NeoAxis 3D Engine

4b190b01 df45 47b9 9b0a 7a19c403b9d4

Website:
http://www.neoaxis.com

Developer:
NeoAxis Group Ltd.

Launched:
Not specified

Status:
Active

Supported Platforms:
Windows, Mac OS X

Languages Written In:
C/C++, C#

Languages Supported:
C/C++, C#

Graphics APIs:
OpenGL, DirectX

Rating:
  (46 reviews)

Editor:
00000000000000000000000000000000 SickBrick

NeoAxis 3D Engine is a free integrated development environment that allows for projects of all types and complexity. The environment is intended for use in such areas as the creation of video games, the development of simulators, virtual reality and visualization software. It includes a full set of tools for fast and logical development of modern 3D projects.

Supported Features

General

  • Object-Oriented Design
  • Plug-in Architecture
  • Save/Load System
  • Other
  • Entity and logic systems
  • UI System: unified system for creation user controls, the menu, dialogues, windows and HUD screens
  • Unicode support
  • Language localizations support
  • Complete Game Framework
  • Windowed Application Framework For 3D Applications
  • All-in-One Toolset
  • AAA Graphics
  • Powerful .NET based API
  • Executing engine on two .NET platforms: .NET Framework and Mono Runtime
  • Rapid .NET development with internal power of unmanaged C++ components such as rendering, physics and audio
  • Render-to-Texture
  • Fonts
  • GUI
  • Material LOD
  • Support for multiple material techniques
  • Transparent objects automatically managed

Lighting

  • Per-vertex
  • Lightmapping
  • Can have an unlimited number of lights in the scene
  • Supported through vertex and fragment programs
  • Per pixel lighting
  • 64-bit color high dynamic range (HDR) rendering

Shadows

  • Shadow Mapping
  • Projected planar
  • Shadow Volume
  • Techniques supported: modulative stencil, additive stencil, modulative projective
  • Shadow maps
  • Soft shadows
  • Self-shadowing
  • Correct shadows from alpha test objects
  • Stencil shadows

Texturing

  • Basic
  • Multi-texturing
  • Bumpmapping
  • Mipmapping
  • Volumetric
  • Projected
  • Projective texturing automatically links with texture unit to a Frustum instance
  • Can register external texture sources in order to feed texture data in from another source
  • Parallax mapping
  • Cubemap reflections
  • Lightmap support

Shaders

  • Vertex
  • Pixel
  • High Level
  • Supports vertex and fragment programs (shaders), both low-level programs written in assembler, and high-level programs written in Cg or DirectX9 HLSL, and provides automatic support for many commonly bound constant parameters
  • Supports GLSL
  • Procedural generation of a shaders
  • Shader model 3.0 support

Meshes

  • Mesh Loading
  • Skinning
  • Hardware-accelerated skinning
  • Flexible mesh data formats accepted
  • Export from many modelling tools including Milkshape3D, 3D Studio Max, Maya, Blender and Wings3D

Scene Management

  • General
  • Octrees
  • Hierarchical scene graph
  • Scene querying features
  • Indoor/outdoor portal system. Work in mixed indoor and outdoor scenes.
  • Occluders
  • Octtree scene split

Animation

  • Skeletal Animation
  • Animation Blending Skeletal animation, including blending of multiple animations, variable bone weight skinning.

