 10 years of Torque scripting experience.

If you want your game to look visually more stunning, you need to buy more additional packs, like Lighting, and Torque Shader Engine.

Final thoughts
--------------
Despite it's drawbacks (documentations and tutorials), it's a great engine, for it's price; you'll get lots of features. I started my project with Torque and I'm going to finish it with Torque. Learning curve may be quite a challenged for some people.

I believe in years to come this TGE will be a great game engine with proper documentations. For now, let yourself struggle finding documentations and tutorials scattered in the forum.

Kind Regards,
broken_sword

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Great Indie Engine

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 digitalblur Sep 21, 2005 at 17:52

I havent gotten too deep into the engine but the community is great and the support is excellent. You can get a response on almost any question asked in the community. They are experienced and if you have a dedication and patience to learning the engine you have many mentors in the community. It is a learning curve but if you are serious about doing an indie game you cant go wrong with this engine as long as you have the dedication. Not for whiners.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Torque? WOW! Its cool! ;D

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 rwrz Sep 07, 2005 at 15:20

Ae... pra comecar, sou brasileiro.. mexo com a torque.. a um tempinho.. e sei q o negoci oeh BOM e BARATO! ;D

O codigo dah torque esta começando a fikar organizado, caso vc queira mexer nela... ( q eh mtooo importante )...

Realmente ela nao tem TUDOO q uma engine deve ter, mas TEM MTA COISA! Dependendo do game q vc quer fazer... ela eh mtooo facil de se mexer... se for um AAA, ela eh perfeita mesmo.. simples ateh D+...
Corrida? Depende tb.. se vc for criativo, eh facil... ;D

E por ai vai... Realtime? Strategia? Tb tem erro nao...

Ahh.. se quizerem gastar pouco.. e com grandes recursos.. e pouco tempo... eh ELA! ;D

Now in english.. ;P

This a very, veryyy good engine.. faster and with a good Frame Rate... why not spent 100$ bucks? Go now! but it! hehehe

Good support too! ;D

Thanks

RW

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Unbeatable Value

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 bobizam Sep 01, 2005 at 07:10

I'm at the hobbyist level, and TGE has been my most well spent $100 ever.

I've got countless hours of enjoyment digging through the source, learning how a real game engine works, and will continue getting that enjoyment for a long time to come.

If I have had a problem, I can almost always find an answer or at least a point in the right direction by searching the forums / resources. My impression of people that complain about the lack of documentation / complexity are that if they struggle to search some forums they have more important skills to work on than trying to make a game.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Big rewards for those who put in the "wrench time"!

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 Jeremy_Alessi Sep 01, 2005 at 06:24

Torque's a great engine if you've got a good work ethic. That's what it comes down to. Everything in life is equivalent exchange. If you put in the "wrench time" you will be appropriately rewarded.

I haven't seen a single other game development tool in the same price range that's produced games as successful as the one's with Torque behind them.

Do you see any Blitz games on Xbox, PC, Mac, Linux, and other platforms? DarkBASIC games? Cipher games? Anything else other than custom engine games?

Simply put you don't see any other 3D games made by indie teams going as far as Torque games. That's what I use to measure a game development tool. I started out making PC games with DarkBASIC, then I switched over to Blitz3D which was a move up ... more published games were created with it and it was a more dynamic and stable tool. Aerial Antics used Blitz3D ... but now I'm using Torque because by comparison Blitz is limiting. Torque will only limit you if you haven't reached that level of the hierarchy. If you can't do what you want with Torque then back off to something easier until you get a handle on your skills or suck it up and break a sweat for once!

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Great Engine and Community

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 Cozz Aug 31, 2005 at 14:46

This engine is the best purchase I have ever done. Sure it has a fairly steep learning curve but you have a real AAA game Engine that professionals use. The Art Pipeline has been a stumbling block in the past but as of late has really been improving. GG recognizes where it needs to improve and they are doing it. The network code rocks. It seems to me that the only people that complain about it are the people that don't put the effort into learning the Engine. It isn't a "Game Maker" it is a Game Engine. It is as powerful as you make it. If you want to have cutting edge graphics you can get in on the EA release of Torque Shader Engine. Simply is a the must have Game Engine IMO if you serious about creating a commercial game or want to learn what that involves.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful

A great, affordable engine.

