3DGameStudio

Engine default

Website:
http://www.3dgamestudio.com/

Developer:
Conitec Datasystems

Launched:
Not specified

Status:
Active

Supported Platforms:
Windows

Languages Written In:
C/C++, Delphi

Languages Supported:
C/C++, Delphi

Graphics APIs:
DirectX

Rating:
  (82 reviews)

Editor:
None (be one!)

Gamestudio is a fast and easy authoring system for interactive 2D and 3D applications - especially video games, multimedia tools, or simulations. It offers three levels of access: click-together, scripting, and C++, C#, or Delphi APIs.

Supported Features

General

  • Object-Oriented Design
  • Plug-in Architecture
  • Save/Load System
  • Automatic selection of own or hardware based T&L for maximum performance on old and new 3D hardware
  • DLL plugin interface
  • Arbitrary axis rotations for space and flight simulators
  • Path tracking for camera, actors or vehicles
  • Fixed-function
  • Render-to-Texture
  • 3D views and movies can be rendered to curved surfaces
  • Six degrees of freedom, multiple cameras and render views
  • Material properties for static and dynamic objects
  • Animated 3D sprites and decals
  • 2D renderer for still images, 2D sprites, panels, buttons, sliders, overlays, Truetype and bitmap fonts, screenshots and movies
  • Mouse picking and manipulating of 3D objects
  • Environment Mapping
  • Lens Flares
  • Billboarding
  • Particle System
  • Sky
  • Water
  • Fog
  • Mirror
  • Programmable particle and beam generators
  • Sky system with animated layers and backdrop bitmaps
  • 3D views and movies can be rendered to curved surfaces, for distortion or fisheye effects
  • Colored fog areas
  • Programmable 2D and 3D effects like lens flares, bullet holes, cartoon rendering etc
  • Slow motion / quick motion effect
  • Dynamic decal system for bullet holes, foot prints, tire marks etc.

Lighting

  • Per-vertex
  • Per-pixel
  • Lightmapping
  • Static and dynamic point, spot, and directional light sources
  • Light Manager for an unlimited number of dynamic light sources

Shadows

  • Shadow Mapping
  • Projected planar
  • Shadow Volume
  • Stencil shadows and 24-bit level surfaces
  • Static and dynamic shadow mapping
  • Decal, Stencil, and PSSM shadows

Texturing

  • Basic
  • Multi-texturing
  • Bumpmapping
  • Mipmapping
  • Trilinear mip mapping
  • Multitexturing (up to 8 textures), light maps, detail textures
  • Material properties for static and dynamic objects

Shaders

  • Vertex
  • Pixel
  • Object and postprocessing shaders
  • Shader viewer and editor
  • 40 shader templates

Meshes

  • Mesh Loading
  • Skinning
  • Deformation

Scene Management

  • General
  • BSP
  • PVS
  • LOD
  • Seamless indoor and outdoor support
  • BSP Tree for indoor, Adaptive Binary Tree for outdoor levels

Animation

  • Keyframe Animation
  • Skeletal Animation
  • Morphing
  • Animation Blending

Terrain

  • Rendering
  • Deformable heightmap terrain
  • Continuous LOD mesh generation and mip-mapping
  • Multiple tiled textures and shadow mapping
  • Seamless integration with the indoor engine

Physics

  • Basic Physics
  • Collision Detection
  • Rigid Body
  • Vehicle Physics
  • Polygon level collision detection for terrain and 3D objects
  • nVidia(R) PhysX subsystem with hardware acceleration
  • Hinge, ball, wheel, slider, and 6D joints
  • User-customizable raycast vehicle simulation
  • Physics engine supports gravity, mass, damping, elasticity, friction, and hinge, ball, wheel, and slider joints

Networking

  • Client-Server
  • Master Server Multizone/multiserver support for massive online multiplayer games

Artificial Intelligence

  • Pathfinding
  • Decision Making
  • Finite State Machines
  • Scripted Full scripting language and DLL interface plus a large library of pre-built AI.

Sound

  • 3D Sound
  • Supports wav,mid,ogg,CD, mp3,avi, and mpg
  • 3D sound sources with Doppler effect

Tools & Editors

Level, Model, and Script editors included.

