Torque Game Engine

Engine default

Website:
http://www.garagegames.co...

Developer:
GarageGames

Launched:
Not specified

Status:
Active

Supported Platforms:
Windows, Linux, Mac OS X

Languages Written In:
C/C++

Languages Supported:
C/C++

Graphics APIs:
OpenGL, DirectX

Rating:
  (98 reviews)

Editor:
None (be one!)

The Torque Game Engine (TGE) is a fully featured AAA game engine with award winning multi-player network code, seamless indoor/outdoor rendering engines, state of the art skeletal animation, drag and drop GUI creation, a built in world editor, and a C-like scripting language. Unlike most commercial game engines, as part of the low cost license, you receive all C++ source code to the engine, so you can make any additions you need for your game.

Supported Features

General

  • Object-Oriented Design
  • Save/Load System
  • Other
  • Multi-Platform and a journaling and Integrated hierarchical profiler
  • Efficient memory manager with extensive debugging features; Resource Manager and a File/Stream IO
  • Unicode international strings support
  • Fixed-function
  • Render-to-Texture
  • Fonts
  • GUI
  • True spherical distance fogging (for terrain, buildings)
  • Spherical distance clipping (for terrain, buildings)

Lighting

  • Per-vertex
  • Lightmapping
  • Animated lightmaps
  • Control lighting via World Editor
  • Vertex and multi-pass lighting

Shadows

  • Projected planar
  • Shadow Volume Projected object shadows (clipped against the environment)

Texturing

  • Basic
  • Multi-texturing
  • Mipmapping Multi-pass texturing with detail and decal support

Meshes

  • Mesh Loading
  • Skinning
  • Progressive
  • Tessellation
  • Continuous level of detail based on a progressive mesh algorithm
  • Damage and collision detail level
  • Supports Milkshape, 3DStudio Max, and Blender plug-ins, including an exporter and helper objects

Scene Management

  • Portals
  • Occlusion Culling
  • LOD
  • Portal based interiors with seamless integration with the terrain engine. Buildings can be instanced, placed, manipulated and scaled with the world editor
  • Spatial Database
  • Quark and WorldCraft converter and lighting
  • Support for Cartography Shop and almost all .map-compatible brush editors

Animation

  • Inverse Kinematics
  • Skeletal Animation
  • Animation Blending
  • Supports, bone, mesh, texture bitmap, texture coor. and visibilty animation
  • Mesh vertex deformation and multi-bone mesh skeletal animation
  • Simple interface to multi-sequence animation manager

Terrain

  • Rendering
  • CLOD
  • Continuous, seemless, LOD mesh generation and Aggregated tile mip-mapping
  • Dynamically generated blend tiles and Altitude based fog banks
  • Seamless integration with the interior engine

Physics

  • Basic Physics
  • Collision Detection
  • Rigid Body
  • Vehicle Physics Built-in physics engine

Networking

  • Client-Server
  • Award winning client/server architecture, which uses UDP and TCP
  • Bit level stream, message, and string packing
  • Uses the optimal Notified Delivery Protocol
  • Packet stream and Object ghost manager with partial object updates

Artificial Intelligence

  • Finite State Machines
  • Scripted Highly customizable through TorqueScript

Sound

  • 2D Sound
  • 3D Sound
  • Streaming Sound
  • SFX/Music driver using OpenAL
  • 3D sound support; panning, volume, doppler, cones
  • Multi-channel prioritized SFX manager
  • Built-in Theora video codec playback

Tools & Editors

  • World Editor allows you to manage terrain generation and object placement as well as Construct, place, size, scale and rotate objects visually
  • Terrain Editor, Terrain Generator, and GUI Editor.