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 staeryatz Aug 31, 2005 at 07:38

I'm an amateur programmer, trying to rise to become a professional game developer.

I have purchashed the TGE about 18 months ago, and tried adopting it, but didn't get very far the first time around. I was spoiled by my previous experience with the Unreal engine, for which I have made dozens of creations.

Although the Unreal Editor and Unrealscript are both very high-level and extremely easy to use, you cannot get the license or C++ source code unless you're a millionaire with money to spare (plus extra for each Linux and Mac). I have spent a couple of years with the Unreal engine, making free content, hoping that I may get noticed one day and land a job at a fancy game company, but there's just too much competition out there. So that was a dead end.

Recently I've gone back to the Torque engine and giving it another go. It's going to be a little more work than I'm used to, but if making my own video game means I have to get my hands dirty, then it'll all be worth it in the end.

It's great that TGE will run on Linux and Mac, as I've used Linux for the past 6 years, and I'd love to see more great games for it, and Mac as well.

Being an open source programmer for the past 4 years, I love the fact that many of the supporting/suggested/recommended tools for developing content for TGE are open source programs. I'd imagine that in-depth programs like Quark and Blender can only be appreciated on a level such as mine, by open source programmers themselves.

If there's any paragraph worth reading in this review, it would be this one. For the price of the TGE, you are getting a lot more out of it than what you pay for (and that is an understatement). The Torque Game Engine has all the features I am looking for in an engine, and what seems to be a great community and environment to develop my first game in.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Excellent engine for the price

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 alanlynott Aug 26, 2005 at 12:34

I am an experienced programmer and architect, but new to games programming which I have always had an interest in since programming my own rubbish games on my ZX spectrum as a young lad.

I recently started experimenting with writing games on various platforms (including J2ME, which is painful) until a friend recommended T2D. Now we are both writing our own games and sharing tips and having a ball.

The engine is very well featured, the API fairly easy to understand, and the forums make up for the relatively poor documentation (as somebody who has written libraries and frameworks myself I understand the imperitive to add new features rather than write decent documentation for the existing features).

My only main gripe regarding the documentation is that GG do not make it available for download assuming everyone will be online, which is annoying for me because with a fulltime job, wife and 2 young kids, I do all of my game programming on the train commuting to and from work.

Still, I am very pleased with this engine, and can't believe the price for all the features. I did experiment with 2 other engines but I found Torque's my particular favourite.

To put this in perspective I am written a very simple game in a matter of weeks, (which looks awful as I am not an artist) but I am having fun adding various types of pathfinding and AI behaviours to my enemy bots.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful

good engine

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 reaperbv Aug 17, 2005 at 02:53

I want to tell about artifical intellligent. I want to cusstommize the engine. The engine have to option: first/third persion view. With third persion view how can I change camera and how can add pathfinding in the game

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful

T2D Early Adopter: Pretty good, and good support

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 taumeson Aug 13, 2005 at 07:38

OK, so this isnt a review for Torque Game Engine, but rather it's new 2D child, "T2D".

T2D is a 2D only version of it's parrent, and is being optimized towards that effect.

It is currently in early adopter, so there are rough areas, most notibly around performance.

However I have to definatly say that this company (GarageGames) makes a genuine effort to help the would-be developers make the most of their products.

Sure, they cant hold your hand, and honestly, the documentation needs improvement (they are working on this, but as it's not finished i do not take the "working on it" status into consideration when writing this review)

I am happy with my purchase of T2D, it IS in early adopter, but i am very happy with the community support, and reasonablly happy with the employee support (i wish i could have someone at my beck-and-call, but dont we all)

This company has made "real" games with their product in the past, and as such their knowlege in this area should not be discounted.

There are areas that can/should be improved, but like anything, this takes time. And I see them working towards these goals.

-Jason Swearingen

PS: i hope the admins of this site delete the "review" a few posts up who gives everything zero. That is totally unwarrented. (same with everyone who gives 5 across the board)

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful

As good as quake 3 engine... (allmost)

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 teebones Aug 04, 2005 at 22:05

Hello,

This engine is very good, stable, feature "rich". The support is nice too. Very helpful. But there is some funny thing about the engine aswell... it's rather OLD.
It has the look of quake3 powered titles on it. Nothing special anymore. Plain rendering of meshes and actors, particles etc etc etc..
Garagegames is fully into creating the TSE (torque shader engine) to it's final release. This TSE will be the pimped shiny new edition of TGE (torque game engine). It comes with loads of new nice bells and wistles, like all new engines have. This is good.. but....