Scripting

  • Starting users can use the large library of pre-made scripts. Can create an entire game without writing any code!
  • More advanced users can use the built in script language to have full control over the everything in the game.
  • Expert users can interface to the engine using C/C++ or Delphi.

Licensing

License Name Price in $US Source Code Included?
Proprietary Free No
Free Edition - Comes with A8 engine, script debugger, model and level editors.
Proprietary $99.00 No
Extra Edition - Adds script compiler and artwork library.
Proprietary $199.00 No
Commercial Edition - Adds network and shader support.
Proprietary $899.00 No
Pro Edition - Removes 3DGameStudio logo and includes 12 months support

Write a Review

Showing 51-75 of 82

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Write a title for your review:

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 Inestical Jun 03, 2007 at 18:37

I had rough time finding engine to suit my needs, but I did it. 3DGS has all features I need, and more to come. Of course it isn't Next-Gen Console Engine like CryEngine 2 or Unreal Engine 3, but it has everything needed to make your own [indie] game.

I didn't get the WED at the beginning, but everything started to get more lightened, the more I used it. I didn't quit after two tries (as someone did here) nor did I angst for not being able to make the next MMORPG WH00!!11one immediately. Every editor in 3DGS are 100% supported and questions can be asked from experienced forum members or Conitec itself. SED is easy to use (nothing fancy, just text editor with helpful functions) after you understand the C-Script ( if you ever need it, that is :-) ). MED is horrible for experienced modellers, and prefer to use its importing capabilities instead and then make the adjustements only. WED is good when it comes in making any area from blocks, needs some time to get used, but it does its job.

I havn't been able to crash the engine, without using memorylocks and overflowing the engine intentonally (was extremely hard) so I think the stability is grade A+.

It's rather easy to get support; post to forums or send a message to Conitec. Takes max. ~3hours in the forums (normally conflicts happens, but the help comes quickly) and max 1day (except weekends) to get full support message from Conitec.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful

lot of promise

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 Jermaine Oct 02, 2006 at 16:41

i like this engine very organized comes with a easy to use modeler and world editor. very nice site. my only complaint is the forum can be more active. but questions do get answered and do help out newer users. they have alot of resources to use for the community.
it just need a few upgrades

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Best Game tool

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 pepe Jul 17, 2006 at 07:06

3D Gamestudio is the best and easiest authoring system that I found. It is easy to become aquainted with the software. It can do almost anything, I have seen very professional games come out of this system. All that it requires is talent. Now I uses demo version....

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful

nice authoring system

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 horace3d Jul 13, 2006 at 01:22

3dgs is very easy to use yet quite versatile. what i don't like is that 3dgs still does only support quake-style bsp level geometry (there also is a basic terrain system though). the level and model editors look and feel a bit outdated. the physics engine (ODE) behaves a bit erratically sometimes. the dynamic shadows are useless (z-pass stencil shadows only!).

[edit] new scene management with support for arbitrary level geometry is in the works now. once this is in, 3dgs could be great again!

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Decent but outdated

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 3UNKNOWN3 May 04, 2006 at 00:14

The engine itself is pretty decent, but it feels outdated. The model format is just "blech" and the model editor is even worse. The world editor isn't something to shed tears of joy for either. It's okay at best. The lighting of the engine is just horrible. Shadows contrast way too much and is very unrealistic. And yes, the pricing scheme is just crazy. Don't get me wrong here though, this engine is fun to play with, but you'll find yourself supporting the visual quality of your games more using artwork than anything else.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful

3DGAMESTUDIO IS A GOOD CHOICE.

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 jakepawloski Apr 28, 2006 at 08:54

THIS ENGINE I WOULD PRESCRIBE TO ONE KIND OF DEVELOPER:

A NEW ONE.

I WOULD STRONGLY RECOMMEND GAMESTUDIO FOR ANYONE WHO IS WANTING TO MAKE A GAME THAT WILL WORK WITH SIMPLE RULES AND A GOOD LAYOUT.
MANY PEOPLE WILL SAY THAT THIS ENGINE IS OUT-DATED...HMMM...YES, KIND OF, BUT NOT QUITE...
REMEMBER THAT EVEN A SUPER-NINTENDO GAME CAN BE A PROFESSIONAL ONE. AND IF YOU ARE NOT A MAJOR PROGRAMMER, THEN GAMESTUDIO IS A VERY GOOD CHOICE...IF YOU ARE ITCHING TO MAKE SOMETHING NEXT-GEN...I WOULD STRONGLY RECOMMEND HAVING A TEAM AND A GOOD UNDERSTANDING OF PROGRAMMING AND WHAT YOU WANT...