Physics

  • Basic Physics
  • Collision Detection
  • Rigid Body
  • Abstract wrapper for a physics
  • ODE implemented
  • Ageia PhysX implemented
  • Format of files for declaration of physical models

Artificial Intelligence

  • Pathfinding Path finding based on a grid

Sound

  • 2D Sound
  • 3D Sound
  • Streaming Sound
  • Abstract wrapper for a sound
  • FMOD implemented
  • DirectSound implemented
  • Binding sounds to entities
  • 3D sound support
  • Ogg Theora video playback
  • Sound recording

Tools & Editors

  • Expandable Resource and Map Editors
  • Material Editor
  • Particle System Editor
  • Physics Model Editor
  • GUI Editor
  • Game object types Editor
  • Static lighting (lightmaps) calculation tool

Scripting

  • Visual game logic writing
  • C# like syntax
  • Scripting on any .NET language is supported

Special Effects

  • Environment Mapping
  • Billboarding
  • Particle System
  • Motion Blur
  • Sky
  • Water
  • Explosion
  • Decals
  • Fog
  • Mirror
  • Particle Systems, including easily extensible emitters and affectors
  • Support for skyboxes, skyplanes and skydomes
  • Post-processing effects including High Dynamic Range rendering (bloom, adaptive exposure, tone mapping) and motion blur.

Licensing

License Name Price in $US Source Code Included?
Proprietary Free No
Free Edition — free full development environment, which includes most of the engine features, such as quality dynamic shadows, editor of landscapes, soft particles, modern full-screen effects such as High Dynamic Range, Screen Space Ambient Occlusion, Depth of Field, Light Scattering, Lens Flares, and many other features.
Proprietary $195.00 No
Professional Edition — more features and bigger access to the source code of the engine components.
Proprietary $695.00 No
Unlimited Edition — includes all the features of the engine. Bigger access to the source code of the engine components. It includes the full source code of the engine tools.
Proprietary $2,895.00 Yes
Source Edition — includes full source code of the engine.

Write a Review

Showing 26-46 of 46

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

Rave review!

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 dudMan Nov 30, 2007 at 20:26

After 15 minutes installing .NET 2.0, i get to spend 10 more installing the demo. at this point, i was frustrated, but still quite eager to see what was so great about the engine(see other reviews).

The engine starts, waits a few minutes at a black screen, and then i get a fabulous fireworks show of error messages and exceptions.

My ratings are based on the demo, not the engine. Why? Because i dont want to download a 60MB file, install the SDK, and get the same result.

Download Canceled.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

Outstanding engine

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 Slaine Nov 29, 2007 at 10:26

First of all this engine is excellent, especially for v0.51, features are extensive with full shader support. Shadow features are there but a few features are not present like shadow mapping for omni lights, it's there but not working properly, but the engine does supply you with a nice message informing you of this.

There are many built in effects like Bloom, bump map, parrallax and relief mapping, looks very nice. There are tons of game examples displaying the capabilities of this engine ranging from First person shooters to Third person to finally a StarCraft style game.

Physics are using the famous Ageia PhysX which is used in many commercial games of today, unfortunatly there doesn't seem to be any examples for car physics, space physics, but that isn't important.

For most this engine will supply what you need to make a quick game, however, if you are not a confident programmer, i.e. intermediate to advanced this engine will proove to be tricky to customize to your needs, there is no built in scripting to create simple effects, simply fading in a gui or image requires fairly complicated c# programming which is hidden within classes which can be hard to even find, admittadly it is in there to use, but it had to be created which is my point, if you want different AI or effects, vehicles etc. you will have to program them yourself, and it's far from easy, due to the vastness of the SDK it is easy to upset the system whilst adding your own objects. The code is vast to create the ingame effects, pretty much everything that is in the demos are programmed by hand in c#, so don't think for a second that you can click 'create car' and whalla alla car driving around, you will need to create the class in c# and program the features of you car with your own sweat and blood, line by line.

forum support is fantastic, replies are swift and informative.

Other than that, if you are a programmer this engine is outstanding, especially for free for non-commercial use, and only $100 for indie, what a deal!

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

Excellent!

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 W84Me Nov 22, 2007 at 04:51

Features: NeoAxis has a nice list of features for an engine that isn't finished yet.
Ease of Use: Overall it is fairly intuitive.
Stability: At version 0.51 it is more stable than most at version 1.0 or higher.
Support: The developer responds quickly.

