3DGameStudio

Engine default

Website:
http://www.3dgamestudio.com/

Developer:
Conitec Datasystems

Launched:
Not specified

Status:
Active

Supported Platforms:
Windows

Languages Written In:
C/C++, Delphi

Languages Supported:
C/C++, Delphi

Graphics APIs:
DirectX

Rating:
  (82 reviews)

Editor:
None (be one!)

Gamestudio is a fast and easy authoring system for interactive 2D and 3D applications - especially video games, multimedia tools, or simulations. It offers three levels of access: click-together, scripting, and C++, C#, or Delphi APIs.

Supported Features

General

  • Object-Oriented Design
  • Plug-in Architecture
  • Save/Load System
  • Automatic selection of own or hardware based T&L for maximum performance on old and new 3D hardware
  • DLL plugin interface
  • Arbitrary axis rotations for space and flight simulators
  • Path tracking for camera, actors or vehicles
  • Fixed-function
  • Render-to-Texture
  • 3D views and movies can be rendered to curved surfaces
  • Six degrees of freedom, multiple cameras and render views
  • Material properties for static and dynamic objects
  • Animated 3D sprites and decals
  • 2D renderer for still images, 2D sprites, panels, buttons, sliders, overlays, Truetype and bitmap fonts, screenshots and movies
  • Mouse picking and manipulating of 3D objects
  • Environment Mapping
  • Lens Flares
  • Billboarding
  • Particle System
  • Sky
  • Water
  • Fog
  • Mirror
  • Programmable particle and beam generators
  • Sky system with animated layers and backdrop bitmaps
  • 3D views and movies can be rendered to curved surfaces, for distortion or fisheye effects
  • Colored fog areas
  • Programmable 2D and 3D effects like lens flares, bullet holes, cartoon rendering etc
  • Slow motion / quick motion effect
  • Dynamic decal system for bullet holes, foot prints, tire marks etc.

Lighting

  • Per-vertex
  • Per-pixel
  • Lightmapping
  • Static and dynamic point, spot, and directional light sources
  • Light Manager for an unlimited number of dynamic light sources

Shadows

  • Shadow Mapping
  • Projected planar
  • Shadow Volume
  • Stencil shadows and 24-bit level surfaces
  • Static and dynamic shadow mapping
  • Decal, Stencil, and PSSM shadows

Texturing

  • Basic
  • Multi-texturing
  • Bumpmapping
  • Mipmapping
  • Trilinear mip mapping
  • Multitexturing (up to 8 textures), light maps, detail textures
  • Material properties for static and dynamic objects

Shaders

  • Vertex
  • Pixel
  • Object and postprocessing shaders
  • Shader viewer and editor
  • 40 shader templates

Meshes

  • Mesh Loading
  • Skinning
  • Deformation

Scene Management

  • General
  • BSP
  • PVS
  • LOD
  • Seamless indoor and outdoor support
  • BSP Tree for indoor, Adaptive Binary Tree for outdoor levels

Animation

  • Keyframe Animation
  • Skeletal Animation
  • Morphing
  • Animation Blending

Terrain

  • Rendering
  • Deformable heightmap terrain
  • Continuous LOD mesh generation and mip-mapping
  • Multiple tiled textures and shadow mapping
  • Seamless integration with the indoor engine

Physics

  • Basic Physics
  • Collision Detection
  • Rigid Body
  • Vehicle Physics
  • Polygon level collision detection for terrain and 3D objects
  • nVidia(R) PhysX subsystem with hardware acceleration
  • Hinge, ball, wheel, slider, and 6D joints
  • User-customizable raycast vehicle simulation
  • Physics engine supports gravity, mass, damping, elasticity, friction, and hinge, ball, wheel, and slider joints

Networking

  • Client-Server
  • Master Server Multizone/multiserver support for massive online multiplayer games

Artificial Intelligence

  • Pathfinding
  • Decision Making
  • Finite State Machines
  • Scripted Full scripting language and DLL interface plus a large library of pre-built AI.

Sound

  • 3D Sound
  • Supports wav,mid,ogg,CD, mp3,avi, and mpg
  • 3D sound sources with Doppler effect

Tools & Editors

Level, Model, and Script editors included.

Scripting

  • Starting users can use the large library of pre-made scripts. Can create an entire game without writing any code!
  • More advanced users can use the built in script language to have full control over the everything in the game.
  • Expert users can interface to the engine using C/C++ or Delphi.

