Panda3D

1ff0cfae 5148 4d53 9ea5 997096e4e053

Website:
http://www.panda3d.org/

Developer:
The Panda Development Group

Launched:
Not specified

Status:
Active

Supported Platforms:
Windows, Linux, Mac OS X, SunOS

Languages Written In:
C/C++, Python

Languages Supported:
C/C++, Python

Graphics APIs:
OpenGL, DirectX

Rating:
  (58 reviews)

Editor:
None (be one!)

Panda3D is a game engine, a framework for 3D rendering and game development for Python and C++ programs. Panda3D is Open Source and free for any purpose, including commercial ventures, thanks to its liberal license.

Supported Features

General

  • Object-Oriented Design
  • Other
  • Support for ARtoolkit
  • Development in C++ or Python
  • Web plugin for deployment over the web
  • "all-into-one" application packaging system
  • Wide range of user-provided features and examples (PhysX integration, AI, GUI, particle system etc.)
  • Fixed-function
  • Stereo Rendering
  • GUI Rendering for red/cyan stereo glasses
  • Particle System
  • Motion Blur
  • Fog Post-effects (bloom, blur, volumetric lighting, cartoon look etc.)

Lighting

  • Per-vertex
  • Per-pixel
  • Volumetric A variety of lights that work by vertex lighting

Texturing

  • Basic
  • Animated textures
  • Support for video textures (AVI, MPG, MOV)
  • Pointer textures (direct access to graphics card memory)
  • 3D textures

Shaders

  • High Level
  • Support Cg
  • GLSL support
  • Shader generator for basic shaders and combinations (bump, parallax, specular etc.)

Meshes

  • Mesh Loading
  • Skinning
  • Supports 3D Studio Max, Maya, and blender models via plug-ins.
  • Low-level mesh manipulation

Animation

  • Skeletal Animation Soft skin animation and a sophisticated actor interface for character animation

Terrain

  • Rendering
  • Generate terrain meshes from heighfields.
  • GeoMipMapping

Physics

Several options for physics simulation:

  • Built-in simple physics engine
  • Support for the Bullet physics engine
  • Support for the ODE physics engine
  • Support for the PhysX physics engine

Networking

  • Client-Server a networking library and a mmo-grade patching system

Artificial Intelligence

Simple AI library “PandaAI” included:

  • Steering behaviors: Seek, Flee, Pursue, Evade, Wander, Flock, Obstacle Avoidance, Path Following
  • Path Finding
  • Navigation Mesh generator for EGG files

Sound

Several options for adding sounds to your game:

  • Support for the OpenAL audio engine
  • Support for the FMOD audio engine
  • Support for the Miles audio engine

Tools & Editors

  • Direct tools for GUI-based scene editing
  • Particle effects API and GUI-based particle panel
  • Future plans: An easy to use but powerful and generic scene/level editing tool

UI

Panda3D comes with a set of tools for the creation of a graphical interface:

  • Native DirectGUI system
  • Support for the libRocket GUI library

Scripting

  • Python scripting interface
  • Programming on the fly using interactive scripting in the Python shell

Licensing

License Name Price in $US Source Code Included?
BSD Free Yes

Write a Review

Showing 51-58 of 58

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful

easy to learn hard to master

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 LegionDD Jan 22, 2007 at 12:03

Features:

With Panda3D you have an engine with a decent feature set.
I don't mean the "must have" features, like loading models, textures, doing translations and rotations, loading sound, etc.
I mean the details in functions like translation and rotation that can save you from writing your own vector math, or the FSM which allows easy to implement AI.

Ease of Use:

That's where Panda is really great. You'll have your first scene up and running in a few minutes.
The fact that Panda works perfectly with Python makes for quick production cycles. I can't think of a better engine/language combination to start developing your very first game. You could even start to learn Panda and Python at the same time.
And if there's something you won't find in the manual, you'll find it in the forum.

Sability & Performance:

Well, the fact that there's a commercial game (Disneys ToonTown) out there schould speak for itself.

Support:

You can't hit it any better than the Panda Community.
If you have any question that can't be answered by the community, the developers of the engine themselves will help you out.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Panda3d... feels good on my skin.