This engine deserves to be in the top 3, maybe even top 2. Very impressive. Definitely one to keep an eye on.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

Just try it! It's worth your time.

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 Holgmo Nov 16, 2007 at 12:55

I could write a veeeery long review here - and it would be completely positive. But that won't help you as much as the hard facts:

General:
- This engine works as promised (which is a LOT more than what I have found looking at other engines).
- The developers update regularly (~every 4 weeks a new version).
- The developers are helpful and very responsive at the forum.

By the time of writing this review, NeoAxis is version 0.51. But it has already more features than other engines that have a version number above 1.0.
You could make a complete game with this engine NOW! The low version number just means that you have to add some features by yourself - or wait for the developers to implement them. But that's not a big deal because of the fast progress.

Already implemented features are here:
http://www.neoaxisgroup.com/history.htm
Everything that's listed here is in there NOW and it is working! And notice the dates of the updates! At least there is one update a month.

Things that will be made in the future are listed here:
http://www.neoaxisgroup.com/roadmap.htm

So don't waste your time with buggy engines that lack basic features or developers that are not updating.

Go to the NeoAxis page and download the FREE version. Test it, it is worth every second of your time.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

Outstanding

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 TKROELL Nov 16, 2007 at 12:50

I don't want to drift off in a comment instead of a review, but I feel I have to emphasize strongly that the problems described in the above review seem to be caused by the machine it was tested on and are not inherent in the NeoAxis engine.

Our team uses the NeoAxis engine since about seven months now (v0.36 - v0.51) and the results beginning with the very first version are as follows:

* downloaded and installed the demo and Visual Studio 2005 -> opening the "Game.sln" provided with the demo lets you compile and run the project without problems (no missing DLL dependencies or any other trouble)
* the demo is FULL of code to demonstrate usage of the engine; in fact, it is a collection of various game types (FPS, TPS, RTS, ...) you can use as a framework and successively modify to your needs
* we did very extensive programming in the meantime, and I can recall exactly only TWO incidents (again: in seven months) of unwanted program behavior (e.g. terminating with an exception) which weren't solely our fault; furthermore, both incidents weren't general failures, but did only arise with a specific machine configuration (problems with a specific graphic card driver etc. pp.) and were fixed in the next release of the NeoAxis engine

For an actual overall assessment, I can only say that the NeoAxis engine is absolutely outstanding from all the engines we evaluated so far and confirm all positive statements of the above reviews. We are very confident that we will finish the commercial project we're working on with the NeoAxis engine and already contacted publishers about a funding / distribution agreement.

I wanted to save up a little amount so I can still assign five out of five if I should ever encounter an engine which reads my mind and automatically generates the game I was thinking of displaying Unreal 3 or Cry engine grade graphics with 2635.72 FPS or above; but due to the fact that it's not possible to award 4.9, it's five for all categories.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

Installation

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 dotcom Nov 15, 2007 at 06:58

Remarks from a very quick review of several of the engines from this database.

Installed the Non-Commercial SDK and demo downloads on a WinXP machine with .NET 2.0 and Visual Studio 2005 installed.

* Gives an impression of one of the cleanest .NET Graphics/Games engine about, of potential
* The demo failed spectacularly with a series of exceptions that involved the Rendering engine
* The SDK lacks demo code to provide a quick orientation to the object model
* When you try to write a simple application, various dll dependencies are missing. After identifying them with Dependency Walker, it turns out you need to download the Ogre SDK to obtain two of them. The other is a Microsoft dll (dwmapi.dll) which is a part of Vista. After further research on the latter, it was not clear whether it is essential or not
* Tried to instantiate a GuiRenderer object, but it failed with a NullReference exception that was not a result of the immediate code, but something internal. No further information was available
* The forum is not well organised, probably needs more topics and a moderator, or at least strong guidelines on where to post.