AS FAR AS SUPPORT GOES, THERE IS CLOSE TO NONE.
HOWEVER, YOU CAN ADD TEMPLATES TO YOUR GAME THAT ARE ALREADY MADE...AND JUST CHANGE THINGS TO YOUR OWN MATERIAL...WHICH IS THE BEST WAY TO LEARN PROGRAMMING BY THE WAY...(CHANGING EXISTING CODE AND SEEING WHAT IT DOES)

GO WITH GAMESTUDIO TO LEARN AND CREATE.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful

A very good package at a good price

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 Frost Feb 05, 2006 at 11:53

3D Gamestudio as mentioned in a post on this page, is a love it or hate it engine.. The thing is while it is the easiest engine around and keeps you busy, it doesnt stand in line with the other commercial engines available, but, you will not find such a complete package anywhere else.. no other engine gives you a pre-made world editor, model editor and script editor.. while that might make you think that it limits you.. you are wrong, the tools are well made and i doubt i would need anything else to work with. also, i really like the scripting language used to program with, its simplicity doesnt have to be limiting.. i dont think it really is limiting because anything you would like to program for your game, could be done easily..

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful

review from a total beginner

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 mirage2000 Sep 19, 2005 at 00:40

i was juste surfing the net when i found this engine i tried the trial version and its very good, i dont now why people hate it so much and it is very easy to use considering i am a total beginner.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful

nearly perfect

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 Brataq Sep 05, 2005 at 18:38

I've worked some years now with 3dGS.
Im really happy about this engine. I tried others but i came back to 3dGS every time.

+ get first results with little to no programming knowledge using pre-created-tremplates
+ easy to learn c-script language to get deeper into creating good results
+its possible to implement other languages like c/c++/delphi
+good community and support from conitec(depends on your version)
+complete bundle for creating a game(well 2d painting program is needed, but this shouldn't be a problem)
+lots of great tutorials and recources(scripts), user magazine with open-source-projects
-model-editor should need some improvements
-diplacement mapping, and texturing terrain insice WED(world editor) is not possible. u need a external editor to create good looking terrains. this is really annoying, the only reason not to give full 5-stars on features.

i can only recommend 3dGS for everyone, still for pros it has lots of features worth a look.
-remember: no engine is perfect, every engine has its weaknesses.
Its very funny to see that most beginners dont scale the textures and say:"3dgs is crappy, looks like good old '90s games" :-)

look at this links to get some good-looking user-projects:(remember, its WIP)
http://www.coniserver.net/ubbthreads/showflat.php?Cat=0&Number=497242&page=0&fpart=1&vc=1

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful

BEST!

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 Wolf3D Sep 03, 2005 at 08:52

The best engine for beginning!
Thousand lessons for beginning!
Thousand documentation for beginning!
Forum from thousand people!
I have searched thousand engines on this site! And all of them had the small documentation or absolutely her(it) had no, the beginner without it(her) is very difficult for learning to work with the engine! But only 3DGS has helped me with it!
It is best!

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Great Gaming Tool.....Period!

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 hikmayan Aug 01, 2005 at 12:07

I have checked out all other accessible game engines out there.Problem with most of them is, either fair or poor graphics,difficult to learn,have to create your own tools to make things really look great,if that's possible;then issues to prices,yes some of the Engines are lower than others,but then....you get the picture?.
3DGS's Future editions will allow the user to switch from BSP to Octree and back should they need to. This will address most of the on going
adjustments in progress.So I said to all who is out to put 3DGS down...look out!.The price is right when you really consider all the goodies plus ease of 3D creation,fast,great graphic display......This 3D Package is a must for all users wanting to create a Game.It's ok,if you feel you have no clue about building a 3D....I can relate to that.3DGS will get you there.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Best in class..