Scripting

  • C++ like syntax
  • Local and Remote Debugging
  • Bytecode-compiled

Special Effects

  • Environment Mapping
  • Lens Flares
  • Billboarding
  • Particle System
  • Sky
  • Water
  • Decals
  • Fog
  • Integrated particle system with scripting engine.
  • Supports texture and scale animation as well as particle generators which can emit multiple particle types at once
  • Layered volumetric fog
  • A water engine that supports dynamic waves and multi-pass wave crest and shoreline textures

Licensing

License Name Price in $US Source Code Included?
MIT Free Yes
https://github.com/GarageGames/Torque3D

Write a Review

Showing 26-50 of 98

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

not good enough

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 DodongoXP Nov 02, 2007 at 21:56

i have tge 1.5 since like 8-9 months ago and its concept its good but the implementation not quite..

easy at first sight.. but very frustrating over the time and you end loosing your time and money basically

the major problems are

1.- absolutely lack of will of making documentation for it, so good documentation and guides doesnt exist

2.- the tiny documentation that currently exists its outdated and mostly useless

3.- lack of game engine features and many limitations.. its scripting its good but lacks features and docs so you never know how to use it or what really can be posible with pure scripting

4.- impressive dependency of heavy engine modifications.. if you are not willing to modify or construct major chunks of engine specific c++ code .. theres no need to bother with it

5.- stability problems and sudden crashes when editing

6.- cumbersome and very problematic content pipeline, exporter crashes very often and many many export errors on official exporters

7.-support? what support? if you ask or complain they get angry and say basically ... dont ask just learn

they claim one of the advantages is the rich user community,well i would say the community is pretty useless.. because of the points stated above aprox 80%-90% of that community are people that dont know how to use torque in a apropiate way ..and the remaining are experienced developers who reconstructed major parts of the engine using his own methods and procedures

basically if you are not willing to reconstruct the engine with your self made feature sets and learn without documentation.. dont waste time and money

i regret the day i bought torque..

Cheers!

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

Not a good game engine if you want to make professional quality games

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 Jman87 Nov 01, 2007 at 15:41

I've had the Torque Game Engine for over 7 years now, and I regret spending the money to purchase it every day.

First of all, if you are using Torque, do not expect to use it to make games that will one day be sold in retail stores. The "greatest" game anyone ever made with it was Marble Blast, which was made by the same team that designed the engine.

Features -

Torque claims to have alot of fancy features, and while it does have a good world editor with easy terrain editing, that's where the superb features stop. You have to BUY EXTRA PLUGINS on their website to do anything custom. The most supported tool for designing buildings and indoor environments is QuArK, an out-dated piece of junk. You can forget using real 3d tools like 3D Studio Max and Maya to design the levels.

Torque is also very restictive in the sense that all games made with it begin by using a "starter kit." There is one for racing games, first-person shooters, and RPGs, and each one starts with an already fully-functional ( but low quality ) game that can be edited into something else. There is no starter kit for fighting games or aircraft simulations, and making one would involve reprogramming the engine's source code or using TorqueScript.

Stability -

Albeit hard to use and lacking in graphics capabilities, the games made with Torque are surprisingly stable and I've never seen one crash. TGE has always ran really fast on my machine, but that's not compliment. The buildings and terrain always have low polygon counts because it uses BSP and heightmap terrain.
Torque does not support arbitrary meshes!!

Support -

The TGE documentation is just awful. For any of you who own TGE, take a look at all of documentation. Most entries are not yet completed, and the people on the forums never answered any of my questions.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

Best Tool For Prototyping...

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 mr_james Apr 21, 2007 at 21:55

3D/Game engines used (alphabetical):
3DGS, AuranJet, Blitz3D, C4, Crystal Space, Genesis3D, Nebula Device, Ogre3D, Qube Software, and Torque.

I've been using Torque since the day it came out six years ago. When it first came out and for most of its life it was a sad mess. No docs to speak of, insanely bad code base, no art tools, hasn't been AAA graphics for years, etc. As a result the only thing I've used it for in all these years has been game prototyping. For this purpose it is probably the best tool around. The scripting engine is extremely easy to use and you can do quite a bit with it. Also, the built in (from its Tribes 2 days) terrain, UI, and mission editors make it extremely fast and easy to build a demo to showcase game play concepts. Actually digging into the source to build a complete game, however, is liable to cause migraines and suicidal tendencies.