Licensing

License Name Price in $US Source Code Included?
Proprietary Free No
Free Edition - Comes with A8 engine, script debugger, model and level editors.
Proprietary $99.00 No
Extra Edition - Adds script compiler and artwork library.
Proprietary $199.00 No
Commercial Edition - Adds network and shader support.
Proprietary $899.00 No
Pro Edition - Removes 3DGameStudio logo and includes 12 months support

Write a Review

Showing 76-82 of 82

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful

3D Gamestudio is simply the best

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 varthlokkur Aug 19, 2004 at 19:26

Gamestudio is just that, a full suite of tools for creating any type of 2d or 3d game.

It includes the engine, a world editor, a model editor and its own scripting language with an editor. It also comes with a physics engine and Multi-player client/server mode for LAN and Internet or (TCP/IP, UDP) Multizone/multiserver support for massive online multiplayer games.

The engine is extrememly stable and has very few bugs, even upon release of new versions.

For the price of e commercial version you wont find a better more stable product that comes complete with everything you need to start learning how to create your own games.

Support is simply the best. The community is always willing to help out on the message boards. Also you can recieve help directly from the developers from time to time. They read, post and ask for ideas everyday.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Great Value

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 bupaje Aug 17, 2004 at 22:34

I've been poking around at 3D Game Studio for about 18 months now and am very satisfied with the level of support -both the 'official' support and the support from the very active community. The level editor is easy to use as are the other included tools. I'm more artist than programmer so I haven't produced spectacular examples of programming but I have been able to build my levels, set up the lighting and use the prebuilt scripts and code examples posted by members to do walkthroughs, add particle and other simple effects and interaction in a straightforward fashion.

I think 3D Game Studio is a great value due to its price, reliability, feature set and excellent support.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful

My favorite

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 Geusen Aug 12, 2004 at 07:53

Above all, this is the easiest to use system I have found, which at the same time has most impressive features like its physics engine. The new version that came out yesterday also has fluid physics. The only disadvantage is that its C scripting language is only a subset of C, you can not define your own structs. But they are developing a new compiler that supports user defined structs and data types. When this is finished the system will be perfect.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Very complete perfectly balanced engine

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 Martin1 Aug 11, 2004 at 13:34

This is the best game development system I found. Very easy to start with but enough deep features to keep you addicted. Its amazing what you can achieve with very little programming.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful

GameStudio is good; C-Script is okay...

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 Grayson Aug 11, 2004 at 05:27

Hi! I'm Grayson from the 3D GameStudio forum (www.3dgamestudio.com).

If you're new to game developement and are looking to create your own games, 3D GameStudio is the right for you. 3D GameStudio contains 3 editors for you to get started in creating games.

WED - World Editor (has been named to 3D GameStudio as of 6.22)
WED is a "World Editor" and acts like a game creation tool. This is the editor for adding blocks, sprites (also known as billboards and are used for a glass, poster on the wall, stop signs, etc.), models, lights, anything you wish to have for your game. The map compiler is built into WED for compiling all the blocks (for Binary Space Partition (or BSP, for short) and lightmaps). When you're ready to test your game, all you have to do is to save your game, compile, and run your level. WED allows you to customize template scripts without having to do any coding. Without having to write code for your game (if you're a beginner), you can change the screen resolution, color depth, camera position, player's run speed, etc. For example, you can create a new block, size it as big enough, hollow the block, add the default texture, add a model (I use cbabe.mdl for test levels), save my level, then now comes to add templates to a test level. So, I add two script files (WED automatically adds files as needed by the script you added) which is the first person camera and a player script, then I add the player action to the player's model (cbabe.mdl). After that, I compile, run the level, and there I go! When I do this, I have created a simple 3-D room with the model! You can use the W for up, D for down, A for step-left and R for step-right in the keyboard BUT if you're not comfortable with the setup, you can customize the player's input script. For example, I have changed the mouse look to off since I don't like using the mouse when playing 3D games, I change the walk forward key to up, backwards to down, turn left for left arrow key, and turn right for the right arrow key. For walking sideways, I choose W for step-left and R for step-right and for looking up and down, Q for looking up and T for looking down and vice versa. Anyway, that's all I have for WED. If you want, take a look at the WED tutorial located at:
http://www.conitec.net/a4update.htm and find Level Design Tutorial English.