I have a strange feeling about the way garagegames introduces the TSE. Licensees need to pay for it, to beta test it?!? very strange way of dealing with new features. I see the TSE as an long over due upgrade of the OLD torque engine. So it should be cheap or even free for current licensees to grab a copy of it, and have the license automaticly updraded to this new TSE as it's comes out of beta. New aspirant licensees should pay the full price, thats normal.

I hope GG will put the price down for the TSE for current licensees. Otherwise i'm afraid this engine is doomed to the gray old engines closet.

still the TGE is a good learning and usesfull engine, but as said before.. old by the looks and features nowadays.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Best Engine and Best Price.

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 bob Jun 11, 2005 at 09:30

The team i'm with is working on a Hybrid FPS/RPG MMO

Torque comes with arguably the best networking support already built in. Just this alone will save us months of development time.

All of the additional tools that come with the engine and the community support is really something that you won't find anywhere else.

The ability to upgrade to Torque's Shader engine in the future without to much hassle should also prove very beneficial to us. We will invest time in the TGE for now and then later on down the road we can convert to TSE without to much headaches.

Having a clean upgrade cycle is important when you think about. Investing in another engine may leave you high and dry in a few months.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Excellent

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 fail66 Jun 10, 2005 at 04:41

Still learning all aspects of writing a game. This engine and the community are simply the best out there. Help from the community when needed and great documentation. Keep up the great work.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful

King of the hill for a REASON!

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 mstorer3772 Jun 07, 2005 at 18:20

And that reason? It's simply the best all-around engine available:

Support: Rock-solid, both from the company and the user community. IRC, forums, a wide variety of user-written "how-tos". There's also an introductory book in print, and I understand the author is working on a more advanced volume as well.

Stability & Performance: This engine has been around for quite some time, so the bugs have pretty much been worked out. New code means new bugs, but the community has access to the source, so most bugs don't last long and you can either patch them up yourself or wait for the next dot release (1.4 is at RC1 as of this writing). And if you don't like their collision algorithm (or whatever), roll your own.

Ease of Use: Game development is not for the meak. Too many people think an engine will write their game for them. Ha! TGE gives you a steady foundation to build on.

Features: Graphics, sound, animation, NETWORKING, script, some physics, and a bit of AI. A complete package, if lacking a couple of the high-end bells and whistles (shader support and EAX are lacking for example). It supports Windows, Mac, and Linux out of the box, and I understand there's support for XBox porting for those of you with XBox developers license... I also believe they'll support the XBox 360 when it is released. But you have to already be an XBox developer, which Ain't Cheap.

Going back to the community support thing again, there are a number of community developed "resources" out there to improve the physics, AI, add movie support, scripting languages (python)... all kinds of goodies.

They've recently strapped a Google-box to their site so digging up what you need has become as simple as one could hope.

Licensing: At $100 to get source, it's hard to top. Prior to publishing, you can even play around with script/level editing/art/etc for free. The FPS demo is mod-able.

You aren't required to publish through GG, though many do. If you start making too much money ($250,000 annually), you're required to shell out an extra $495 for the unlimited-revenue license. I think we all hope for that kind of problem.

Upgrade Path: Just about everything you learn about torque applies to the Torque Shader Engine, which is a rewrite of the graphics pipeline to incorporate pixel and vertex shaders. You can also "side-grade" to Torque2D if that's your bag.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Brilliant

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 NuttyMI2 May 31, 2005 at 19:41

Just a brilliant engine to work with.... I learn more and more about game dev every day using it.

And the community is just amazing... their always willing to help you out.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Across the board, one of the best low-barrier engines out there...

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 davebytes May 25, 2005 at 20:14

At only $100 to get in on full source, what more can you ask for? It has a great multiplatform runtime, with full cross platform networking, and some pretty advanced features. And we're just talking the base engine here, not the expansion stuff!

The collision system and basic physics engine is more than enough for most anything you'd want in an FPS engine, but it can obviously be used well beyond the FPS genre. Indoor and rolling outdoor support, skyboxes and large water bodies, lighting effects, particle systems, player characters and vehicular systems ready to go.. just cool.