It´s a shame, because it does appear promising, but failures of this sort are going to put developers off, because you can´t dedicate endless time to a product when evaluating it, given commercial time-constraints.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

Incredible Game Engine

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 Enemicalix Oct 21, 2007 at 23:44

Neoaxis Engine is by far one of the greatest game engines available. Its library of features is very impressive which provides the user with a wide range of options. Its code structure is very stable and easy to learn, giving you the ability to start programming your own features as soon as possible. One of its best features is its unique entity system which gives the user great control when creating new objects. When compared to other engines, Neoaxis is the best alternative to the expensive high-end engines and is definitely the most outstanding engine ever made.

For features, I'm giving it a four because it gave me almost everything i needed for my game development projects.
Its ease of use is also getting a four, because it took about a week for me to learn how to properly use it and program with it.
Im giving Stability and Performance a five because its very stable in its design and performs well on any computer.
Support is getting a four because i received almost instant replies and feedback on its forum community.
As a point of advice, i recommend that new users take a look at Ogre3D, the core of Neoaxis, as it will greatly help you to further understand how Neoaxis Engine works.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

Unparalled feature set

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 xposure Oct 09, 2007 at 08:10

I can not believe that I just stumbled across this engine, I've digged through devmasters list of engines countless times. One day I just decided to give it another go to see if anyone has actually put together an affordable and decently designed package. NeoAxis was it, its in .NET which gives you all the added bonus of managed code and you extend the game by writing .net code, not some limited scripting language based off some "basic stamp".

I think NeoAxis has a bright and strong future. It gives me the ability to focus on game logic in a very nice entity system design. I don't have to be worried about writing Outdoor/indoor scenemanagers or hit test code or physics math.

NeoAxis can easily be considered "the programmers" Game Development SDK. I use the language I'm most comfortable with (C#) to extend classes for added functionality.

Let me give a quick demo of what I accomplished in a few hours, maybe this will help others decide if the engine is right for them.

-Added energy support for all guns (they no longer take bullets)
-Added monster respawn points
-Added moster drop items, like tokens (money), health, and energy
-Added character accuracy, armor, defense, damage modifier etc
-Added "influences" for things like auto-regen of energy and health
-Added experience points system to monsters (includes character development)

(A few hours translates to 6-7 hrs through out a single day)
(I spent probably 3-4 days off and on researching the engine)

I consider myself an active member of the community on the NeoAxis forums, so stop by and drop us a line.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

Realy greate engine

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 gluk_ripgames Oct 02, 2007 at 19:35

Engine very qualitative, flexible and convenient. The best midleware what i could see's. Support of NAE very duly and fast. More key features and more documentation and NAE was the best! =)

----
Regards
Sory for my english

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

Greatest Engine I've Ever Tried!!!

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 tizan25 Sep 09, 2007 at 20:54

NeoAxis Engine is a very cool game engine.
It includes a lot of the great features current gamers are looking in their games, and its very easy to implement all of them through a very intuitive and easy to use toolset including a WYSIWYG map editor for creating worlds and a resource editor with very advanced editing features for all your game content.

In the other hand, its a very stable engine and, even if it is mostly written in C#, it has a great performance, which gets better in every release.

The neoaxis engine is upgraded constantly (almost every month) and it has great support and a big comunity forum.

All this said, the NAE is a great choice for any game developer and will surely bring your gaming ideas to life.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

Finally a worthy Game Engine for Indies and Individuals

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 DodongoXP Sep 06, 2007 at 21:07

i was involved in a research of epic proportions for the right game engine right for me and my situation..

i did the infamous pattern of trying the most famous ones ( dark basic, torque ,3dgs ) but just found frustration and dissapointment...