Only recently has it become powerful enough, in my opinion, to be used for commercial games by a broader group of indy devs, and this is only due to books and tools being developed by its user base, only a few of which are free. The Garage Games site has become a get rich quick scheme for users creating "content packs" and other poorly executed "tools." In the past these items would have been free, mainly due to the incomplete and low quality nature of most of them, but it's such a hassle getting content out of most 3D apps (.dts format is crap) that most indy devs have no other option. Until recently the visual quality of the engine was extremely outdated, but this has been partially remedied by the free release of the Modernization Kit by Alex Scarborough. This is something that should have been addressed by Garage Games years ago, however they are here to make money and can not do so if you don't buy Torque Advanced.

For the most part, support is also provided by the user base via the forums. This is usually ok, but the majority of its users have a "fan boy" mentality even more so than most other engines (just look at the post above mine). You get a lot of sarcastic and otherwise useless responses. In fact, some of the Garage Games employees exhibit the same attitude and have been known to be combative.

I'm currently building my latest prototype with Torque 1.5.0 (1.5.1 is pretty bugged), but the final game will most likely be completed in C4. The quality of the C4 engine is much better than Torque, and there is no other engine with such clean and well maintained code.

Features: 2 stars out of the box. 5 with the Modernization Kit (great job, Alex).
Ease of Use: 3 stars only because of the original editors and scripting engine.
Stability and Performance: 4 stars because I've never had a problem with it (until 1.5.1) and it runs fast.
Support: 1 star only because you can buy a couple good books on scripting. They need to come free with the licensing fee in my opinion.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

Insufficient docs

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 Makumba666 Dec 07, 2006 at 15:33

Torque badly lacks documentation, especially for C++ developers. There are 2 books already released, but they both describe built-in script language. WhenI have asked on their forums for C++ documentation, I was adviced to read Doxygen created docs, or to explore header files myself. I even was unable to find some basic tutorial. All C++ documentations are hidden. One may only acces them, when he pays for engine! And nobody will return your money, if you will not manage find docs - look at headers, :) beg at their forums etc. In any case, I am not going to throw $800 for such... thing. Instead I am planning to use Irrlich for my project - it is free, it is for C++ programmers and it is well documented.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

My views..

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 python Sep 07, 2006 at 15:38

The documentation is very outdated and i found this hard to use. You cant expect miracles for an engine of this price but the C4 engine looks very promising to me at the moment. The ease of use was good but the Stability and Support, and the lack of features let it down.. Big time!

Get your act together GarageGames.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

GRAPHICS <> GAME

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 AticAtac Jul 18, 2006 at 14:38

Torque is the perfect tool to make a "game" !
Its not the perfect "tool" for writing a graphics-demo.
Most people think they need a AAA-Very eye-Candy 3D engine in order to make a good game and thats WRONG.
Torque brings everything to make a good complete game, concentrate on gameplay and other elements.
Pixel-shaders, HDR, ... are not really necessary to make a good game!
I hate it when people talk always about GAME-programming but mean GRAPHICS.
With Torque the learning curve is "high" at the beginning and once you got a grasp of it development goes much faster. Most people complaining about Torque move to engines where learning curve is "lower" at the beginning but gets much higher later and i bet most of those people never get finished anything.
If you want to toy with an eye-candy graphics-engine that do it but don't say you want to make a game!

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

Large feature set, good price but that's where it ends

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 Xest Jul 15, 2006 at 19:07

Whilst it has a wide range of features most are not too great. Whilst some are fantastic, for example networking support others are abysmal. Torque's physics system is rather weak and for a lot of games you're going to need a rewrite, the graphics engine is extremely dated, TSE will resolve this but that's not out or near a useable state for most game types just yet.

The engine also isn't particularly easy to use, there are books available but they don't help too much. The problem is the engine is old and messy, it has far too much legacy code in and is in dire need of a clean-up, even the upcoming TSE unfortunately goes nowhere to resolve these problems.