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 Orange_Brat Jun 30, 2005 at 02:14

I've looked at a lot of engines and find 3DGS the best in its class. It is especially nice for the artist who may not be all that proficient in programming. Lots of nice features and the future looks bright:

http://www.conitec.net/forecast.htm

You should seriously look into this engine(now at version 6.31.4) if you want to get something out the door quickly.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful

I love it

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 charlesqq Jun 07, 2005 at 23:43

Its the best game engine out there I think personally, and I love the fact that you can actually try it before you buy it, instead of watching some tech demo. I have not tried torque because I wouldnt know what I am getting before I buy it, and its very easy to use. the forum online helps you feel like part of a community.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful

excellent package

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 DaBro0zar May 29, 2005 at 09:52

Hello mates. first of all, excuse my buggy english.

Well, in my opinion there are only two great engine which are easy to use and look great at the same time: it´s torque and 3dgs.

i work with 3dgs since the a4 version (now we have 6.3), and i did really develop well: form the pure-interior engine in a4 up to the terrain support in a5 to the shaders for the new version.

features-
WED editor (map builder) is easy to learn, good at compiling speed, and u are able to produce good graphics within a minimum of your time. It has still some problems in displaying models and terrains in the preview window, but the free IceX editor is a good terrain alternative.
And that´s the missing 5th star: there are engine who have a much better terrain support, in one word: torque. So decide for torque referring to vast outdoor levels, choose 3dgs for great indoor performance and rather small terrain episodes. nevertheless very good
MED (model) editor is useless, for modelling as well as for animation. Use the ex- and importers if you want to achieve sth. great. poor
SED the code editor with its comprehensible language make scipting a pleasure. very good
over all: good. Next time, the crew should program a better med and enhance the terrain support.

ease of use-
very easy WED, simple drag and drop system for models, lights, sounds, terrains, textures, geometry. scripts are assigned through actions by a single click in the properties dialogue window.
simple script system, comprehensible language.
no in-game editing, but (for me) this is not necessary.

stability&performance-
very stable, if scripted correctly. average performance, especially in vast areas covered with shaders. 4 stars.

support-
own free magazine, vast community which help you in the forums, conitec-support depends on the version you bought. excellent.

over all, 3dgs is the most "complete" package i´ve ever seen. very good for beginner, but pros can achieve stunning results as well.
not appropriate to terrain rendering.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Good Engine

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 Fox_hound May 22, 2005 at 05:50

This is a great engine for beginner and pros alike. In a very short time you can put togehter a game using the templates or in a bit longer amount of time you can do one with your own code. Not a big boy engine but it doesn't have a big boy price either. A great christmas present.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Do more with less!

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 dolomite May 17, 2005 at 18:49

In game development these days, there are many ways of approaching it. 3DGS is just one of them. The common idea that in order for a game to be considered "professional" it has to be written in a particular language or using a certain engine is totally arrogant, biased, and pure ignorant in nature.
To develop a game to achive a certain result(s) is the main goal of a game developer. How you achive it doesn't matter because the end result is whats most important. The quality of the game does rely on the tool you use to build it with but what you the developer put into it.

3DGS simplifies what you need to do and allows you to develop your game faster than with other 3D engines. Its comes with everything you need to develop a game with including a script editor, world editor, and model editor. Granted its not the best and most high-end in the world, but it serves its purpose very well.

The only main negative aspect of 3DGS is the pricing which for a lower-end engine is quite expensive.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Very Simple to use, very Nice results.

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 MASTERJUNOJETJFG May 08, 2005 at 15:42

3D GameStudio A6 is quite a versatile program. Unlike other engines, GameStudio is loaded with its own editors, WED, MED, and SED. WED has to be the best world editor I have seen, however, GameStudio has some hard-to-intigrate features. Shaders are somewhat difficult to master, and you must have really up-to-date graphics hardware. Lets just say, to make your game look good, you really have to spend lots of time. The GUI of all the editors is a tad outdated, but really, that doesnt take away from the power. On the contrary, there is tons of support, and the simplified "C-Script" makes programing very easy to learn. Conitec updates very often, and you can even propose new ideas to them. So, all in all, I recomend this engine, 9/10.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Hard Pressed to find something equivalent

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 Grimber Apr 11, 2005 at 22:07

After reading several reviews here thought I'd drop my 2 cents in the hat.