until i found neoaxis engine

honestly with neoaxis i finally see the light and the posibility to make my projects come true

neoaxis has an impressive simplicity and robust features .. however programming experience is required as in any other engine

but the use of C# and the .NET framework and OGRE3D for rendering .. makes the use of this engine a breeze.. because you have the easyness of C# and the graphic power of ogre3d with all its glorius eye candy.. without the need of ever touching C++ unecessary complexities..
supports HDR and shader models 1.1, 1.2, 1.3, 1.4, 2.0, 2.0a and 3.0

the engine was made with net wrappers so the graphics part isnt managed so its fast as it uses the native ogre3d 1.4 eihort libraries so it has support for both directx and opengl

as audio uses a abstract wrapper to openal and fmod(requires license)...

as physics uses also an abstract wrapper to ODE or Physx (both free) so you can use whatever you want

and most importantly its the flexibility of the engine.. it has a robust framework to work with..

includes 2 editors.

a visual map editor with logic editor

and a resource editor to manage your assets and configure entity properties

and has the hability to expand ,improve or create new game types and game entities...so it has an amazing degree of freedom on game genres

..please small indie teams and individuals forget about any other engines and do yourselves a favor and try the neoxis demo to see it for your self

Cheers
a very pleased neoaxis user

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

Untapped Potential

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 Richard_Kain Sep 01, 2007 at 06:50

My biggest complaint about NeoAxis is that it isn't being used as extensively as it deserves to be. Honestly, I was surprised when I stumbled across this engine. I wasn't expecting half of what I found.

NeoAxis is quite possibly the most user-friendly game engine I've ever attempted to use. (and I've scoured devmaster's engine database) In a surprisingly short amount of time, I was able to utilize most of its features. I tweaked and altered UI's. I was able to construct scripted sequences in its level editor with full animated camera controls. I imported a room I had constructed in Blender, and then filled it with props. Then I rigged all those props with physics models, and blasted them around like popcorn.

The .mesh format it uses makes it extremely easy to get models into the engine. The Ogre3D rendering system it uses is extremely feature-rich, with access to advanced shading techniques. The map and resource editing tools are its crown gem. Adapting and previewing resources for the engine is made fool-proof in the resource editor. And you can construct almost any scenario you want in the map editor. Full WYSIWYG support and quick-preview. I especially liked being able to "inhabit" selected cameras to preview viewing angles.

I docked it one point on features because it is still lacking some options that I would like to see added. Thankfully, the current version has a freeware license for hobbyists, so you can actually make your own changes using Visual C# Express. I had no complaints with ease of use. Easily one of the best engines I've come across in that regard. For stability and performance, I dinged it a little bit for frame drops when lots of physics are being calculated, and some drops in FPS when dealing with the UI. Any decent machine will handle it with ease, but a lot of older machines will find themselves chugging. It never crashed on me, so stability is quite good. The support is actually great. The author is Russian, but he communicates the best that he can, and regularly. The community is small, but very helpful. The only reason I dropped it a star there was because the author is still only one man, and the community is still small. This would become even better if more people started using NeoAxis.

Overall, I would say that I was very pleased with my experiences with this engine.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

Easy and Powerful engine

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 susan Aug 24, 2007 at 13:20

Hi,

I send my regards to the developer for keeping in touch with us in the community fourm and responding to us in almost daily bases.

This engine is not hard to develop a game. The demos are the most fun part of the overall experience. check them out! each one represents a feature of the engine, each room is designed to let you play around with it and see what you can do and go further as well!
The physics are extremely fun to play with, whenever I try to check the latest updates of the engine I pass by some old demos to play more, I never had this experience in previous game engines.

The engine architecture is the best I have seen, so easy to use. some rooms have logic to its setup, like releasing gas from specific places and if you press a button it will turns it into flames, more cool stuff in the demos..so you can see how easy you can do the same if you plan to do something similar to this, while other rooms in the demo doesn't require any programming to create the same if its setup to function very basic while the logic editor takes it further.

