3DGameStudio

Engine-default

Website:
http://www.3dgamestudio.com/

Developer:
Conitec Datasystems

Launched:
Not specified

Status:
Active

Supported Platforms:
Windows

Languages Written In:
C/C++, Delphi

Languages Supported:
C/C++, Delphi

Graphics APIs:
DirectX

Rating:
  (82 reviews)

Editor:
None (be one!)

Gamestudio is a fast and easy authoring system for interactive 2D and 3D applications - especially video games, multimedia tools, or simulations. It offers three levels of access: click-together, scripting, and C++, C#, or Delphi APIs.

Supported Features

General

  • Object-Oriented Design
  • Plug-in Architecture
  • Save/Load System
  • Automatic selection of own or hardware based T&L for maximum performance on old and new 3D hardware
  • DLL plugin interface
  • Arbitrary axis rotations for space and flight simulators
  • Path tracking for camera, actors or vehicles
  • Fixed-function
  • Render-to-Texture
  • 3D views and movies can be rendered to curved surfaces
  • Six degrees of freedom, multiple cameras and render views
  • Material properties for static and dynamic objects
  • Animated 3D sprites and decals
  • 2D renderer for still images, 2D sprites, panels, buttons, sliders, overlays, Truetype and bitmap fonts, screenshots and movies
  • Mouse picking and manipulating of 3D objects
  • Environment Mapping
  • Lens Flares
  • Billboarding
  • Particle System
  • Sky
  • Water
  • Fog
  • Mirror
  • Programmable particle and beam generators
  • Sky system with animated layers and backdrop bitmaps
  • 3D views and movies can be rendered to curved surfaces, for distortion or fisheye effects
  • Colored fog areas
  • Programmable 2D and 3D effects like lens flares, bullet holes, cartoon rendering etc
  • Slow motion / quick motion effect
  • Dynamic decal system for bullet holes, foot prints, tire marks etc.

Lighting

  • Per-vertex
  • Per-pixel
  • Lightmapping
  • Static and dynamic point, spot, and directional light sources
  • Light Manager for an unlimited number of dynamic light sources

Shadows

  • Shadow Mapping
  • Projected planar
  • Shadow Volume
  • Stencil shadows and 24-bit level surfaces
  • Static and dynamic shadow mapping
  • Decal, Stencil, and PSSM shadows

Texturing

  • Basic
  • Multi-texturing
  • Bumpmapping
  • Mipmapping
  • Trilinear mip mapping
  • Multitexturing (up to 8 textures), light maps, detail textures
  • Material properties for static and dynamic objects

Shaders

  • Vertex
  • Pixel
  • Object and postprocessing shaders
  • Shader viewer and editor
  • 40 shader templates

Meshes

  • Mesh Loading
  • Skinning
  • Deformation

Scene Management

  • General
  • BSP
  • PVS
  • LOD
  • Seamless indoor and outdoor support
  • BSP Tree for indoor, Adaptive Binary Tree for outdoor levels

Animation

  • Keyframe Animation
  • Skeletal Animation
  • Morphing
  • Animation Blending

Terrain

  • Rendering
  • Deformable heightmap terrain
  • Continuous LOD mesh generation and mip-mapping
  • Multiple tiled textures and shadow mapping
  • Seamless integration with the indoor engine

Physics

  • Basic Physics
  • Collision Detection
  • Rigid Body
  • Vehicle Physics
  • Polygon level collision detection for terrain and 3D objects
  • nVidia(R) PhysX subsystem with hardware acceleration
  • Hinge, ball, wheel, slider, and 6D joints
  • User-customizable raycast vehicle simulation
  • Physics engine supports gravity, mass, damping, elasticity, friction, and hinge, ball, wheel, and slider joints

Networking

  • Client-Server
  • Master Server Multizone/multiserver support for massive online multiplayer games

Artificial Intelligence

  • Pathfinding
  • Decision Making
  • Finite State Machines
  • Scripted Full scripting language and DLL interface plus a large library of pre-built AI.

Sound

  • 3D Sound
  • Supports wav,mid,ogg,CD, mp3,avi, and mpg
  • 3D sound sources with Doppler effect

Tools & Editors

Level, Model, and Script editors included.

Scripting

  • Starting users can use the large library of pre-made scripts. Can create an entire game without writing any code!
  • More advanced users can use the built in script language to have full control over the everything in the game.
  • Expert users can interface to the engine using C/C++ or Delphi.