As the title states, You whould be VERY hard pressed to find a package of tools and engine with the fetures offered that costs under $1000.

You will also be very hard pressed to find ANY engine that didn't have some form of limitations that users complain about.

I'm not going to sit here and try to convince anyone to buy this engine/package over another. I could write pages of +'s and -'s about one engine vs another as I have owned, and used several engines.

What I will say is this, I havn't had to BUY any add-on packs/expansions to add functionality to the engine. I havn;t had the need to HAVE to alter any form of source code to get results I was after. Nor have I HAD to buy 3rd party applications ( on top of the costs of the engine) inorder to create anything for use in 3DGS. If i wanted an engine where I had to edit the source code to develope what I wanted to do, I'd spend just a fraction of an engines cost , get a few books and write my own from the ground up
and they don;t have to fight with licensing fees and what not.

I won't have to pay an EXTRA fee on the side for a license if I want to actualy commercialy release a game or other project I develope

Bugs.. few and far between and if brought to attention of the developers gets addressed very quickly. Most tend to be found in BETA updates before the updates become public. I chalk most of these complaints up to 'user errors'

Documentation. yes weak in some areas, but tends to be weak in the "how to..." area. Other engiens I've used had vertualy NO documentation and you had to rely soly on user community for that area ( and even more scary was some users in these communities CHARGED for their help).

Of the tools package many complain the model editor ( MED) is basicly worthless and out of date. It doesn't have all the bells and whistles of high end packages and even some low cost to freeware modelers have, BUT MED does exactly what it is ment to do. Make model meshs. The real issue to the complaints IMO isn't lack of features, but that the users have to do the actual work by hand vs click a button and the modeler does a large portion of your work for you.

Skinning a model in MED to many is also a complaint because it uses the method of a single image mapeed to the model ( quake/quake2 mesh skinning) vs using mesh groups and materials applied to groups ( which is already now in beta testing for the next update)

My personal opinion is those that have used 3DGS and are totaly negative about it realy didn;t use it. expected either click and play tool or expected to make the next Halflife2 doom3 or what ever with no work involved on thier part.

c_script isn't much differnt than using quake, unreal or other engine scripting, based on a loose form of c syntax. those that struggle with it tend to be those that expect a solid instruction set that does X, Y,Z so I don;t have to do anything ( this is the reason for template scripts). c-script is there for the user to develope projects with a more versitile and flexible control without the burden of learnign a complex OOP language ( keeping the user within the context of the engine functionality)

Those new to game development and REALY how games work tend to be disapointed in ANY package they try because of "tricks or faking it" methods to get a desired result. Instead of learning the only REAL trick to programming " use what you can to get the desired result"

I've been using 3DGS ( in some of its various versions) off and on for several years. I would personaly recomend it, especialy to someone new or intermediate to game development

Edited:

on a side note: I'd like to find out how many OTHER publicly available 3D engines are used in various collage and univeristy classes. yes 3DGS is used in many schools, not just for game development either but also 3D art, rendering, animation an so on.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful

An excellent buy

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 anonymous_alcoholic Apr 01, 2005 at 01:54

3D Gamestudio is the best and easiest authoring system that I found. I've used it for two years and never regretted buying it. It is easy to become aquainted with the software. The program is straight forward, easy to use and easy to learn. It can do almost anything, I have seen very professional games come out of this system. All that it requires is talent. If you put in the proper talent, 3dgs will give it to you. 3dgs is reliable, it has never crashed on me. The only errors I got with 3dgs were ones that I put in myself and ones that are easily repaired. 3dgs is dynamic; it is updated every month or so with new editions comming out every year or two. A6 is relatively new and up to speed.

It's price is relitively low. Alot is possible with Standard for a low price of $50. Professional can do even more. It costs $900, but compare that with Unreal, which has a whopping price of $350,000! It is an excellent program for beginners because they can learn the fascinating feild of computer gaming at a relatively low cost. It is also a good program for experts because of its ease of use and flexibility.

The scripting language is easy to learn. After two short years of practice, i have become adept with C-Script. It is a language that is easy to learn but like most languages, you can't learn it overnight. C-Script can do almost anything, and what it cannot do, can be implemented via a C++ DLL.

