DX Studio

Engine-default

Website:
http://www.dxstudio.com/

Developer:
Worldweaver Ltd.

Launched:
Not specified

Status:
Active

Supported Platforms:
Windows

Languages Written In:
C/C++, C#, Visual Basic 6, VB.NET

Languages Supported:
C/C++, C#, Visual Basic 6, VB.NET

Graphics APIs:
DirectX

Rating:
  (35 reviews)

Editor:
None (be one!)

DX Studio is a complete integrated development environment for creating interactive 3D graphics. The system comprises of both a real-time 3D engine and a suite of editing tools.

The engine allows JavaScript control of everything from changing the background to editing meshes in real-time. You can also command and control documents from outside of the player using the ActiveX/COM interface.

Using DX Studio you can build complete real-time interactive applications, simulations or games, for standalone use or for embedding in other Microsoft Office/Visual Studio applications.

The playback engine in both EXE and ActiveX DLL forms can be redistributed without any further royalties.

Supported Features

General

  • Object-Oriented Design
  • Plug-in Architecture
  • Save/Load System
  • Other
  • 3D Modeller
  • Resource Editor
  • Document Encryption
  • Rebranding
  • Streaming Scenes/Meshes/Textures
  • XML/ZIP standards
  • Shell Integration
  • Fixed-function
  • Raycasting
  • Render-to-Texture
  • Fonts
  • GUI

Lighting

  • Per-vertex
  • Per-pixel
  • Lightmapping
  • Radiosity
  • Gloss maps
  • Anisotropic
  • Emissive maps
  • Gradient based reflection for metals

Shadows

  • Shadow Mapping
  • Shadow Volume
  • Shadow maps can be built/recreated at runtime
  • Vertex shader shadows

Texturing

  • Basic
  • Multi-texturing
  • Bumpmapping
  • Mipmapping
  • Volumetric
  • Procedural
  • Specular mapping
  • Opacity mapping
  • Bump mapping

Shaders

  • Vertex
  • Pixel
  • High Level
  • Ability to define your own material from a FX file
  • Change shader parameters from script
  • Graceful degradation to fixed function pipeline for older cards

Meshes

  • Mesh Loading
  • Skinning
  • Tessellation
  • Deformation
  • Imports FBX, DAE (COLLADA), X, 3DS, LWO, OBJ, DXF, WRL
  • Run-time mesh generation and vertex morphing

Scene Management

  • General
  • BSP
  • LOD
  • Stream scenes in the background to avoid loading screens
  • Area visibility

Animation

  • Keyframe Animation
  • Skeletal Animation
  • Facial Animation
  • Animation Blending

Terrain

  • Rendering DTED support

Physics

  • Basic Physics
  • Collision Detection
  • Rigid Body
  • Vehicle Physics
  • Constraints
  • Complete integrated physics engine (Bullet) and collision detection system
  • Ageia PhysX implementation

Networking

  • Client-Server
  • Client/Server networking via sockets, with automatic discovery and GUID protection
  • Call remote script functions

Artificial Intelligence

  • Pathfinding
  • Decision Making
  • Finite State Machines
  • Scripted
  • Neural Networks

Sound

  • 2D Sound
  • 3D Sound
  • Streaming Sound
  • Streaming Video
  • Multiple simultaneous video channels
  • Streaming Live Capture
  • Compatible media file formats include WAV, MPEG, AVI, MP3 and OGG

Tools & Editors

Drill down from document, to scene, to mesh, to vertex, to texture map.

Scripting

  • Fully scriptable (JavaScript) for all events and actions
  • Complete runtime control of effects, meshes, materials, backgrounds, etc possible via script
  • File, Web and XML classes provided

Special Effects

  • Environment Mapping
  • Lens Flares
  • Billboarding
  • Particle System
  • Depth of Field
  • Motion Blur
  • Sky
  • Water
  • Fire
  • Explosion
  • Decals
  • Fog
  • Weather
  • Complete external DirectX plugin support
  • Post production effects (including bloom, fuzzy tv, camera shake, sepia)
  • Cube-mapped environments supported for display and reflections
  • Radial Blur
  • Animated Textures (with GIF support)

Licensing

License Name Price in $US Source Code Included?
Proprietary Free No
Free for commercial use

Write a Review

Showing 26-35 of 35

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful

workflow

  by 530446b194d72d7412d45ed06271f830 Alberto Apr 04, 2008 at 20:10

I am familiar with 4 other game engines

I must say DXSTUDIO is by far the best one as far as the workflow is concerned ,thanks to its intuitive engine architecture