Licensing

License Name Price in $US Source Code Included?
Proprietary Free No
Free Edition - Comes with A8 engine, script debugger, model and level editors.
Proprietary $99.00 No
Extra Edition - Adds script compiler and artwork library.
Proprietary $199.00 No
Commercial Edition - Adds network and shader support.
Proprietary $899.00 No
Pro Edition - Removes 3DGameStudio logo and includes 12 months support

Write a Review

Showing 26-50 of 82

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Awesome Engine!

  by 451bdd9fae2dc50329c042c430de8eb1 Cowabanga May 06, 2010 at 19:17

It's easy to use, when you dig more, you'll get more amazing features, and it's very very stable, and fast. Works on the very old machines.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Excellent documentation

  by A418f8bdaac4a8bb328215f91d1239a3 Marianne2 Jan 23, 2010 at 17:55

The tutorial is great. You start with creating 2D elements like panels, buttons etc. It leads you step by step until you create a shooter with state machines, and a MMOG game. Everything is well explained and very easy to understand.

I like this engine.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Pretty good

  by 6d1c6284507519ddacab9e8242df98f9 darksmaster923 Nov 04, 2009 at 08:08

The Lite-C language is free, and that is what I am going to review. Firstly, the main disadvantages with it is that is has no world editor for the language. So you have to pay in order to get something that is pretty important, unless you want to add all the entites in manually by code, which is a problem. The language is very easy to pick up, and I got a game running in a week after I initially tried it. It uses a C type syntax, which I prefer over python. It is one of the reasons why I prefer this engine over Panda3d, because the code doesn't become so messy. It is very user friendly, and the forums are pretty good too. However, the free version is pretty limited (no shaders, no multiplayer, no world editor). The MED really sucks, and has a horrible interface. I prefer using the MED to import completed models and animations in, not to actually create them. Overall, I like this engine very much. Although the free version is limited, it is still very powerful and good for creating games or other applications.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful

The best engine

  by F7aab9d483eeddfc80fb4d557e1e3038 Simmons Oct 25, 2009 at 14:41

I've upgraded from the free to the commercial version 6 months ago. Before I had played around with many other indie engines such as Torque and TV3D, but I found that Gamestudio is simple the best. Feature wise and ease of use. It contains everything you need, not only for games, you can write any sort of program with it. The engine can now even control other applications by sending keystrokes to them.

Rendering speed is excellent. At $199 it's very inexpensive compared to all the other engines in it's class. Its updated every month with new features, and the community is quick to help you with your projects.

Unlike other engines this one comes with a really good documentation and tutorials.

I can recommend Gamestudio in every regard.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful

GREAT ENGINE!!

  by 00000000000000000000000000000000 Anonymous Sep 11, 2009 at 01:06

I was already using 3dgs eversince a6,now already a7 just few more release for a8 :(,THE SUPPORT IS GREAT,friendly and quite fast,the stability of the engine is good.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Works even on 8 years old machines!

  by 16d89d10b40aacaf743d61d7c33faf41 Master Jun 18, 2009 at 09:28

I have to applaud Gamestudio/A7 for still working on very old hardware. We have 30 PCs with Windows 2000 in our lab and it was my job to install Gamestudio over the school network on them. With the help of the friendly support this went smoothly.

Gamestudio runs fine on those PCs that were purchased more than 8 years ago and are equipped with 32 MB Riva TNT cards. Shaders are not supported of course, but lightmaps and shadow volumes work flawlessly. Levels run with a good frame rate even with lots of dynamic lights, although those old 3D cards were not designed for that. Very impressive!

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful

A7 is a really great step

  by E16cbcbd6e1132133b6068732db98529 Michail Jun 08, 2009 at 16:10

I began game programming with Gamestudio A6, but found the engine slow and the programming complicated. Then I went to RAD 6 because they advertised with no programming, but it turned out you can't do anything with RAD, it's totally unflexible. Then I went to TV3D, also made bad experiences, then to Torque, and finally, back to Gamestudio, this time the A7 version! I think I will stick with this engine.

Compared with A6, A7 is a huge step forward. The new engine is a lot faster and the script language, at the same time, now became a lot easier because they removed many of the restrictions of the old A6 WDL language. Also, the A7 multiplayer system is much better.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Very good support

  by 3450522fbb9b7eced71141e5d110e103 Marianne Jun 04, 2009 at 13:15

I have the Pro Edition of Gamestudio which comes with 1 year support, and have not regretted it. Gamestudio is not actually a studio but a very fast and flexible engine for all purposes of 3D games and 3D apps. The engine at the same time easy to use for a beginner but very customizable. You can do amazing things when you know what you're doing.

The support is unmatched. I needed to use a special 3D controller and within one day, they sent me a script how to implement it, and it worked like a charm. Very impressive!