And, you don't have to be a coder to use it. If you want to be a 'modder', this is a GREAT engine to start with. Rather than a retail product mod, you can own the results, and market your own game. A full scripting system controls the majority of the UI and game logic, and the tools support continues to grow daily/weekly. Win32 has certainly led the way, but Mac and Linux are catching up.

Plus, what other engines out there have such cheap terms for commercial licensing? The ability to 'move up' to a next-gen shader version when you want to? OR, maybe 3D isn't your thing, but 2D that can leverage todays GPU is? The GarageGames folks have you covered.

More than anything else, GG is a REAL company. It's not a massive open-source collaboration, nor a one-man show.

And the engine has shipped successful titles across all platforms, AND a few products have even been 'picked' for console development!

Hard to go wrong, at this price, and with all the features and support.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful

TGE --> The answer to your needs and wants...

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 emaurina May 25, 2005 at 05:42

I've been a happy owner of the Torque Game Engine (TGE) since 2001. In that time, I have found that:

- It has everything I could need already:
-- an efficient networking engine,
-- a highly evolved 3D rendering pipeline,
-- 2D & 3D sound support,
-- ready-made GUI controls,
-- a plethora of utility code,
-- a scripting engine with a familiar and deep access to the engine core,
-- embedded content manipulation and placement tools,
-- tools and elements ready-made for demo creation,
-- built-in profiling and debugging tools (including cross network debugging),
-- full (and expandable) feature set of 'game elements',
-- much more...

- The engine is flexible, powerful, and tunable.

- The rabbit hole is deep, but you only need to go as far as you want and are comfortable. Out-of-the box, TGE is ready to make games. Very little if any C++ coding is needed to make your game. In other words, you can focus on content creation, scripting, and what not, because what you will need for many games is already there and it is stable.

- If a feature that your game needs is not already present in the engine, you can likely find it contributed in the community resources and if not, you can always roll-up the sleeves and jump into the engine code, which you get with the license.

- If you fear coding or just want some help from time to time, you're in luck. The Garage Games community is active, large, strong, skilled, friendly, and above all helpful. Both the engine and the community surrounding it are mature. This means there is help when you get stuck, there are resource when you need them, and you will not be alone. Personally, I'm encouraged and inspired daily by the community and its members.

- The GG staff is professional and helpful. They are truly dedicated to the success of the community. They get involved and stay involved. They ride a fine line between helping and innovating. I'm not sure how they find the time to do the many things they do, to include: answering forum posts, improving the engines (TGE, Torque Shader Engine, and Torque 2D), attending conferences, throwing the annual Indie Gaming Conference (IGC), staying versed in new technologies, forming alliances with other publishing venues, bringing the engines to new platforms( Windows, Linux, OSX, XBox, ...), bringing game related products to market (Tools, books, improved web-site, etc.), and on, and on, and on.

Could I go on? Yes, but by now I hope you've read a few things that will entice you. If you're on the cusp, please let me encourage you in this. The $100 dollars you spend on this engine will be money well spent. I promise you that.

-Ed Maurina

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Best Game Engine

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 eternaldark112 May 25, 2005 at 00:33

Hey there! I gotta say, this is one of the best engines I've ever used. This is a pretty good engine and is fairly easy to use. It's nice for someone like me who is just a kid and new to the gaming industry. I think Torque is a great engine and it's worth more than what it costs. It also can do a lot of porting from system to system. It supports Xbox, PC, Linux, Mac, PS2?, PSP, etc. Need I say more? It's a great game engine all around. It's worth every penny.

-Matt

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Artist's dream come true

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 ajaxprojection May 24, 2005 at 17:09

This engine does it all, transform animation, morph animation, skeletal blended animation, IK, rigid body physics that are actually networked, awesome networking in general, beautiful rendering, many games have already shipped on it, awesome pipeline, BSP/CSG operations, awesome community.....the amount of features you get are alone worth the price. This isn't an SDK, this is a complete GAME ENGINE.

Pretty much, if you haven't got this engine, GET IT NOW. It's a decision you won't regret. This is clearly the best engine on Devmaster. Clearly. :-)

Once I went Torque I never looked back!

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

Suggest Edits

Last edited Sep 23, 2012 at 23:47

Are your the owner of this engine? Let us know to be able to update it, and reply to reviews, and other benefits.