Also the choice of javascript as programming language has definitly been a good decision
Its event driven, semi - object oriented architecture makes this script language particulary suitable for game programming

I know that a lot of people may disagree but in my opinion the workflow is definitly the most important feature for a game engine

Graphic quality mainly depends on the artist
The engine , every engine, can do very little for you

there are still some minor stability problems manily for importing animated files

The speed should be also improved
This engine has been originally designed for virtual reality rather than for games , maybe this is the reason why it is a little slower than the other ones I own

Last but not least the comunity is fantastic

I have never seen a group of so nice and competent members, not to mention the excellent support provided by the development team

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Definitely the Game Engine to go with !

  by C895d58104c6710b1c665994d43a993f Dromac_J Dec 14, 2007 at 14:51

I have tried Torque,3D Gamestudio,Unity,DarkBasic Pro.
DXStudio beats them all.

In case you are wandering what the heck I am talking about.
Well,after downloading the freeware edition and giving it a try I can surely say:

1. DXStudio has the most easy to use interface that I have ever seen in a 3D/2D game engine. It's like every tool is talking to each other. You can compare DXStudio to other Game Engines,just like you would compare Maya to other 3D packages. DXStudio is defenitely the "Maya" among Game Engines.

2. DXStudio uses a very easy to use version of JavaScript called ECMA,which makes programming very easy. And even with JavaScripting in DXStudio,after compiling your game to an .EXE file,the preformance is amazing. You get almost 98% of the performance of C++.
So you do not have to worry about C++ programming,but use the easy JavaScript and still get the C++ power. I like it !

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Very nice !

  by 196b079e8583300115e1f888ef36c3ac Mike86 Dec 14, 2007 at 13:36

I came upon this engine about a while ago,and I have to say that it's the most flexible,most powerful and most easy to use engine available on the market.
The features and ease of use allow you to have a simple prototype to a full working game up and running in no time !

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Amazing

  by A8549098f529b5c87a5730ccdb81a41e Slaine Dec 06, 2007 at 14:55

This is an outstanding engine, in all ways too, all the editors are there you need to create most things, shaders are all there which you need in most games, with the ability to easily add extra shaders from good shader applications! the level editor is excellent allowing you to accomplish what you would need to make a game, with tutorials to run you through the runnings of the engine, which are very helpfull.

Features:
I have given it a 4 star because there wasn't a 3.5 and it's better than 3, reason being there is an annoying feature missing, there is no real-time soft shadows, so you are stuffed when it comes to casting shadows with opacity mapped objects (trees), this is an industry standard effect and this engine is classed as commercial, whoops.

[EDITED] I have just found out this feature will be implemented on next release, which is January, so I will adjust features to 5 star then.

Ease of use:
This engine is very easy to use, but 4 starts because there isn't a resource editor, eg. you can't setup (as far as I can tell) objects with effects attached to them, so then you can just drop them onto your map with the effects already there, the way you have to do it is drop all your objects onto your map, i.e. houses for a town, then you have to go over every object in the editor and attach smoke for the chimneys for example, every single one!! Other than that the engine is capable of making games fluently.

Stability and perf:
Great, very fast.

Support:
Again very good!

At the end of the day, if you are going to make a game, and it's not totally AAA (graphically) then this is your engine, there is no scary classes to program, missing chunks, it's all there, ready to be built into an exe.

Well done.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Thank goodness for an engine like this

  by 1d272bc6f0bb14aa91f922cbf02c9b15 enthuse Nov 01, 2007 at 16:58

I don't know how much weight my review will carry since I'm just an enthusiastic novice in the world of 3D. I have tried a lot of engines but so far DXStudio hasn't disappointed me yet as much as the others. I'm working on a project right now and with DXS I was able to start on an RTS game complete with a working navigation map. That may not be a big deal but for a newbie that is really something. I don't think I will ever have the time to learn C++, much less program a navigation map with it. JavaScript is easy to learn and so is the DXS gui. I might consider buying an indie license but the support doesn't seem adequate. I can just imagine how much easier my project will be if I had my hands on a complete user's guide. The release might be worth waiting for. Thumbs up, Worldweaver.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Better Than Unity And On A PC...

  by 12fb49b1250d9efc03246d6441eee911 The_D Oct 15, 2007 at 14:21

I hate giving 5 stars across the board for anything, so I gave DXStudio a 4 in stability/performance. It's actually very stable, and performs probably better than any engine I've ever seen like it (and I've seen a lot of them). I gave it a 4 in that field only because they've still got a couple "luxuries" to include, and even the DXStudio team is still trying to figure out how to do certain things with it. Outside of that, there seems to be a way to do almost anything with this engine.