Documentation is extremely lacking and the community is often slow responding or doesn't respond at all in a useful way to more advanced problems although basic problems are generally resolved ok, many parts of Torque just have no support whatsoever, particularly the RTS pack which was released with an absolutely tiny feature set and hasn't been improved since, it hasn't even been updated for the latest version of torque months on.

The main problem with Torque is that you need to be a very good programmer to do much with it and if you can do much with Torque, you can write your own cleaner, more modern engine in the time it takes to learn Torque's confusing and particularly tacky engine design.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

Great features, but impossible to use

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 mjjw Jun 29, 2006 at 22:04

I really liked Torque when I first saw it, but I have one major complaint ... it is almost impossible to get 3D artwork from professional packages into the thing! It would be a whole lot easier if it supported FBX!

Also, when I tried it the Mac version of the engine would not even compile for me. The Windows version did compile out of the box.

While the mission editor is good once you get into it, it can be a steep learning curve at times.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

Super poor quality documentation undermines this product

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 if_else Sep 26, 2005 at 23:47

I have had this SDK for 9 months.

The engine seems to have a lot of features but I will have to take garage games word for it because the documentation is so terrible I can not figure out how implement very much of anything. Some things that would be rudimentary and easy to figure out in Blitz, Ogre, etc are an enigma in Torque. Basically if you cant find the answer through their basic getting startred documentation you have to post to the forum. Unfortunately a lot of people may have asked the same question already so in some cases their is no interest in answering basic questions. I do get more frequent response than similar forums however given the dearth of serious documentation posting to forums just doesn't cut it. So much of the overall frustration that all the negative reviewers have posted would be 90% diffused if Garage Games just simply made standard/proper documentation. If they had done this part properly something that has taken me 2 weeks to figure out could have taken me half an hour. Sadly this has been pointed out to them for years. Also sadly they would probably have a lot more sales since more projects would be developed with their product.

One of the reasons I bought Torque is that the company stated you could create content in maya and export for torque. This is only partially true. If you want to create interiors i.e. architectural structures you can forget it. Your geometry will get seriously mangled and you can not apply textures. The interior modeler they recommend, Quark, is super buggy, is not capable of producing geometry more complex than a simple arch and is also badly documented.

They say they are developing an interior modeling application called constructor. Based on the 9 month old screen shots it looks like it will be great. However it has been "almost ready to be released" for over a year and good luck finding out from them when they expect to release it.

They need to get the rudimentary asapects of their poduct ironed out before they think about developing advanced features.Yes look at what you get for only $100 but if you can not figure out how take advantage of those features it is pretty much like not having those feature to begin with. In that case get something better documented with less features that is free.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

A let down... of sorts

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 WhytWulf Jun 28, 2005 at 22:45

This engine looks great. Graphically it is very well done engine. Though I am not a coder (though I am learning), the source is well commented and nicely documented, but it is a monster, loads of files. Scripting language is very 'C/C++' like and very powerful. My biggest gripe about Torque is the lack or easy implimentation of doors. Yup that is right a AAA engine that doesn't seem to have doors working. Other users have modified code patches to fit with older versions of the source code to get doors working, but if you are new to coding and want an engine that is easy(ish) this is not one.

New info, that has changed my review. The Torque community is very friendly and help out those people who are stuck/puzzled, offering my solutions and suggestions.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

Torque's pipeline issues

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 Tangent Oct 21, 2004 at 15:30

Torque, while powerful for the price, has serious pipeline issues they need to address before adding their 'shader engine'.
The art pipeline for skeletal characters is horrendously convoluted and difficult, and the resulting characters are needlessly heavy on the system.
the LOD is a pain to set up.

The level editor is dated and difficult, twitchy in the extreme, also having some serious function issues.

For a starting project with patient artists and a good programmer, however, it's a good starting kit.

What it does have is good network code and a stable platform.

I'd actually recommend TV3d over this one for features, or Blitzbasic if you want more ease of use.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Walk Away!