If you ever encounter any problems with 3d Gamestudio, e.g. scripting, level building, 3dgamestudio.com has a forum that is willing to help you with anything.

MED was the only disappointment. It is a difficult and complicated software. Rather, get Milkshape at milkshape.com for your models. Other than MED, 3d Gamestudio is an awesome program. It's flexibility, reliability, scripting, support et al make it the best thing since French bread. And I love French bread.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Simply the best.

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 Taco Mar 05, 2005 at 21:52

I have been using this engine for two years now after having used many, many, many others. This is simply the best you can get for this price. No, 3d gamestudio doesn't have the very newest technology, but how many customers have the hardware to make use of that anyway?

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful

A6 (Pro Edition) vs The Rest

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 alabama Jan 17, 2005 at 15:55

I've been reading all the Reviews.

Some of you are actually so angry
without any fundamental proof on
anything mentioned here, whatsoever.

So, I think you better REVIEW
with a little more detail.

Oh yes, to compare the A6 Engine
with "DOOM - Not Quake"...
holy christ...I say no more.

It's your DOOM in the end of the day.

Also when speaking from A6 as a "slow"
Engine...wake up...Splinter Cell DevTeam
must have had a crap copy of the
Unreal Engine or a bad day on compile.
Don't get me wrong I like SC, but the
performance was of low quality...guess
what?...It could have been better with
another Engine...

Overall Grade: 4 1/2 (Mid-Range 3D Game Engine, best value for money, ever)

Features: 4 Stars (Model Editor needs working on)
Ease of Use: 5 (very good for beginners)
Stability: 5 (never crashes, unless bad coding)
Support: 5 (super)

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Best program for beginners & advanced users

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 Bluebeast Dec 25, 2004 at 02:45

http://www.conitec.net/a4info.htm

---- EDITED for clarity December 24th 2004 ----

3DGamestudio is an excellent program (or programs, rather, since it includes the level editor, modeling editor, and scripting editor).
Beginners will have very little trouble being introduced into the world of 3D development, whether it's for applications, or top notch games.

The mainpage for 3DGSspells out a list of features, comparisons to other engines, Gamestudio has screenshots of works in progress and a small sample photos of the many programs/games created with gamestudio. Below is a post defying anyone to show a finished or published game. If they had gone to the homepage, theyd see a whole slew of them.

This program includes regular updates/features. Updates every 3-4 monyhs is far better than most engines available. Period.

The forums are so extensive, and full of so many of the answers you may ever need. Suppoert is excellent.
It's a superb community.
This is also the same community which has provides tons of contributions from scripts to tutorials.

Gamestudio's model editor features are enough to make what you'll need for games, even ultra high poly models if you want, but again, those are usually reserved for pre rendered media. Not games.

Don't want to learn C++ ? at least not today? C-Script is a pretty great way to get introduced to programming. It's got a learning curve, but a relatively easy one given what it takes to learn C++. But for those who imply that C++ is the only language in the world, You can implement it into gamestudio anyway.

Modeling and level design with 3D Gamestudio is pretty easy to grasp for beginners and people who don't want to script.

And the price is right no matter which edition you get. Claims are made that the price is too high. A true and serious developer doesnt pinch pennies.

The most you'll pay for gamestudio depending on the edition, is $899, and NO ROYALTIES. People whine too much. Ok go make your games with the quake 3 engine, I hope you have that $250,000 just lying around to license it when you want to have your game published.

I was going to go with a cheaper engine, (torque) but a call to the company confirmed to me I made the right choice, because they really had no interest in talking to a potential customer. Too busy to spend 5 minutes on the phone.

I can only say that while accurate when taken out of context, most the negative reviews about gamestudio are 'suspiciously' negative. Or a little TOOOOO negative.

Gamestudio is an excellent program, and you can just download the 30 day trial for free and see for yourself. Thats all there is too it.

These reviews are open to everyone, even to opponents who like to slam competing products. Do your research and forget these reviews. No matter what anyone says, Torque and Gamestudio are very similar in their abilities, and prices. And there is NO GAME ENGINE ANYWHERE that has every feature. NONE

Thats why people chose different engines for their projects. None suit everyone. Each has their strengths and weaknesses.

Go to the websites of each engine, and check out the forums.
For gamestudio, go to their threads Showcase1, and Showcase 2 to see what is possible.