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful

The most stable engine I found

  by E8c584198c88c8fae3ac5a2746e15efe Insider May 18, 2009 at 16:14

I found that Gamestudios A7 engine is a rock solid engine with a very easy approach. The API is simple and straightforward, so you can make a level walkthrough in about 10 simple lines of code, and without the need to read the manual or API docs all the time.

What impresses me is that you can't get this engine to crash except if you make a really hard programming mistake. Physics, multiplayer and shaders can be set up in a rather easy way, more direct than with most other engines. Simple applications such as screensavers only need a few lines of code, this is ideal for casual games.

For the price, $199, this engine offers the most features (radiosity, multiplayer, physics, shaders, decals, realtime shadows and so on) compared with other engines that I have tried.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Excellent for fast game programming

  by Cfeb9f09ce6cb938391ae5df27decc82 Havox Dec 24, 2008 at 15:04

I got curious about the features and downloaded the free version. To my surprise, I found a compact package with an easy programming language and a tutorial that helped me understanding the basics of the game programming process very fast. The tutorial is for separate download on the download page. I would highly recommend this program when someone wants to learn game programming fast.

With some reading through the tutorial, I'm now in the process of writing a little car shooter as a test project. The engine has all features and functions a programmer could desire. The physics engine is very easy to use, they have a racing car game for download that has only 100 lines of code!

The next thing what I'll do after that is adding effects with shader programming. They have a shader programming tutorial that is as easy as the game programming tutorial, but the $199 version is needed for that. Its certainly worth the money. I rate it 5 stars.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Gamestudio with Atari Lite

  by 7c381d6299629246a3301f32eedae4f1 GMaker Dec 09, 2008 at 11:52

I am using Gamestudio with lite-C since 3 months and must say that it is getting better and better! With the last update I can control the games with my Nintendo WiiMote which offers a ton of possibilities. No other game development system is so flexible and so easy to use once you've made your first steps into programming.

Gamestudio now uses the new lite-C language from Atari, which is a very easy language for 2D games, ideal for the beginner. Shaders are supported in pre and postprocessing up to shader model 3.0. After reading many books, Gamestudio is the first system with which I really have understood shader programming. The modules for lighting, fog and so on are already built-in, so I only need to program my own stuff into the shaders and don't have to care about all the rest.

This is a well thought out, excellent system and I have to rate it with 5 stars in every behalf.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Best game development system I found

  by F13d987beee8fb904c7fe0d242b4a10f Games4Girlz Oct 22, 2008 at 18:04

As a 3D artist I was looking for an engine that is easy to use yet powerful. After trying Torque, TV3D, C4, XNA and many others, spending 8 weeks researching, and going back and forth between game engines, I finally ended up with Gamestudio.

The main reason is its the programming language lite C, which is really a lite version of C++. Which means you can do everything with it but without learning big programming books. The engine features and ease of use are very impressive. Its like a dream come true for non programmers like me. And the engine is actually extremely stable. It is well put together.

So I have to give 5 stars in every regard except support that I can't judge because I didn't need it so far.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Near Perfect

  by 289ecdd52edd187badee23af3f5b5214 jourdan May 19, 2008 at 14:55

Amazing.. completely amazing. Great feature, easy to use and great community. Any genre can be made easily using this game engine. And the best part is this engine are recently updated, atleast once a month.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful

a rock

  by 530446b194d72d7412d45ed06271f830 Alberto Apr 04, 2008 at 20:31

A lot of beginner are tremendously attracted by advanced features , particulary for graphic rendering
( shader and all those stuff) but the most important features for a game engines are , in order of importance :

- 01) stability
- 02) workflow easy of use
- 03) documentation comunity
- 04) advanced rendering

3dgs may not be the most advanced engine around, but it is as stable as a rock, user friendly , well documented and reasonably performing

In other words it is the only engine (togheter with Blitz3d) which allowed me to finish a couple of ( simple) games

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful

It's better than normal game Engine

  by D82f47f026d57adba42afcbba6ba2165 kiavash2k Mar 13, 2008 at 13:04

3DGS is a good game engine for developers who like to make game. it's a very good engine but need some idea about type of game you like to make i know it's not have great rendering type like DirectX and MSVC but the beginners and some of professionals can make great games with this.

Overall it's a good game Engine Just not have good Model editor and map editor but have Max2game studio and Maya2GameStudio so we can use powerfull softwares for make maps and models.