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 Shadowcaster Jan 25, 2012 at 11:19

Don't make the same mistake some of us have, this engine is trash, a massive marketing pitch with no real return on anything. You can't make squat with it because 90% of it is source code all abstraction and BS aside. Thus it relies heavily on coding skills, except they make a living off that as well. And the fact that its incomplete.

Do not buy this engine, do not walk into their trap because you cannot resell the license and its hard strapped to one seat. Every time they update the engine its a pay to update scheme. History is just doomed to repeat itself with Torque. The cheap up front cost is their bait and lure.

They also have the worst and unfriendly community around, one that seems too busy to give straight answers and plays favoritism. A very gimmicky way to deal with your customers.

The world is better off with free alternatives like:

- Ogre 3d
- Irrlicht
- Jmonkeyengine
- SoftPixel Engine

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Garagegames/ Torque Shut down - Bye-bye Torque !

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 rohitchauhan802 Dec 31, 2010 at 11:43

http://www.torquepowered.com/community/blogs/view/20495

http://www.shacknews.com/onearticle.x/66441

Garagegames / InstantAction closed down and Torque development is stopped. So I think better switch to Unity or Unreal Engine. I think that was bound to happen just seeing how terrible torquescript was to script with !

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful

torque shit

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 Wozniax1 Aug 24, 2009 at 10:23

Who will pay for the license for a single project for one developer for such a hopeless engine.

You can not even download a version for tests. Documentation is shit and tools as well.

Again, I do not recommend heartily. Thank you for your attention and good night to the state.

PS. this engine should not be in this list

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Not a game engine

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 RenderingJooe Nov 24, 2008 at 12:58

Torque is not so much a game engine as it is a horribly written Quake clone game with some scripting ability, especially considering the hefty pricetag you have to pay -- per programmer cost of more than $200, when you can't even program it...

The forums for support are neer accessible, and I have never been able to get support to fix the forums, let alone the engine's bugs.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful

6 months of pain

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 raytaller Oct 04, 2008 at 11:21

I am finishing a commercial game with TSE (Torque Shader Engine) and this really was the worst 6 months of development in my life. Too bad I joined the team after the choice of Torque was maid, because even open source game engines I know like Irrlicht or Panda are far better, IMO.

It's not the lack of features that made me angry. It's just that Torque source is a bloody messy piece of shit.

Actually, Torque misses a complete cleaning and refactoring. No comments (or outdated), obscure terms and class names, ex : what you would call "World" or "Level" or "Scene" is called "Mission".

Torque is not a game engine, it is rather an old ugly designed game, hacked here and there to make it look like an engine.
When you know well designed engines like Ogre, programming with Torque look like hacking. And hacking is fun when it's a hobby, not when you want to finish a commercial project with deadlines.

Oh yeah, and the tools are buggy, and they crash a lot. Torsion too, crashes a lot.
Oh, and STL is not supported.

For our next game, we will buy a real engine, or use Irrlicht, which is cheaper and better.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Not Too Bad

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 DeveloperNC Sep 25, 2010 at 00:42

There are a lot of reviews here, some good, some bad.
My review of this engine is good. I believe a lot of people think they can just take a game engine and become the next Activision , etc... in a few weeks or months.

Every engine takes time, teamwork and money to complete a successful game and possible financial venture.

Torque has the ability to create and render successful games, but alas you must be qualified to use it.

The Editors in Torque3D include, object, material, data, particles and more. The ease of use is one of my favorites of this engine. If I was a newcomer to game development, you may want to try other engines that have more simple drag and drop features to get a feel of how game engines work and render the final product. Torque, I believe is for more experienced developers looking for a fast, and stable engine.

Ok, here is my gripe about the engine....

Please fix the camera speed so it is easier to work inside the editor. Maybe rig it to the mouse scroll wheel to control the camera speed instead of a slider. Also 200 is not fast enough ;)

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful

The best engine out there!

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 Squid7 Apr 28, 2010 at 14:58

THE BEST ENGINE IN THE WORLD GET IT!!!!!!!! It's features are the best and is super easy! Performes great w/ no lag and even better support! The price is worth it!!