The biggest problem is that people are too lazy to do any work. thats why they complain about features. If an engine doesnt have 'lens flare' as a button to click, they complain. Hey, use a flippin sprite, moron.

Besides, if someone runs your game without a video card that supports all your big fancy features, they wont see it anyway! So do a little work and quit whining. Pros know that any engine has limitations, and they work around them. Gamestudio is as capable as any mid priced engine out there.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful

The Best Engine for Game Creation without an own-programmed Engine

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 Lunz88 Sep 15, 2004 at 20:51

3DGS has a lot of good features.
The best one: It's cheap and you can do really professional Things with it. Also, the stability is excellent. The BSP+ Tree gives you a lot of perfomance also on older Computers. The scripting Language is easy to use and a good introduction for those who want to learn C++. The Tools are professional but easy to use because of excellent Tutorials. A very good thing is that you can post your problems into a forum and you recive an answer for your problem. Also, you receive a help to your engine problems and you can help to make Gamestudio more bug free while posting into the Feedback Forum. It doesn't offers you the flexibility as an own-developped engine but it's a good introduction into the 3D World.

My recommendation is: Buy it!!! You can never find a product who's as good as 3DGS.

The best Edition is the Commercial Edition: It isn't so expensive as the Pro, but it has enough Features for creating good games and there are a lot of good freeware tools and plugins for upgrading the commercial a little step to the Pro.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful

GameStudio: A Great and Simple to Use Engine

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 Dan_Silverman Sep 02, 2004 at 18:05

Someone wanted to compare 3D GameStudio and its level editor, WED, to Doom. There is a bit problem with this. Doom was not a 3D game and did not use a 3D game engine. Instead, Doom used what is known as a raycasting engine, which simulates 3D worlds from 2D information. As a result, the level editors for Doom and DoomII were top-down only, allowing you to create levels by creating "outlines" and defining hights via coding or other tricks. I believe that individual meant to liken 3D GameStudio more to Quake then Doom, but I can only go by what was stated.

3D GameStudio is very advanced, though it is certainly not a DoomIII or Half-Life2 engine (but, then again, you are not paying hundreds of thousands for it either). The current beta, due out to users very soon, is fully DirectX 9 compatible and, thus, fully compatible with today's shaders and the DirectX 9 shader langauge. Therefore, wonderful affects can be achieved very easily in 3D GameStudio.

Some people may feel that 3D GameStudio is outdated because, in its current rendition, it is a fully BSP-compatible engine. This means no concave surfaces on one single object. While BSP may be restrictive as far as what type of level geometry you can use, it is blazingly fast in terms of the frames per second you get when running a large, complex level. Future editions of 3D GameStudio will allow the user to switch from BSP to Octree and back should they need to.

3D GameStudio shines in two areas; ease of use and a fairly complete toolset. When you get 3D GameStudio you get the 3D engine, a level editor, a model editor and a scripting environment for programming. Basically the only thing you need to add is a 2D paint program, sound and your own creativity. This is much nicer than many other engines that force you to build your own tools.

If you are a non-programmer you can get up and running in no time. There is nothing special that you have to do in order to run and walk-through a level you have built. 3D GameStudio even comes with pre-defined templates to help you get varius types of basic games up and running.

If you program, there are a few ways to go about using 3D GameStudio. One way is to use the provided scripting langauge, C-Script. Another way is to create and link to DLLs via the SDK using a programming language like C++, etc. So, you are not limited.

As an artist, I find that 3D GameStudio has an awesome graphical display. Images are crisp, clear and clean. Some of the other engines' displays are sometimes "muddy" (IMHO).

I own my own business creating real-time 3D content. 3D GameStudio is my main tool because I can create content for my clients quickly and they are always pleased with the results.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful

No programming? Almost.

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 masterdev Aug 29, 2004 at 16:26

This is a nice one. Not as good as top engines like Doom3 or HL2 but the best engine with a no programming approach. Well no programming is not fully true. But this is for you if you want to get fast results without reading big manuals. Advanced programmers can even code their own vertex and pixel shaders.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

Suggest Edits

Last edited Dec 28, 2011 at 13:11

Are your the owner of this engine? Let us know to be able to update it, and reply to reviews, and other benefits.