A7 is very better than A6 cuz it's have antialiasing and some directX code support with using LiteC and more codes for develop better games.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Great engine !

  by C64b410b069bc5a23374c1771db71040 quadraxas Feb 14, 2008 at 23:29

I own a commerical license of the engine and i am impressed with the new lite-c language (same thing as c++) , engine gains new features day by day, its 7.07 now and closed beta of 7.08 is going on. One of the best directx engine out there.

Perfect engine for all types of games, has great particle enigne, uses ode for physics but newton can be integrated,good graphics, great community, HLSL shaders supported, BSP levels, LOD, great terrain system,bone animation, infinite possibility on doing things, creat plugin architecture (not just the engine, editors has plugin system too!! :D )

The WED level editor is enough for any game (even more) but i still use 3d world studio(habbits :S) which supports 3dgs.

The MED model editor is good for low poly modeling, after some practice i got hang of it but lacks of some tools like cut etc. but i heard that the MED and WED will have more tools soon. I prefer using gmax / 3dsmax and SI XSI for modelling, Both med and wed can import models perfectly from fbx,ase,3ds (wed uses med model format mdl too).

I use med for some animation correction (sometimes create whole animation with med)

In conclusion, engine is the one of the most productive/active/stable engines out there.

the worst part of the engine is being non-crossplatform, but who cares, its a great engine.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Shader workshop in version 7.07

  by 79cfddd892cece210ad6be18ee87cd06 machine Jan 23, 2008 at 09:27

With the new Gamestudio there is a shader workshop that lets you create vertex and pixel shaders and understand how they work. It begins with a small diffuse lighting shader and then continues with more complex shaders, normal mapping, postprocessing shaders, and ends with shadow mapping shaders with smooth shadows. All the shaders are explained so that even a beginner can understand them. Very cool!

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful

most reliable system

  by 5ccecd9bc5cba4d2eb08594b715031cf hunkychop Jan 07, 2008 at 03:16

i would have to label this the most reliable, stabil system i have used. i would suggest taking a class on it before using it (the tutorials in the help files teach you the wrong way to use it), but once you get the hang of it, you can let your creativity run loose.

I have used the full versions of A6 but i have only used the eval version of the new A7. in this review, i was talking about A6 due to the fact when i export/test levels in A7, the camera circles around out of contol. i have also noticed other glitches as well.
I have posted this problem on the support forums multiple times but i have not been able to get any help.

this system comes with a great terrain/skinning/model editor and a great scripting language/editor (both free)

WORTH YOUR money!

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful

3DGameStudio

  by C6b1875f94e9d5d2a202ff358a1455ca RichLockard Nov 22, 2007 at 12:01

I have used 3DGS on and off since early 2002, and have moved through 3 versions. It is a nice package and I would recommend it to any beginner wanted to explore creating 3D games

The engine may not have the latest bells and whistles but its still a fairly good engine. It comes with a full tool set, though some are a little lacking, they provide you with the basics to get started. It uses a C based scripting language that comes with some very helpful tutorials to get you started.

I'd say the best feature would be the community and support from the engine's creators. The forum is highly active, and full of people ready to answer your questions and provide feedback. There is a monthly magazine; AUM, as well.

For me, the two downsides were problems with the collision system (it seems to behave oddly at times, and can be a bit tricky to understand for new users. This does not mean the physics engine, I have not used that feature yet), and the C based scripting language (I would have rather had a modern C++ or object based language).

There is a whole universe of things you can do with this engine, and there is a free version, so get started.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Big step forward

  by 26ce0796702821866343684566d7a6a0 Elton Nov 09, 2007 at 14:38

I looked at Gamestudio some 2 years ago but decided otherwise. It was the A6 engine back then. Now I checked it again and was very pleased about the progress this engine made, now in its A7 version. The new script language is even easier but more powerful. The new rendering engine is lighting fast, with my old test level is has almost twice the frame rate compared to its predecessor A6. Also the development speed is impressive, they release updates every couple weeks and the next one is supposed to support postprocessing chains. This is the right engine for me.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Excellent introduction into programming

  by Bc853e1b002f5bc5f5bfcf90afe2c700 Tamara Nov 04, 2007 at 08:07

When you use this engine, don't forget to download the Script workshops. They give a very good introduction into game programming for absolute beginners like me. It starts with the explanation of functions and variables, and then continues with how to define a user interface, a level with a plane, collision detection, sprite animation, bones animation, and finally, using the physics engine. It contains 24 lessons and every one is worth reading.

There is also a shader introduction tutorial that starts with how to define an ambient shader, and then explains diffuse and specular lighting and how to do a normalmapping shader.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful

I like the features of this engine

  by 7b57bdb87e1c57fad1b5af8eef09d0e8 Zard Oct 31, 2007 at 08:40

Gamestudio comes with a set of tools - level editor, model editor, script editor, and engine. The level editor is good, the model editor is average. It is fine for small models but not suited for big or complicated animated models. The script editor is a IDE with debugger and project manager.