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful

its ok

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 dolay Sep 19, 2009 at 15:59

torqe is not bad. not great.. but it's not bad.

I've seen both great comments and bad about it. I personally had an ok time worknig with it.

Abyssal Engine is better though and so is Unity.
www.Abyssalengine.com
www.unity3d.com

Torque is just a hack job of Tribes game when you come down to it.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Torque 3d - new version is amazing!!!!!

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 herurubin Jul 31, 2009 at 14:23

Amazing - all I can say!
I bought in early and have been beta testing -
the rendering engine, water fx, etc. are amazing - especially Normals mapping on terrain system!

Ease of use has been greatly improved -Data Block editor makes development way easier

really as good or better than anyhting I've seen

Thier scripting in general is slightly bizarre

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful

A solid engine and the documentation has improved

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 3dcognition Mar 28, 2009 at 21:47

Torque 1.50 is a solid, powerful engine that comes with the Show Tool Pro, an easy to use test bed for your game art. Unfortunately, the $150 TGE is no longer available but you can get TGEA and Torque 3D (though at higher price points).

Good things: Characters cast shadows, realistic explosions come from your weapon, footprint decals are formed and fade, multiple layers of clouds move across the sky believably, water is easy to adjust and looks believable, there is a built-in GUI editor, a built-in terrain editor and painter, and you have the ability to drop sounds into your scene and control transmit distances.

Stability: I've not had stability issues with the engine, and I've been using it heavily for the last year. The crashes I have had I later found to be my own fault - because at first I did not know what I was doing, script-wise and export-wise.

Ease of Use: Yes you have to do some work to figure out the lay of the land; working with this engine is not for the faint of heart. You have to do a lot of searching, within the documentation and the forum areas, in order to figure out how to get your art into the game (if you are using 3ds Max, my book can help you with that, see below).

Forums: If you take an hour or so and search the forums and the user-created resources, you will be impressed with the experience level of this community. I think the way it works is that you are able to acquire the engine for a pretty low cost, so you are expected to do quite a bit of work. The answers are not just handed to you, but if your need is has not already been addressed by a user-created resource, ask your question in the forums and someone is likely to lend a hand.

A Step-By-Step Guide for Artists: As I learned how to properly export pickups and characters from 3ds Max to the Torque engine, I found myself making copious notes. The result is a book, Creating Game Art for 3D Engines, which was released late in 2007. I went to great lengths to make the processes clear with step by step instructions and 90 minutes of video tutorials on the book CD.

Read more about the book Creating Game Art for 3D Engines at www.3dcognition.com/book.htm.

More books: There are three other books on Torque already out, which focus more on scripting and general engine capabilities, and I know of at least two more in the works. So the documentation is coming, and that is to my mind has been the biggest hurdle with using Torque.

Sample Games: Check out the sample games for any engine you are considering. Torque has some pretty good ones, such as ThinkTanks, Lore, Shelled, Tribal Trouble, Rocket Bowl, etc.

Publishing: One of the reasons I bought Torque was the publishing assistance they give the independent developers. In the last month, they have completely redone their website and removed many of the games created by independent Torque developers; this may be to move the website towards a more professional appearance, but it takes away from one of the best features of the GG website, and I am no longer sure how much GG is committed to helping independents publish their games. More should be clear as they revise the new website and tie up loose ends.

Conclusions: Along with the Unity3d engine and the C4 game engine, Torque is one of a very few engines which are capable of making a powerful game at a reasonable cost.

Features: 3
Ease of Use: 3
Stability: 5
Support: 3

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Torque Game Engine

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 dudMan Dec 05, 2007 at 02:31

Torque Engine is a great engine. why? Well, for a number of reasons!

First off, torque has ACTUALLY been used to make multiple commercial games. Other engines are really great, but 90% through the project, you realise it's missing a certain feature and give up. look at the products list for proof!