MED (Model Editor and a terrain editor built into one application)
For MED, I won't cover that much since it's very basic and I haven't been used that much. However, if you have used Milkshape3D, you can export your model to MS3D ASCII and import it to MED but there's a version of Milkshape 3D which is 1.7.1 and is the latest version. You can use MED as an importing tool to import your models and save it as 3DGameStudio's own format, MDL7 (bones animation) and MDL5 (without bones animation).

SED: Script Editor
With SED, you can create your own C-Script code for your 3D GameStudio project. It contains a syntax hilighter, code indention like when you type main() and in the next line you type in "{" and press Enter, SED automatically indents the number of spaces to specified number of spaces in the Configuration dialog box. However, in the Configuration dialog box, you will have to specify where you installed 3DGS in but not to add the "\bin" at the end as SED will find the "Acknex.exe" inside the bin folder. Otherwise, you will get the "Acknex.exe not exist" error message when you run the scipt. Also, when you want to run the script, you will have to specify what WDL file you want to load.

For those who're going to get Professional Edition of 3DGS, there's going to be a feature in 6.3 called a Split Engine Archeticture, which allows you to use your own knowledge of programming languages (like Visual Basic) to program your own game if you don't want to use C-Script. However, if you don't have Pro and you don't want to learn C-Script (note that there's going to be an ANSI-C comming sometime soon), you will have to save up your money to buy Professionla Edition. The reason for this is the DLL engine interface is a Pro feature, so if you don't like learning C syntax and you want to apply your knowledge of Visual Basic, Visual Basic .net, or C#.net, you're out of luck (including me but I'm going to be getting Pro sometime next year).

If you have more than two computers in your apartment/house, you can create 4-player multi-player games with Commercial but if you want to build a Massively Multiplayer Online Games (MMOG) like MMORPG (Massively Multiplayer Online Role Player Game), you will have to buy Pro but to me, I don't see a need for multi-player so I can't tell you how good is the 3DGS's network engine.

So, if you're new to game developement, buy 3D GameStudio. I would like to recommand Commercial to have a couple more features not found in Standard and Extra such as higher resolutions, support for playing MP3s and CDs, etc. but if you do have lots of money and want render-to-texture feature and want to use mirrors, buy Pro! Keep in mind, however, 3DGS is mainly created for indoor games like First Person Shooter, Third Person Shooter, etc. And if you'd really want to apply your knowledge like Visual Basic or C#, save up your money and buy Pro. After that, update your Pro edition to 6.3. But 6.3's a beta version of 3DGS, so if you find bugs you have with 3DGS A6 6.3, please post it either in:

Engine Bug Hunt:
http://www.conitecserver.com/ubbthreads/postlist.php?Cat=&Board=UBB6

Editors Bug Hunt:
http://www.conitecserver.com/ubbthreads/postlist.php?Cat=&Board=UBB29

Anyway, here's the link to 3DGameStudio's home page:
www.3dgamestudio.com

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Matt Reviews 3d Gamestudio (3dgs A6)

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 MattColes Aug 11, 2004 at 04:51

I've been using 3d gamestudio for about 2 years now, I've had looks and plays around with all the other high class engines such as the Half Life 2 one, but I feel that 3d gamestudio is the best one as it is a complete game making package. Everything you need is contained within. Model Editor, Versatile and Easy Script Editor, World Editor, Shader Editor Now, and skinning tools.
It is also updated very often and the physics engine is excellent, the optional AI, razorAI is first class!

It's very inexpensive compared to all the other engines in it's class, so it won't hit you in the pocket too hard

Excellent community to help you with your projects, very friendly...

Supports all the modern features like normal mapping, multiplayer zone, shaders, bones, and everything else.

It's very quick and easy to produce top knotch work. The screenshots on this site for 3d gamestudio are pretty old and there are much more remarkable looking things being made now.

If you don't have it, THEN GET IT NOW!!!!
It's A++ Grade

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Best engine for quick prototyping

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 Leonard Aug 10, 2004 at 14:04

I used Blitz Basic before I converted to Gamestudio, which I found much easier to use. Excellent combination of features with ease of use. Also I prefer the simplified C scripting language over Basic. From all engines Ive tried, this one gets ten out of ten points.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

Suggest Edits

Last edited Dec 28, 2011 at 13:11

Are your the owner of this engine? Let us know to be able to update it, and reply to reviews, and other benefits.