Gamestudio has also a system for clicking a game together from components without programming. It then generates the .c code for the game itself. You can afterwards modify the code which I found very comfortable because you can start with a click-together game and then program it further.

It comes with a great step by step tutorial into game programming. I had a programming course in school but at that time I didn't really get it. The gamestudio tutorial is better than the course I had in school, so if you were frustrated by other engines, like me, this is the right system for you. There is plenty of documentation and tutorials, and the community is very helpful.

The engine and script language is free, only the version with the level editor must be paid ($99) and the version with networking and shaders is $199. There is also a good shader tutorial.

I give it five points because I really like the features of this engine and the easy approach.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful

3DGS has come a long way

  by 3da58820bda287ae069380b9e24f4f56 mproducer Oct 17, 2007 at 15:45

I looked at this engine over a year ago and I thought it was showing its age with A6. Now looking at A7, and also other projects built with A6 I realize it is the quality of the developer that makes the difference with this engine.

There are some fantastic looking games built with this engine that people just have not seen. So I have licensed the Commercial version to build a prototype and the results are already great. The community is very large and very active. There is code out there being shared that can help anyone with their projects.

People need to realize that the old GIGO theory works here too. Put garbage in it and you get garbage out. But if you plan you the textures, and lights properly then you get a beautiful looking scenes in your game.

So don't judge this engine by the low end projects some people have populated the net with, look at the really nice looking high end projects done with this engine. That is what can be done and even more.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Gamestudio A7

  by D7ff127c7bf3c3b9d60933948ef1f88d Anders Sep 14, 2007 at 16:38

I have purchased Gamestudio 2 months ago after having tried Blitz and Torque and several others. I am enjoying it much, Gamestudio is by far the best engine I found.

You can develop games two ways, either in a C++ like programming language they call lite-C, or without programming by putting the parts of the game together from predefined templates. Gamestudio then automatically creates the lite-C program from the parts. They also have a Source development kit but as I'm no real programmer I have not used it.

The lite-C language is very easy to use and became my preferred way to create games. This is the easiest and fastest approach to game programming I found.

Gamestudio has editors for levels, models and terrain. A car demo on a huge terrain and a shader demo is included. You cal also download about 500 Meg artwork from their website.

The community is huge and the 200 bucks for the product is a bargain. There is also a cheaper version and a free version but they don't support shaders and networking, so I went for the $200 version.

The level editor is very good. The model editor is not en par with MAX or MAYA, but it's very handy for creating simple models. It also supports bones and atlas mapping. Models and levels can be imported in the FBX, X, and halflife MAP format.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful

Gamestudio/A6

  by 25ffbd822b8e9e98365742a262350084 MrCode Jul 05, 2007 at 09:03

Conitec's 3D Gamestudio is basically how I discovered 3D game developement. It has three easy-to-use editors: WED, MED, and SED. WED being the level editor, which is easy to use, in my opinion. The only thing that I can criticize about it is that since the engine uses a BSP scene manager, large levels take forever to compile. However, with the new A7 coming out soon, there will be a new ABT (Adaptive Binary Tree) scene manager that is supposedly much faster to compile (if there is any compilation required).

After reading some of these reviews, I can see that MED is regarded as a very poor model editor. Granted, it does lack in some of the tools which would make things easier, but if you want to create something that is simple to build (I've found that machines and vehicles are easy), MED should suffice.

Gamestudio's scripting languages, C-Script and the more recent Lite-C (more C-like in structure) are great for beginning programmers. The syntax of both are easy to learn (C-Script is nearly compatible with Lite-C), and are pretty flexible in terms of features.

As for the price -- well, I will admit that the Pro edition is too expensive, but I am currently using the Commercial edition, only $199, and it's been quite useful.

The engine itself is pretty good. The rendering speed mostly depends on the layout and organization of the level(s). If it's sloppy, unorganized, and undeveloped, then of COURSE you're going to get bad results. But if you keep things neat, you'll get some pretty awesome stuff!

Support is the best; the user forums are almost always active, and most users are glad to help out (given proper manners, of course, ;).

Overall, I think that for people who are being introduced to game developement, this is a good buy. It might not be top-of-the-line stuff, but it's definitely solid enough that almost anyone can use it.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

Suggest Edits

Last edited Dec 28, 2011 at 13:11

Are your the owner of this engine? Let us know to be able to update it, and reply to reviews, and other benefits.