Torque has horrible support. i just have to say this from the start. the documentation is fairly incomplete, but the Torque Developer Network has a bit of documentation about getting started with AI, the mission editor, etc. also, there are many books written about torque. so, between the TDN and Books, you can patch together a basic knowlage of torque. also, just reading the example code should give you an idea about using torque. codesampler.com and tork.beffy.de both have good torque totorials, also.

Features. Torque has AI, Networking, Graphics, Physics(to some degree). The AI doesn't seem to be there for a bit, until you look at the TDN and it has a tutorial on setting up some ai players, and shooting for each player. The physics are sort of simple, but still usable. And the networking is SO robust, that your entire game must be based around it. a bit annoying, but you'll appriciate it at the last second when you want to add multiplayer.

Should YOU get torque? Well, download the demo and try it out. The demo is ACTUALLY just a pre-compiled version of torque, you're free to script it, and even create your own game. You just can't show it to anyone.

And if you want to buy it, it's only $150! You can't argue with that!

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful

you cant script

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 Jermaine Apr 20, 2007 at 14:37

^this guy does not own the engine, he made multiple topic on how to make a game without coding. he cant texture, he has a old OS. It wont be stable to him.

So.....yeah he's not the best guy to review a engine.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful

An Engine for Non-Beginners

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 Ritchie Dec 13, 2006 at 05:53

Ok, while many people say that this is a 'bad' engine or a waste of time/money maybe there are a couple things to consider.

The things listed in here are up to the 1.4.2 version.
The engine comes with full Source Code, but maybe most of the people out there is not very familiar with C++ coding, so I will stick to scripting in this review. However, you should also notice that if something is not working, you can fix it by changing and/or modding the SourceCode.

The engine has Great features which give your game a good variety and visual impact. Even though some options from the Level Editor/Terrain Editor crash the SDK, you can go around them and get the same result by scripting.
You should get very familiar with datablocks, these will give the engine all the information about the objects you will be using, so learning how to declare them could be a real big step.

I must say, it is definitely not easy to LEARN, you need to be somehow related and familiar to game development, anyway, as far as I know, in the Engine's Description they never say it is for beginners.

When dealing with the stability of the engine, it is REALLY stable, plus it supports multiple platforms. If you consider that it also has an award-winning multiplayer architecture, you can develop a multiplayer game where you deal with the core programming at server side and don't worry about cross-platform games. This of course, helps your team a lot since you don't leave any audience out (Mac, Win and Linux)

Where you might have A LOT of trouble is with documentation. Most of the docs out there deal with previous versions (even the 'oficial documentation' at the website) but you get access to the forums and the IRC channel. Those places are great to ask questions but just be smart, there's no one (not even with other engines) who will give you complete games for you to distribute. The point is, people there is willing to help you, but not to make the game for you (unless of course you give a good amount of cash).

The books: I bought 2 out of.. 3(I think), they are 'good' books. However, one deals a lot with the most basic things (adding things to the mission, scripting simple things) and also gives a basic tutorial for 3D modelling. How to model items, vehicles, characters, buildings, and their textures. The other book deals with some 'advance' scripting, like particles and AI. The bad thing about all this is like someone above wrote, there are no books about the source code.

It is easy to buy this engine and then just say that it is way too hard(anyone can quit doing good stuff) but once you take the time to get to know this engine better, you will like it for sure.

Now they have released 1.5, which is $150 but it has more things than before. They added the Lighting kit and the ShowTool Pro, plus some fixes for Mac users.

Don't waste the opportunity, if you can buy this engine do it. Unless you are a quitter, you will do great things with this engine.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful

its easier to learn Japanese!!!

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 dib Oct 03, 2006 at 05:49

I don't go neither to lose my time,
its possible to program a game without suffering and
the book for God's sake neither the author understands!´
30 words,30 words,30 words,30 words,30 words,30 words,30 words,30 words,30 words,30 words...

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

Suggest Edits

Last edited Oct 19, 2014 at 09:01

Are your the owner of this engine? Let us know to be able to update it, and reply to reviews, and other benefits.