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 Crimity Jan 22, 2007 at 00:58

I came across Panda3d when I was looking for something that I could easily prototype in. I had no previous experience with python or any other programming language and was able to easily do what I previously considered advanced. I'm also finding panda is great for making 3d tools.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Easy to learn, solid for production

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 dmpayton Jan 15, 2007 at 03:25

I'm a Comp Sci student with a massive interest in game development, and Panda3D has made life much easier for me to grasp concepts. I can program in my language of choice (Python), and the community, while small, is extremely supportive.

Definitely a solid engine worth looking at for any project.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Definitely a solid engine to consider

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 Nameless128 Feb 06, 2006 at 17:34

It's an engine that's been proven in a commercial product (Toontown Online).

Disney continue to use the engine, so you get bug fixes and feature additions that are making it into their next games.

You can write an entire game in python with it.

What more can you say. It's just about as ideal as it gets. If you need something else drastically different you're going to be writing a custom engine no matter which way you shake it.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful

"The Real Deal" for a COMPLETE Game Engine

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 IPKnightly Dec 13, 2005 at 06:21

PROS:

1 - Short learning curve.

2 - Rapid development.

3 - Complete Engine (just add logic and assets).

4 - Used (and thus tested) by many CMU students.

5 - Actually used for a MMORPG (ToonTown).

6 - No need to wonder if it can create ________ game.

7 - No silly idiosyncrasies to get in the way.

8 - Either C++ or Python or a combination of both to program in.

9 - Layers of complexity getting more complex as you go deeper but allowing more flexibility and control.

10 - Fast, Powerful, and stable (even with Python).

11 - Continually developed by a commercial company (Disney) for commercial purposes.

12 - Free to use for your own commercial purposes (except the used FMOD sound library).

13 - Uses NSIS to package up your game for distribution.

14 - Great documentation and/or help.

CONS:

1 - Uses the FMOD sound library. (However, I have found a work around and have provided an example.)

2 - No convenient executable '.exe' to distribute. And no real way to hide your "source code" when using Python.

COMMENTARY:

Having used Panda3D for a little while now, I can say this engine is what you wish every free game engine could be. Rapid development is the name of the game and that is forefront when using Panda3D for game development. With a robust feature set there isn't much that cannot be obtained. Panda3D allows you to focus on game programming, specifically your game logic, thereby getting out of the way instead of forcing you to but heads with it at every corner. When a problem arises I find that it is me that problem is with instead of the engine. Finding it surprising that this piece of middle-ware is free, I actually enjoy using Panda3D. So far I have been able to create two full fledged game examples in a matter of weeks. Being a "lone wolf" developer at this point, it is advantageous to have certain things done for you when ever possible thereby allowing me to conquer other tasks that must be done—Panda3D fits perfectly into this scheme.

Bottom Line. Panda3D is but a tool but a fantastic tool at that. If your are more interested in producing a game rather than the technology then Panda3D (in my experience) is the weapon of choice in your game development arsenal. As with any engine—just use it—and I think you'll like what you discover.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Best Python engine

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 mcp Dec 04, 2005 at 02:20

Fully integrated Python engine, very easy to use and speed seems more than adequate.
Have seen no problems with stability although there are a lot of runtime warnings.
Documentation is adequate but it really needs a more extensive tutorial. Responses in support forums are excellent.
This is a Disney supported engine and comes closer to being of commercial quality than any free engine I have tried.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Free, Quick, and Stable... What more could you ask for?

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 pandemic Nov 29, 2005 at 00:57

Two industry leaders have teamed up to bring the public an easy to use, powerful free rendering engine - Disney and Carnegie Mellon University.

Panda3D's strengths lie in its rapid development cycle (due to programming in Pythin), flexibility, and reliability. The website, http://www.panda3d.org has comprehensive documentation, easy tutorials, free 3D models, and active forums where you can get most any question answered within an hour.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Great Powerful and CrossPlatform!

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 Doug_W Nov 25, 2005 at 01:35

Panda is one of the easiest to use libraries but that ease of use hides an unexpected amount of power.

It's also crossplatform being ported to Win32, Linux, SGI, with an OS/X port in progress.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

Suggest Edits

Last edited Jun 09, 2013 at 03:17

Are your the owner of this engine? Let us know to be able to update it, and reply to reviews, and other benefits.