The tutorials are included in the SDK so you can check them out (how to create a windmill, and more..) its not that hard or bad either ! I wonder why some have found it bad or hard to follow, its easly explained in short sentences along with screenshots, a step by step, so if someone feels there is something wrong that needs improvements or addition to the tutorials please post it in the community! and we will see what we can help the developer with. I can't imagine how the developer is capable to do everything for everyone and releases new update every few weeks. The fourm welcomes everyone for any suggestions and improvements.

Basic AI intelligence is in the engine until later releases to advance it or you can build it yourself by the logic editor, I personally waiting for it to mature further, everything else like as shaders, terrain editor, physics, and more are easy to create and implant to your level or map, not to forget several demos to demonstrate different types of Genres (Real time strategy game, First person shooter, turret action demo!, breakable objects which falls into pieces and still has physics in them! it gets crazy and efficent how everything is handled in the engine, fan/wind effects, and the list goes on.. check it out, not only the demos but the editors too! see the documents and experiment yourself, if you need any questions check first in the fourms (search), some people have the similar question in their mind, search the fourm before you post your question)

I am working with NeoAxis for a project and its looking good!

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

Easy? More than easy.

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 Crill Aug 22, 2007 at 10:38

I was looking for easy and flexible engine. I have found it. NeoAxis Engine is fast growing engine that supports a lot of new technologies. All of them documented and included in examples so you can look how it works.

One of the best side of engine it's FREE not-commercial license and cheep price for feature development.

It's still in Alpha version and have some bugs, but have nice stability.

So it looks very promising and well make engine.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

Finally an engine and editor for Ogre3D

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 Scarpelius Aug 19, 2007 at 20:55

I've been lurking ogre forum from the beginning and this is the first time i have seen a stable and easy to use engine and editor. I just started today to play with the map editor and resource editor and is incredible how easy is to work with them.
I have big expectation from this engine because i want to base my future activity on Neoaxis.
Good job Ivan keep it up.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

Excellent Package

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 Splug Aug 18, 2007 at 14:15

I can't begin to tell you how many times I've tried tried several 'complete development packages' only to find out

A. There was limited to no support
B. The community had limited to no knowledge on it's workings.
C. The creator(s) had limited to no contact with the community.
D. Limited to no feature upgrades over the length of it's existence generally causing it's death.
E. See comment A!

NeoAxis has completely and utterly fulfilled all of my past complaints.

The support is amazing, the creator generally answers questions same day and sometimes, within hours of asking! To me, this is absolutely imperative to any product you are trying to sell or even give away.

The feature list is growing, with each release (currently.46) and the releases are happening generally, once a month. Here is a current list of the last upgrade(release patch)

- StaticGeometry: Opportunity to move, rotate and scale objects. An opportunity to work by means of gizmo. Various additional options.
- ShaderBase material: 4 diffuse textures, texture animations, clamping, choice of texture channels
- Sky domes
- WaterPlane: Reflections (simple method), fog, splashes
- Sound System: Opportunity of reception of a sound from a microphone
- RenderDemo is updated
- CraneDemo is updated
- SoundDemo is updated. Example of reception of a sound from a microphone and generation of a sound from a code
- Map Editor: Button "Focus Camera to Object"
- Documentation: Tutorials is updated
- Scene Management: Correct work of cameras with reflections
- Resource Editor: The tool for moving axes of meshes
- HeightmapTerrain: Now supports ps_2_0. (early ps_2_x and above)
- Game options: Opportunity of a choice of a level of water reflections
- Work of gpu programs cache is improved
- Indoor Scene Manager is optimized
- Shape: Property SpecialLiquidDensity. For adjustment of special density in water.
- Bug fix: ShaderBase material: Incorrect work of spot light sources
- Bug fix: ShaderBase material: Incorrect work an alpha blending with a fog
- Bug fix: Wrong serialization of layers in the Map Editor
- Bug fix: In some cases invalid work of WaterPlane and SkyBox during simulation
- Bug fix: Wrong detection of visibility of flares at the switched on shadows
- Bug fix: Problems of a relative mouse mode on the multimonitor systems
- Bug fix: Map Editor: Incorrect work Undo/Redo at creation/removal of objects
- Bug fix: Bullet: Wrong orientation of bullets with gravitation
- Bug fix: Door: Twitching mesh at closing a door
- Bug fix: Invalid work of occluders in some cases
- Bug fix: Error of creation of new type on base of class Turret

You owe it to yourself, in my opinion, to give this engine a look!