This isn't a a hardcore first person shooter or mmorpg engine, although you could pull those off with it way easier than with many other engines. This is a general purpose, all you can eat, incredibly easy to use, deploys to exe and webbrowsers, fully networked, super-smart engine for dummies and experts alike. I have never seen an easier interface. I THOUGHT I had when I was a Unity user. I have abandoned my Unity system (as much as I love them) and am fully addicted to DXStudio. In my first week, I accomplished what took me months to pull off with Unity. It's like an even easier, more powerful version of Unity but for the PC. I'm sure someone will get angry that I said that, but I'm standing by it. Don't let the crappy graphics on their site fool you... If you've been around other "general use/virtual world/viz'ing" engines, and you even try the free version of DX Studio, you will soon be posting a happy review here like I have...

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Pays attention to the details most others don't

  by 173c7d6a79561c2a3fc4cfc799107506 karmamule Sep 08, 2007 at 14:58

DX Studio stands out because they pay attention to the details other engines don't. They have excellent documentation, lots of tutorials easily available from within the application, and they even build in simple modeling with all their other tools. Rather than having the tools be a collection of separate apps, they are all easily available within the main DX Studio application itself.

They use javascript for their scripting language, and the built-in editor has code completion, which comes in very handy when you're getting up-to-speed with their API.

On rare occasions it has crashed, but that was the exception rather than the rule. The developers pay close attention to the forum and respond very quickly to user questions.

After looking through many of the other engines, this was the one on the PC that best balanced ease-of-use with a deep feature set and excellent documentation.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Great Software Package

  by Cc53bd2e40a65024db59a7db47b7c99e paulroberts Sep 04, 2007 at 20:18

I started using DX Studio (in my spare time) about a month ago to create an interactive demo of a new house I'm planning to build.
I've not done much modelling or programming before so it was a bit daunting, but DX Studio has a very simple interface and I was able to build and place models quickly.
I also found the material editor easy to use and have been able to add some great (free) textures for my hand made clay tiles, bricks and windows (though I did need to email support to figure out that I had to adjust the UV mapping to get the sizes right, doh).
The free model library has also been very useful, though I could do with a few more plants & bushes please!

I got the house, garage, garden, fences, trees, etc all looking pretty good a couple of weeks ago and since then have been adding in some functionality. So far I have managed to add in a tour around the house and garden (using waypoints), getting the camera to follow a character around and a car going up the driveway, and used some bitmap buttons with sounds to change from day to night.

I showed what I had done so far to my architect the other day and he was v.impressed and reckons we should use it as part of the planning application!!!

Anyway, I'm now wondering what else I can do with this! I guess it's going to be limited by my ability, but I've always fancied making a game - maybe one based around building a house ;)

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Gets you hooked in no time

  by F652271cbe736cd69766c456bb13d8d2 StereoMike Sep 04, 2007 at 10:29

I read alot of reviews and tested some 3D engines /studios when I read the comment of somebody saying DXstudio would be soo easy to work with. I tried the free version and I got immediately stuck.
The concept is great, it's easy to do simple stuff, yet you can do far more complex scenes when you code some scripts for your application. And it's javascript compliant, very easy to grasp.

The features built in right now are great, and the ones coming sound awesome too.

DXstudio never crashed here. Bugfixing your scripts is also easy, you get a lot of error messages.

The support belongs to the best on the planet I guess.
You get an answer on in-depth questions within few hours, even minutes.
Feature requests are taken seriously and are often found in the next minor release.

The community is also willing to help, and due to the way the forum works, people often let each other see their code and let each other testdrive the projects.

Try out the free version, you can't do anything wrong.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful

Great New Version

  by 62f66e80303780ad35399e3eedc2a151 Dino3842 Sep 04, 2007 at 10:16

I took a look at this engine a year ago, and although it promised a lot there were too many issues to really make it useable in a commercial environment.

However, I've just downloaded the latest v2.1 and it seems everything promised has been delivered! You get per pixel lighting with normal maps, skinned meshes, dynamic shadows, A* pathfinding, integrated physics, pixel shader post processing and other high end features - all working, all easy to use and most importantly it's giving me awesome results.

The forums seem pretty active too now, so it looks like this is going to be a long term winner.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

Suggest Edits

Last edited Jun 24, 2012 at 03:22

Are your the owner of this engine? Let us know to be able to update it, and reply to reviews, and other benefits.