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

Great engine w/ great community and developer

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 crazy8john Aug 01, 2007 at 16:00

This engine has excellent features, is very powerful, and easy to use. The demo has features such full ragdoll physics, heightmapped terrain, interactive in-game panels (ala Doom 3), various mapping techniques, and even HDR. All features in the demo are built into the SDK and are very easy to add to your own games. The C# scripting is harder than the scripting in some engines but it is generally more functional. Models can be imported using the OGRE tools from major 3d apps.
The community is very helpful and the developer is the best I've seen to date. Releases are always on time (roughly once per month) and always include bug fixes and features the community requested in addition to other features. Certain features like multiplayer support and more complex AI is not implemented yet but is planned. Development is progressing rapidly.
In addition to the commercial licenses, there is a free non-commercial license and a $100 commercial indie license.
I highly recommend you download the demo and check it out. If you have any questions or problems the community will be eager to hear them!

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

Actual Production

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 JekaX Jul 23, 2007 at 07:11

Great technology!Fast prototyping.Great flexebility.Shaders things are good to.Tools are easy to learn.Content creation fast.
NeoAxis has great prespectives with development .
As well as flexebility of engine and tools give unlimited power.
I use it for last 3 month.
By the way you can download SDK and look at this! :)

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

One of the highest potential game engines in the market today.

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 KeeperOfLogic Jul 22, 2007 at 21:47

I've been searching for a good game solution for many months and this is my last stop. No, it's not perfect right now but it already has so many things that other (commercial) engines lack.

This is not only an engine, but (almost) a complete gaming/VR solution which comes with:
Map editor, Resource manager, Entity type editor, Gui Editor , Particle system editor, and Physics model editor.

You write your game in any C# IDE, so you get the full benefits of using it. And since the engine and your game logics are all compiled, it runs very fast.

The render is based on OGRE, which is one of the most advanced open source graphics engine. Go to OGRE site and see for yourself.

As a former HL programmer and Map maker, I know that one of the most complicated things in game engine is the connection between maps, entities and their code. In NewAxis, the unique architecture makes it all very easy to understand and implement. And since the demo comes with a full FPS and RTS games working, you can easily start making the game you want. But beware -the multilayer support is not yet implemented (although you could implement one yourself with 3rd party libs).

The engine is still in beta but new versions come almost every month. The other big disadvantage is the lack of good documentation, although forum reply is very fast.
However, the code is so transparent and simple to understand that it took me one day to underastand how the engine works.

For conculstion, this engine is not ment for first time comers or people who are afraid of programming. It is ment for seroius Indie game makers who are looking to create a robust full working game.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

good engine

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 the_one Jul 16, 2007 at 16:42

hi >>>
i have been lockin for a good engine for a long time
and these engine ( i think) is the one ...
in features i give it 4 becose it have the next-g features

and for ease of use it gets 3 , its ease but not the easest

and in Stability & Performance he gets the full mark 5 , the Performance of it are superb!

and the support it gets also the full mark 5 , onse you anser you get anserd imeditly !

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

It LOOKS good

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 darksmaster923 Mar 25, 2007 at 21:51

I havent used this engine, so im just going with what the features, screens, and documentation says.
Features: Looks good, good graphics.
Ease of Use: This looks very easy to use, with the documentation.
Perforance: Looks like it can handle alot of stuff
Support: The forums seem pretty good, but only like 10 members.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

Suggest Edits

Last edited Jan 04, 2014 at 09:04